Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Buster?

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby @ttila » 2019-08-30 19:10

It is a workaround: right click-->open with-->gdebi. Works for me :mrgreen:
User avatar
@ttila
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2017-12-13 16:57

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby NFT5 » 2019-08-31 02:11

Well, that's interesting. The exact opposite of what everybody else seems to have experienced.

Maybe you could share what you've done to make this work.
User avatar
NFT5
 
Posts: 338
Joined: 2014-10-10 11:38
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby stevepusser » 2019-08-31 17:09

NFT5 wrote:Well, that's interesting. The exact opposite of what everybody else seems to have experienced.

Maybe you could share what you've done to make this work.


Probably just run Stretch... :P
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Clipgrab 3.8.6, Hedgewars 1.0.0, PulseEffects 4.6.8, Telegram-desktop 1.8.15, Pale Moon 28.7.2, KeepassXC 2.5.1
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11313
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby zyga64 » 2019-09-10 07:54

This is what I did:

1. Created file 'gdebi-pkexec' in /usr/bin with following contents:
Code: Select all
pkexec gdebi-gtk $1

2. Modified /usr/share/applications/gdebi.desktop file (only line which starts with Exec=)
Code: Select all
Exec=gdebi-pkexec %f


Works fine :)
zyga64
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-09-10 07:49

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby @ttila » 2019-09-10 18:37

stevepusser wrote:
NFT5 wrote:Well, that's interesting. The exact opposite of what everybody else seems to have experienced.

Maybe you could share what you've done to make this work.


Probably just run Stretch... :P


No, i've always used testing and i never edited anything to get gdebi working!! i use lxqt
User avatar
@ttila
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2017-12-13 16:57

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby JeSuisFlaneur » 2019-09-17 17:22

I had to enter the OS (not User) password. Then it installed.
JeSuisFlaneur
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2019-08-28 16:00

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby pcdoctor01 » 2019-09-20 10:08

NFT5 wrote:I have two Buster installations.

On XFCE gdebi works fine if you start it from the menu, but crashes if started by right clicking on a .deb file.

On KDE it won't start at all.


Interesting.
Didn't know it would work if you run gdebi from the start menu.
I've been installing debs from the command line but I prefer right clicking the deb file myself.
Thanks for the tip!
pcdoctor01
 
Posts: 65
Joined: 2014-07-27 10:26

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby ticojohn » 2019-11-06 20:06

NFT5 wrote:I have two Buster installations.

On XFCE gdebi works fine if you start it from the menu, but crashes if started by right clicking on a .deb file.

On KDE it won't start at all.


I was having problems with gdebi and read this post. Works on my XFCE installation as you have described. Thanks.
I'm not irrational, I'm just quantum probabilistic.
User avatar
ticojohn
 
Posts: 826
Joined: 2009-08-29 18:10
Location: Costa Rica

Previous

Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests

fashionable