Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

[SOLVED] /etc/default/grub and update-grub does not work

If none of the specific sub-forums seem right for your thread, ask here.
Post Reply
Message
Author
arincon16
Posts: 17
Joined: 2016-12-29 22:49

[SOLVED] /etc/default/grub and update-grub does not work

#1 Post by arincon16 »

i edit /etc/default/grub and select a default entry in there and modified the quantity of seconds in timeout variable afeter that i allways run update-grub but it does not works, this procedure does not modifies nor timeout nor default entry

Code: Select all

root@sinamaica:~# cat /etc/default/grub                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     
# If you change this file, run 'update-grub' afterwards to update                                                                                                                                                                                                           
# /boot/grub/grub.cfg.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      
# For full documentation of the options in this file, see:                                                                                                                                                                                                                  
#   info -f grub -n 'Simple configuration'                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            
GRUB_DEFAULT=6                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              
GRUB_TIMEOUT=100                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            
GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR=`lsb_release -i -s 2> /dev/null || echo Debian`                                                                                                                                                                                                            
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet"                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            
# Uncomment to enable BadRAM filtering, modify to suit your needs
# This works with Linux (no patch required) and with any kernel that obtains
# the memory map information from GRUB (GNU Mach, kernel of FreeBSD ...)
#GRUB_BADRAM="0x01234567,0xfefefefe,0x89abcdef,0xefefefef"

# Uncomment to disable graphical terminal (grub-pc only)
#GRUB_TERMINAL=console

# The resolution used on graphical terminal
# note that you can use only modes which your graphic card supports via VBE
# you can see them in real GRUB with the command `vbeinfo'
#GRUB_GFXMODE=640x480

# Uncomment if you don't want GRUB to pass "root=UUID=xxx" parameter to Linux
#GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_UUID=true

# Uncomment to disable generation of recovery mode menu entries
GRUB_DISABLE_RECOVERY="true"

# Uncomment to get a beep at grub start
GRUB_INIT_TUNE="480 440 1"
root@sinamaica:~# 




root@sinamaica:~# update-grub
Searching for GRUB installation directory ... found: /boot/grub
Searching for default file ... found: /boot/grub/default
Testing for an existing GRUB menu.lst file ... found: /boot/grub/menu.lst
Searching for splash image ... none found, skipping ...
Found kernel: /boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-4-amd64
Found kernel: /boot/memtest86+.bin
Updating /boot/grub/menu.lst ... done

root@sinamaica:~#
Last edited by arincon16 on 2017-01-12 21:32, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: editing /etc/default/grub and update-grub does not works

#2 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Which version of Debian are you using?

What is the full content of /boot/grub/grub.cfg?
deadbang

User avatar
GarryRicketson
Posts: 5644
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: editing /etc/default/grub and update-grub does not works

#3 Post by GarryRicketson »

What is the full content of /boot/grub/grub.cfg?
And please use "code boxes",...thank you

arincon16
Posts: 17
Joined: 2016-12-29 22:49

Re: editing /etc/default/grub and update-grub does not works

#4 Post by arincon16 »

Code: Select all

wayuu@sinamaica:~$ cat /etc/issue                   
Debian GNU/Linux 8 \n \l

wayuu@sinamaica:~$ cat /etc/debian_version
8.6
wayuu@sinamaica:~$

wayuu@sinamaica:~$ cat /boot/grub/grub.cfg          
#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  set have_grubenv=true
  load_env
fi
if [ "${next_entry}" ] ; then
   set default="${next_entry}"
   set next_entry=
   save_env next_entry
   set boot_once=true
else
   set default="0"
fi

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}
function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
   font=unicode
else
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos5'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9
fi
    font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
fi

