Stuck in 1024x768 [Nouveau] [Maxwell Nvidia 950]

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Stuck in 1024x768 [Nouveau] [Maxwell Nvidia 950]

Postby jonnyc55 » 2017-12-12 23:18

Hello.

I have no option for 1920x1080. I get these errors with the command
Code: Select all
journalctl -a | grep nouveau
:

Code: Select all
Dec 12 22:45:20 jnew kernel: nouveau 0000:01:00.0: NVIDIA GM206 (126020a1)
Dec 12 22:45:20 jnew kernel: nouveau 0000:01:00.0: bios: version 84.06.3d.00.87
Dec 12 22:45:20 jnew kernel: nouveau 0000:01:00.0: disp: dcb 15 type 8 unknown
Dec 12 22:45:20 jnew kernel: nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: failed to load nvidia/gm206/gr/sw_nonctx.bin (-2)
Dec 12 22:45:20 jnew kernel: nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Direct firmware load for nvidia/gm206/gr/sw_nonctx.bin failed with error -2
Dec 12 22:45:20 jnew kernel: nouveau 0000:01:00.0: gr: failed to load gr/sw_nonctx
Dec 12 22:45:20 jnew kernel: nouveau 0000:01:00.0: gr ctor failed, -2
Dec 12 22:45:20 jnew kernel: nouveau: probe of 0000:01:00.0 failed with error -2


I see this bug mentioned in places like here:

https://lists.debian.org/debian-kernel/ ... 00285.html

However a non-free solution like the one mentioned above in the link, to install : https://packages.debian.org/stretch-bac ... sc-nonfree - is not an option for me for two reasons, one:

We, the undersigned Linux kernel developers, consider any closed-source Linux kernel module or driver to be harmful and undesirable. We have repeatedly found them to be detrimental to Linux users, businesses, and the greater Linux ecosystem. Such modules negate the openness, stability, flexibility, and maintainability of the Linux development model

source: https://wiki.linuxfoundation.org/tab/ke ... -statement

and then the Nvidia drivers or non-free packages may have privacy issues. I know Nvidia drivers have telemetry tracking that is hard to disable with Windows. However closed source may have new privacy threats and this defeats the purpose of why I use Linux.

So my question is, what is the free way to fix my resolution problem?

Thank you!
jonnyc55
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-12-08 19:45

Re: Stuck in 1024x768 [Nouveau] [Maxwell Nvidia 950]

Postby Segfault » 2017-12-13 01:42

https://nouveau.freedesktop.org/wiki/FeatureMatrix/

Yours is NV110. Make sure you put the firmware into /lib/firmware/nvidia/gm206/gr/ as you can see in the syslog. Then have a look at your Xorg log, if anything goes wrong it will be seen there. Older nVidia cards did work without firmware, too. Just no 3D. Not sure about yours, so better give it what it is asking for.
Segfault
 
Posts: 805
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:24

Re: Stuck in 1024x768 [Nouveau] [Maxwell Nvidia 950]

Postby dilberts_left_nut » 2017-12-13 04:43

jonnyc55 wrote:So my question is, what is the free way to fix my resolution problem?


The answer to this is to use hardware that doesn't require non-free blobs.
AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...
User avatar
dilberts_left_nut
 
Posts: 4911
Joined: 2009-10-05 07:54
Location: enzed

Re: Stuck in 1024x768 [Nouveau] [Maxwell Nvidia 950]

Postby jonnyc55 » 2017-12-13 09:42

dilberts_left_nut wrote:
jonnyc55 wrote:So my question is, what is the free way to fix my resolution problem?


The answer to this is to use hardware that doesn't require non-free blobs.


Yeah I really wish I had a ATI card or even a GTX TITAN which has more support :O.

Though i bought the 950 GTX because i never thought i would be using Linux.
jonnyc55
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-12-08 19:45

Re: Stuck in 1024x768 [Nouveau] [Maxwell Nvidia 950]

Postby jonnyc55 » 2017-12-13 09:43

Segfault wrote:https://nouveau.freedesktop.org/wiki/FeatureMatrix/

Yours is NV110. Make sure you put the firmware into /lib/firmware/nvidia/gm206/gr/ as you can see in the syslog. Then have a look at your Xorg log, if anything goes wrong it will be seen there. Older nVidia cards did work without firmware, too. Just no 3D. Not sure about yours, so better give it what it is asking for.


I am not sure what you mean by putting firmware into /lib/firmware/NVidia/gm206/gr/? And also how would I do this?

I recall that the bug fix in the backport for my issue in particular was more about folder locations being wrong, so this may be the fix.

