Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

[Solved]problem with install ia32-libs on debian testing

If none of the specific sub-forums seem right for your thread, ask here.
Post Reply
Message
Author
alirezaimi
Posts: 144
Joined: 2011-01-12 16:25

[Solved]problem with install ia32-libs on debian testing

#1 Post by alirezaimi »

I want to install ia32 libs for running a game with wine on debian testing, but this error happend :
I have this problem with my game :

Code: Select all

err:wgl:has_opengl Failed to load libGL: libGL.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
err:wgl:has_opengl OpenGL support is disabled.
err:d3d_caps:WineD3D_CreateFakeGLContext Can't find a suitable iPixelFormat.
err:d3d:InitAdapters Failed to get a gl context for default adapter
Direct3D9 is not available without OpenGL.
and this solution(http://j.mp/12Gqp3m) that i found suggest this way :

Code: Select all

64-bit Debian or Ubuntu : apt-get install fglrx-glx-ia32 or ia32-libs or nvidia-glx-ia32 or nvidia-glx-legacy-96xx-ia32

Code: Select all

root@pc-debian:/home/ali# apt-get install  ia32-libs
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 ia32-libs : Depends: ia32-libs-i386
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.
root@pc-debian:/home/ali# apt-get install  ia32-libs-i386
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 ia32-libs-i386:i386 : Depends: libjack-jackd2-0:i386 (>= 1.9.5~dfsg-14) but it is not going to be installed or
                                libjack0:i386 (>= 1:0.118+svn3796-7) but it is not going to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

Code: Select all

root@pc-debian:/home/ali# apt-cache policy  ia32-libs
ia32-libs:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 1:0.4
  Version table:
     1:0.5 0
        500 http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ sid/main amd64 Packages
     1:0.4 0
        900 http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ testing/main amd64 Packages
root@pc-debian:/home/ali# apt-cache policy  ia32-libs-i386
ia32-libs-i386:i386:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 1:0.4
  Version table:
     1:0.5 0
        500 http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ sid/main i386 Packages
     1:0.4 0
        900 http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ testing/main i386 Packages
Any ideas ?
Thanks.
Last edited by alirezaimi on 2013-07-04 05:48, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
verahill
Posts: 332
Joined: 2012-05-29 07:03
Location: Australia

Re: problem with install ia32-libs on debian testing

#2 Post by verahill »

Have you enabled i386 multiarch?

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg --add-architecture i386
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install ia32-libs
( http://verahill.blogspot.com.au/2013/06 ... -libs.html )
--------------------------------------------------
http://verahill.blogspot.com
OPs: don't forget to mark your (first) post as solved when the issue has been resolved.

alirezaimi
Posts: 144
Joined: 2011-01-12 16:25

Re: problem with install ia32-libs on debian testing

#3 Post by alirezaimi »

verahill wrote:Have you enabled i386 multiarch?

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg --add-architecture i386
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install ia32-libs
( http://verahill.blogspot.com.au/2013/06 ... -libs.html )
I enabled i386 long time ago , but i add it again and problem still unresolved .

Code: Select all

root@pc-debian:/home/ali# dpkg --add-architecture i386
root@pc-debian:/home/ali#  apt-get update
...                                                                                  
Fetched 909 kB in 1min 7s (13.5 kB/s)                                                                                                               
Reading package lists... Done
root@pc-debian:/home/ali#apt-get install ia32-libs
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 ia32-libs : Depends: ia32-libs-i386
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

User avatar
verahill
Posts: 332
Joined: 2012-05-29 07:03
Location: Australia

Re: problem with install ia32-libs on debian testing

#4 Post by verahill »

It might be because you're mixing testing with unstable.

What are the policies for libjack-jackd2-0:i386 and libjack0:i386?

To me it looks like jessie and sid have the same versions: http://packages.debian.org/jessie/libjack-jackd2-0 and http://packages.debian.org/jessie/libjack0
So there may be an issue further down the dependency chain.
--------------------------------------------------
http://verahill.blogspot.com
OPs: don't forget to mark your (first) post as solved when the issue has been resolved.

alirezaimi
Posts: 144
Joined: 2011-01-12 16:25

Re: problem with install ia32-libs on debian testing

#5 Post by alirezaimi »

verahill wrote:It might be because you're mixing testing with unstable.