if loadfont $font ; then
  set gfxmode=auto
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
  set lang=es_ES
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_output gfxterm
if [ "${recordfail}" = 1 ] ; then
  set timeout=-1
else
  if [ x$feature_timeout_style = xy ] ; then
    set timeout_style=menu
    set timeout=5
  # Fallback normal timeout code in case the timeout_style feature is
  # unavailable.
  else
    set timeout=5
  fi
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos5'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9
fi
insmod png
if background_image /usr/share/pixmaps/splash/debian-edu-lines-splash-grub.png; then
  set color_normal=white/black
  set color_highlight=black/white
else
  set menu_color_normal=cyan/blue
  set menu_color_highlight=white/blue
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
function gfxmode {
        set gfxpayload="${1}"
}
set linux_gfx_mode=
export linux_gfx_mode
menuentry 'Debian GNU/Linux' --class debian --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9' {
        load_video
        insmod gzio
        if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ext2
        set root='hd0,msdos5'
        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9
        fi
        echo    'Cargando Linux 3.16.0-4-amd64...'
        linux   /boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-4-amd64 root=UUID=64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9 ro  quiet
        echo    'Cargando imagen de memoria inicial...'
        initrd  /boot/initrd.img-3.16.0-4-amd64
}
submenu 'Opciones avanzadas para Debian GNU/Linux' $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-advanced-64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9' {
        menuentry 'Debian GNU/Linux, con Linux 3.16.0-4-amd64' --class debian --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-3.16.0-4-amd64-advanced-64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9' {
                load_video
                insmod gzio
                if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
                insmod part_msdos
                insmod ext2
                set root='hd0,msdos5'
                if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
                  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9
                else
                  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9
                fi
                echo    'Cargando Linux 3.16.0-4-amd64...'
                linux   /boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-4-amd64 root=UUID=64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9 ro  quiet
                echo    'Cargando imagen de memoria inicial...'
                initrd  /boot/initrd.img-3.16.0-4-amd64
        }
        menuentry 'Debian GNU/Linux, with Linux 3.16.0-4-amd64 (recovery mode)' --class debian --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-3.16.0-4-amd64-recovery-64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9' {
                load_video
                insmod gzio
                if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
                insmod part_msdos
                insmod ext2
                set root='hd0,msdos5'
                if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
                  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9
                else
                  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9
                fi
                echo    'Cargando Linux 3.16.0-4-amd64...'
                linux   /boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-4-amd64 root=UUID=64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9 ro single 
                echo    'Cargando imagen de memoria inicial...'
                initrd  /boot/initrd.img-3.16.0-4-amd64
        }
}

### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+)" {
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ext2
        set root='hd0,msdos5'
        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9
        fi
        linux16 /boot/memtest86+.bin
}
menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200)" {
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ext2
        set root='hd0,msdos5'
        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9
        fi
        linux16 /boot/memtest86+.bin console=ttyS0,115200n8
}
menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+, experimental multiboot)" {
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ext2
        set root='hd0,msdos5'
        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9
        fi
        multiboot       /boot/memtest86+_multiboot.bin
}
menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200, experimental multiboot)" {
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ext2
        set root='hd0,msdos5'
        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 64cdedcd-346b-4667-b50f-9767daaf6ae9
        fi
        multiboot       /boot/memtest86+_multiboot.bin console=ttyS0,115200n8
}
### END /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
menuentry 'Windows 7 (loader) (en /dev/sda1)' --class windows --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-chain-78CCA9E3CCA99C3E' {
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ntfs
        set root='hd0,msdos1'
        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  78CCA9E3CCA99C3E
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 78CCA9E3CCA99C3E
        fi
        parttool ${root} hidden-
        chainloader +1
}
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_uefi-firmware ###
### END /etc/grub.d/30_uefi-firmware ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
  source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
wayuu@sinamaica:~$
Last edited by arincon16 on 2017-01-11 00:14, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
GarryRicketson
Posts: 5644
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: editing /etc/default/grub and update-grub does not works

#5 Post by GarryRicketson »

And please use "code boxes",...thank you
If you don't know how :


Attachments, How to post a screen shot and use code boxes
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Image

Code: Select all

 [code]Place code and scripts in the code boxes.
PLEASE ,thank you. It is much easier for others to read
the code posted when you do this. And increases the 
chance that more people will take the time to read the
output and code posted.  
[/code]

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: editing /etc/default/grub and update-grub does not works

#6 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Thank you Garry, and thank you to the OP for adding the code tags :)

@OP: try:

Code: Select all

# grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
deadbang

arincon16
Posts: 17
Joined: 2016-12-29 22:49

Re: editing /etc/default/grub and update-grub does not works

#7 Post by arincon16 »

Code: Select all

root@sinamaica:~# grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
Generating grub configuration file ...
Found background image: /usr/share/images/desktop-base/desktop-grub.png
Encontrada imagen de linux: /boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-4-amd64
Encontrada imagen de memoria inicial: /boot/initrd.img-3.16.0-4-amd64
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
Found memtest86+ multiboot image: /boot/memtest86+_multiboot.bin
  No volume groups found
Encontrado Windows 7 (loader) en /dev/sda1
hecho
root@sinamaica:~# export LANG=C
root@sinamaica:~# grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
Generating grub configuration file ...
Found background image: /usr/share/images/desktop-base/desktop-grub.png
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-4-amd64
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.16.0-4-amd64
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
Found memtest86+ multiboot image: /boot/memtest86+_multiboot.bin
  No volume groups found
Found Windows 7 (loader) on /dev/sda1
done
root@sinamaica:~# 

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: [SOLVED] /etc/default/grub and update-grub does not work

#8 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

So I presume that my command fixed things then?

If that is the case then I think that your `update-grub` command was not right.

Can we please see the output of:

Code: Select all

cat /usr/sbin/update-grub $(which update-grub)
deadbang

Post Reply