Thanks. :)
jonnyc55
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-12-08 19:45

Re: Stuck in 1024x768 [Nouveau] [Maxwell Nvidia 950]

Postby Segfault » 2017-12-13 12:41

Code: Select all
Dec 12 22:45:20 jnew kernel: nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: failed to load nvidia/gm206/gr/sw_nonctx.bin (-2)
Dec 12 22:45:20 jnew kernel: nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Direct firmware load for nvidia/gm206/gr/sw_nonctx.bin failed with error -2

FYI, error -2 means the firmware is not found. This also means you have to obtain it and copy it to the location shown, the driver is looking for it in this specific location. There may be a deb package which can do it for you. Or you can go and find firmware download from the internet.

Edit: Here it is https://packages.debian.org/sid/firmware-misc-nonfree
Segfault
 
Posts: 805
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:24

Re: Stuck in 1024x768 [Nouveau] [Maxwell Nvidia 950]

Postby jonnyc55 » 2017-12-13 14:54

Segfault wrote:
Code: Select all
Dec 12 22:45:20 jnew kernel: nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: failed to load nvidia/gm206/gr/sw_nonctx.bin (-2)
Dec 12 22:45:20 jnew kernel: nouveau 0000:01:00.0: Direct firmware load for nvidia/gm206/gr/sw_nonctx.bin failed with error -2

FYI, error -2 means the firmware is not found. This also means you have to obtain it and copy it to the location shown, the driver is looking for it in this specific location. There may be a deb package which can do it for you. Or you can go and find firmware download from the internet.

Edit: Here it is https://packages.debian.org/sid/firmware-misc-nonfree


Interesting that - about the -2. I will remember for the future. Thanks.

Ah, well it looks like i am going to have download a non-free package :(. Thanks though mate for your time and effort much appreciated!
jonnyc55
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-12-08 19:45

Re: Stuck in 1024x768 [Nouveau] [Maxwell Nvidia 950]

Postby bw123 » 2017-12-13 15:24

jonnyc55 wrote:...and then the Nvidia drivers or non-free packages may have privacy issues. I know Nvidia drivers have telemetry tracking that is hard to disable with Windows. However closed source may have new privacy threats and this defeats the purpose of why I use Linux.

So my question is, what is the free way to fix my resolution problem?

Thank you!


Wow, I had not heard about telemetry in the 'video driver' that does what? Sends packets out on the internet?

I don't really understand why 1024x768 seems to be the highest common mode without firmware either. I can remember when 1024x768 was what we all were looking for, 640x480 was just awful. Then 1280x1024 became my resolution of choice for a long, long time. I think it is vesa standard, and I think there are also some higher modes that aren't 4:3 that are 'standard' modes. On my older ati cards they default and seem limited to max 1024x768 on linux without firmware, always have.
User avatar
bw123
 
Posts: 3572
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Location: TN_USA

Re: Stuck in 1024x768 [Nouveau] [Maxwell Nvidia 950]

Postby jonnyc55 » 2017-12-14 12:39

bw123 wrote:
jonnyc55 wrote:...and then the Nvidia drivers or non-free packages may have privacy issues. I know Nvidia drivers have telemetry tracking that is hard to disable with Windows. However closed source may have new privacy threats and this defeats the purpose of why I use Linux.

So my question is, what is the free way to fix my resolution problem?

Thank you!


Wow, I had not heard about telemetry in the 'video driver' that does what? Sends packets out on the internet?

I don't really understand why 1024x768 seems to be the highest common mode without firmware either. I can remember when 1024x768 was what we all were looking for, 640x480 was just awful. Then 1280x1024 became my resolution of choice for a long, long time. I think it is vesa standard, and I think there are also some higher modes that aren't 4:3 that are 'standard' modes. On my older ati cards they default and seem limited to max 1024x768 on linux without firmware, always have.


Yeah, it talks to the Nvidia server etc. Sending hardware profiles or potentially other data to be sold on. I.E. making a buck out of your info. It has been spotted talking to the internet even when telemetry is disabled and removed, so the driver is suspect too.

Yeah It should be defaulted to 1920x1080 without any needed firmware IMO that would be nice. I suspect 1024x768 is default for compatibility reasons.

I was told not to worry because the Nvidia card already has non-firmware running even without the upgrade. Even the CPU!

I guess being on Linux, using Firefox with Ublock origin add-on is better than Windows 10 without tracker blocker add-ons anyway. Less information about me is a good thing since data analysts love building a bigger profile of people and the more data the more valuable you are. F*** them :P.

Windows 10 is one big giant privacy nightmare, it is essentially a telemetry service OS.

This is interesting: https://www.privacytools.io/
jonnyc55
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-12-08 19:45

Re: Stuck in 1024x768 [Nouveau] [Maxwell Nvidia 950]

Postby Segfault » 2017-12-14 14:24

Your X server my be falling back to standard VGA driver if your nouveau version is too old for your card. This is usually the reason of low resolution.
Segfault
 
Posts: 805
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:24


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

fashionable