What are the policies for libjack-jackd2-0:i386 and libjack0:i386?

To me it looks like jessie and sid have the same versions: http://packages.debian.org/jessie/libjack-jackd2-0 and http://packages.debian.org/jessie/libjack0
So there may be an issue further down the dependency chain.
Yes! problem is mixing sid and testing,
I disabled sid and use only testing and package installed very well!
Thanks.

mutonic
Posts: 3
Joined: 2013-08-28 09:42

Re: [Solved]problem with install ia32-libs on debian testing

#6 Post by mutonic »

Hello,
I have exactly same problem here, cannot install ia32-libs on Testing Debian (Jessie), whereas it worked on Debian Wheezy.
As far as I know I am not mixing Testing sources with Sid ones, as the content of source.list is the following:

Code: Select all

deb http://ftp.fr.debian.org/debian/ testing main contrib non-free
deb-src http://ftp.fr.debian.org/debian/ testing main contrib non-free
and I correctly added i386 as additionnal architecture + update of sources

Do you have any idea what could cause this?

User avatar
yzT
Posts: 243
Joined: 2012-12-10 14:28

Re: [Solved]problem with install ia32-libs on debian testing

#7 Post by yzT »

you don't need ia32-libs

shadowman32
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-04-16 18:52

Re: [Solved]problem with install ia32-libs on debian testing

#8 Post by shadowman32 »

YES WE DO. Stop chastizing people who know what they need and start offering some support.(or get out of here)

I cant even see ia32 libs on debian Jessie. I installed from BDROM and have the following in my sources.list.

deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux testing _Jessie_ - Official Snapshot amd64 BD Binary-1 20150413-06:57]/ jessie main contrib

deb http://security.debian.org/ jessie/updates main contrib
deb-src http://security.debian.org/ jessie/updates main contrib

# jessie-updates, previously known as 'volatile'
# A network mirror was not selected during install. The following entries
# are provided as examples, but you should amend them as appropriate
# for your mirror of choice.

# deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ jessie-updates main contrib
# deb-src http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ jessie-updates contrib main

# jessie-backports, previously on backports.debian.org
# A network mirror was not selected during install. The following entries
# are provided as examples, but you should amend them as appropriate
# for your mirror of choice.

deb http://http.us.debian.org/debian/ jessie main non-free contrib

"apt-get update" fails with a BDROM cant be found warning when the disc is in the drive.

I need ia32 libs as I use 32bit libs and binaries on my amd64 system, the least of which is for wine and wine apps.

User avatar
aicardi
Posts: 388
Joined: 2009-11-18 01:30
Location: Chicago

Re: [Solved]problem with install ia32-libs on debian testing

#9 Post by aicardi »

I have one commercial application that insists on ia32-libs.
As mentioned above, this solved the problem for me on Jessie. multiarch-support installed.

Code: Select all

# dpkg --add-architecture i386
# apt-get update
# apt-get install ia32-libs
Jessie/Xfce

User avatar
fireExit
Posts: 559
Joined: 2014-11-20 11:22

Re: [Solved]problem with install ia32-libs on debian testing

#10 Post by fireExit »

aicardi wrote:I have one commercial application that insists on ia32-libs.
As mentioned above, this solved the problem for me on Jessie. multiarch-support installed.

Code: Select all

# dpkg --add-architecture i386
# apt-get update
# apt-get install ia32-libs
but... recently?
ia32-libs doesn't exist in jessie, not since 24.11.2013.

reinob
Posts: 1196
Joined: 2014-06-30 11:42
Has thanked: 99 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: [Solved]problem with install ia32-libs on debian testing

#11 Post by reinob »

shadowman32 wrote:YES WE DO. Stop chastizing people who know what they need and start offering some support.(or get out of here)
You don't need ia32-libs!
You need multiarch, and then you just install whatever "libs" you want in their 32-bit variant.

Or you stick to Wheezy. Or Ubuntu. Or whatever.

PeterB
Posts: 123
Joined: 2010-10-03 16:53
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: [Solved]problem with install ia32-libs on debian testing

#12 Post by PeterB »

fireExit wrote:ia32-libs doesn't exist in jessie
I was wondering about that too.
For

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install ia32-libs
I get

Code: Select all

Package ia32-libs is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source
However the following packages replace it:
  lib32z1 lib32ncurses5

E: Package 'ia32-libs' has no installation candidate
I agree with reinob. In jessie (64bit), the 32bit libraries need to be installed piecemeal, as required.

