iwlist not showing networks

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

iwlist not showing networks

Postby Bitmeister » 2017-02-19 15:27

Hello,

Just installed Debian Jessie on my new Asus vivobook A55QG

Everything went fine and after installing the firmware-realtek_0.43_all.deb the networkmanager in KDE showed all the available networks.

After a while the same day though it disconnected me from the wifi and stopped showing networks.
So i went to the terminal an did
Code: Select all
root@laptop:/home/jan# iwlist wlan0 scan
wlan0     No scan results


Sometimes after a reboot the command and networkmanager shoing networks but after a minute or two no networks are showing up anymore.
Even after
Code: Select all
root@laptop:/home/jan# ifconfig wlan0 down
and
root@laptop:/home/jan# ifconfig wlan0 up

It doesn't come back to life

Code: Select all
root@laptop:/home/jan# lspci -nn | grep Network
01:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8821AE 802.11ac PCIe Wireless Network Adapter [10ec:8821]


Code: Select all
root@laptop:/home/jan# lsmod | grep rtl8821ae
rtl8821ae             523031  0
mac80211              482315  1 rtl8821ae
cfg80211              413730  2 mac80211,rtl8821ae


Code: Select all
root@laptop:/home/jan# uname -r
3.16.0-4-amd64
Code: Select all
root@laptop:/home/jan# ip link
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00                                                                                                           
2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000                                                   
    link/ether 2c:4d:54:35:fd:61 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff                                                                                                               
3: wlan0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state DOWN mode DORMANT group default qlen 1000                                                     
    link/ether f0:03:8c:34:e5:71 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff     


Code: Select all
root@laptop:/home/jan# iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11abgn  ESSID:off/any 
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry short limit:7   RTS thr=2347 B   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
         
eth0      no wireless extensions.

lspci -k
[snip]
Code: Select all
01:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8821AE 802.11ac PCIe Wireless Network Adapter
        Subsystem: AzureWave Device 2161
        Kernel driver in use: rtl8821ae
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 10)
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 200f
        Kernel driver in use: r8169
[snip]


Code: Select all
root@laptop:/home/jan# rfkill list
0: phy0: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: no
1: asus-wlan: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: no
root@laptop:/home/jan#
Bitmeister
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2016-07-19 13:39

Re: iwlist not showing networks

Postby mystified » 2017-02-20 10:17

Not much help but I went through the same thing. The only thing that worked was installing the non-free version of debian jessie. I don't know why because when I first installed all II did was install firmware-realtek. but after jumping through hoops I just gave up.
User avatar
mystified
 
Posts: 179
Joined: 2007-04-05 14:11

Re: iwlist not showing networks

Postby Bitmeister » 2017-02-20 10:43

mystified wrote:Not much help but I went through the same thing. The only thing that worked was installing the non-free version of debian jessie. I don't know why because when I first installed all II did was install firmware-realtek. but after jumping through hoops I just gave up.

Wouldn't it be enough to edit the sourceslist and add the contrib non-free repository’s?

Also when i shut-down and lock the wifi in the bios and reboot and again change the wifi in the bios to unlock the networks are visible again.
But just for a 10 minutes or so :(
Bitmeister
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2016-07-19 13:39

Re: iwlist not showing networks

Postby mystified » 2017-02-20 14:32

I did have them in sources.list That's how I installed firmware realtek. The thing that is particularly annoying to me is this computer was designed for linux. I realize that debian does not support non free and it has to be added but I have had more problems with realtek and from the number of posts I read it's a common problem. As someone pointed out to me if you search this forum there are a ton of posts on realtek. Maybe you can find an answer. good luck
User avatar
mystified
 
Posts: 179
Joined: 2007-04-05 14:11

Re: iwlist not showing networks

Postby Bitmeister » 2017-02-20 18:19

Well, i did a new install this time trough the firmware-8.7.1-amd64-netinst.iso.

Sadly the same result :( No wifi on my laptop if i want to use Debian.
Bitmeister
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2016-07-19 13:39

Re: iwlist not showing networks

Postby stevepusser » 2017-02-20 20:21

Lots of complaints about this device dropping connections on various Linux forums, not much joy. You can try updating the driver from a modified github source, or backporting the 4.2 kernel drivers for the 3.16 version, or adjusting the power settings as in the Arch wiki:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Asus_TX201LA#WiFi

run as sysadmin
Code: Select all
modinfo rtl 8821ae


first to check the "parms", as mine has 1 and 0 instead of Y and N for the 4.9 kernel.

Maybe using the Windows driver in ndiswrapper would be worth a shot.

If all else fails, it could be possible to swap out the wifi card on your laptop for an Intel one. Some machine have a convenient panel that makes the swap easy, and some make it difficult.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: AzPainter 2.0.6, Pale Moon 27.4.0, Liquorix kernel 4.11-9, mpv 0.25.0, Kodi 17.3, Ksnip 1.3.1, Mesa 13.0.6
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 8414
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: iwlist not showing networks

Postby Bitmeister » 2017-02-21 07:43

Tried this one
https://blogs.fsfe.org/stefan.a/2011/06 ... atty_1104/

but no luck either

Since it's a new laptop I'm all ready thinking of returning it to the store and maybe exchange it for another with a different chipset or simply live without a laptop.

It's been a week and i tried all kind of distro's but every single one has problems from installing it to wifi, especially with the wifi. And hey it's a laptop.

Installing windows it's no option since i don't know how to use it :( I was a happy Linux user for 17 years but never experienced this and have to say I'm pretty disappointed that after years of experience and promoting Linux as a established OS also outside the server-world i can't get it to run on a laptop and to connect to wifi. At least not without a lot of hassle.

I'll stick to it on my desktop (Mint since OpenSuse is starting to get worse also) but have to say this really made me real sad.
Bitmeister
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2016-07-19 13:39

Re: iwlist not showing networks

Postby Bitmeister » 2017-02-21 09:40

Got it working with a SITECOM WL-168 Wireless Network USB Adapter now. Surprised because it also has a realtek chipset. And this time it worked almost plug and play.
Since it's very slow and big i will look for another smaller faster wifi adapter.
Bitmeister
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2016-07-19 13:39


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

fashionable