Regards,
PB

User avatar
aicardi
Posts: 388
Joined: 2009-11-18 01:30
Location: Chicago

Re: [Solved]problem with install ia32-libs on debian testing

#13 Post by aicardi »

fireExit wrote:
aicardi wrote:I have one commercial application that insists on ia32-libs.
As mentioned above, this solved the problem for me on Jessie. multiarch-support installed.

Code: Select all

# dpkg --add-architecture i386
# apt-get update
# apt-get install ia32-libs
but... recently?
ia32-libs doesn't exist in jessie, not since 24.11.2013.
Yes, recently.
I have had issues with this application for a long time regarding ia32-libs. The Application is Corel AfterShot Pro.
For what it's worth, you're right, ia32-libs is not in the repos. However, running those commands satisfied something.
I also read that yo can extract the .deb and edit out the ia32-lib dependency and repack it.

So I think that in reality, it doesn't need it. This is something Corel needs to address. There are a lot of post on this on the Corel
Knowledge base. That is where I read on the editing of the .deb.
Jessie/Xfce

PeterB
Posts: 123
Joined: 2010-10-03 16:53
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: [Solved]problem with install ia32-libs on debian testing

#14 Post by PeterB »

aicardi wrote: For what it's worth, you're right, ia32-libs is not in the repos. However, running those commands satisfied something.
Please post the output of

Code: Select all

apt-cache policy ia32-libs
Regards,
PB

User avatar
aicardi
Posts: 388
Joined: 2009-11-18 01:30
Location: Chicago

Re: [Solved]problem with install ia32-libs on debian testing

#15 Post by aicardi »

Code: Select all

ia32-libs
Installed: (none)
Candidate: (none)
Version Table:
This is what's so puzzling.
Running:

Code: Select all

# dpkg --add-architecture i386
# apt-get update
# apt-get install ia32-libs
produced no errors yet I was able to install the application. Prior to that it would stop with dependency ia32-libs not met.

I don't think this has anything at all to do with Debian, but rather Corel.


Again, there are lots of issues with this on the Corel forum.
Jessie/Xfce

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12930
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: [Solved]problem with install ia32-libs on debian testing

#16 Post by stevepusser »

The other method was just to create a dummy ia32-libs package that would satisfy that dependency. The i386 packages would still need to be installed.

I have one somewhere online that I created with the packaging tools; it's buried somewhere in a thread on this forum, maybe searching for "ia32-libs dummy" will find it. Or you could try using equivs to make your own dummy: http://shallowsky.com/blog/linux/instal ... ncies.html
MX Linux packager and developer

shadowman32
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-04-16 18:52

Re: [Solved]problem with install ia32-libs on debian testing

#17 Post by shadowman32 »

I dont get it. Multiarch Support IS installed.

And the instructions just dont work.
E: Package 'ia32-libs' has no installation candidate

sudo dpkg --add-architecture i386
seems to do nothing.

This may have solved a Corel problem but it doesnt solve a ia32-libs is missing problem.

shadowman32
Posts: 8
Joined: 2015-04-16 18:52

Re: [Solved]problem with install ia32-libs on debian testing

#18 Post by shadowman32 »

SOLVED:

Apparently Jessie doesnt like having a CDROM (DVD,etc) in the sources.list file for multiarch for some reason.
Changing the following allowed wine32 to be installed pulling in i386 libs.Hope this helps as the installer wont give you a repo by default when using a BDROM.
(This also needs to be FIXed. I never saw the repo selection menu during install.)

I use a BDROM so I dont need the repos by default but this wont work apparently when you need another arch.

This seems to fix the problem.

sources.list:

#deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux testing _Jessie_ - Official Snapshot amd64 BD Binary-1 20150413-06:57]/ jessie main contrib

deb http://security.debian.org/ jessie/updates main contrib non-free
deb-src http://security.debian.org/ jessie/updates main contrib non-free

# jessie-updates, previously known as 'volatile'

deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ jessie-updates main contrib non-free
deb-src http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ jessie-updates contrib main non-free

# jessie-backports, previously on backports.debian.org

deb http://http.us.debian.org/debian/ jessie main non-free contrib

Post Reply