'tiptop' requires root to run

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

'tiptop' requires root to run

Postby bariumbitmap » 2017-05-09 20:52

When I run "tiptop", I get this error:

Code: Select all
syscall: Operation not permitted
Could not perform syscall.
Don't know why...


Works fine when run as root. I'm running Jessie on a 64-bit laptop.

Code: Select all
$ uname -a
Linux thinkpad 4.8.0-0.bpo.2-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.8.15-2~bpo8+2 (2017-01-17) x86_64 GNU/Linux


I can't reproduce on a 32-bit box, but I can in a 64-bit virtual machine. Should I report a bug?

Code: Select all
tiptop:
  Installed: 2.2-2
  Candidate: 2.2-2
  Version table:
 *** 2.2-2 0
        500 http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ jessie/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
bariumbitmap
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2014-03-17 21:59

Re: 'tiptop' requires root to run

Postby bigrigdriver » 2017-05-11 13:59

There is no bug. Looking at the package details (https://packages.debian.org/jessie/utils/tiptop), there are 32bit and 64bit versions of tiptop.
Registered GNU/Linux user #170078

Go as google before you ask on these boards.

It it isn't broken, Tweak It !!!
bigrigdriver
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 2014-09-01 17:04
Location: East Central Illinois, USA

Re: 'tiptop' requires root to run

Postby bariumbitmap » 2017-05-12 18:49

I just checked in a 32-bit virtual machine and got the same thing.

I do not get the error when running as root, but the homepage for tiptop lists "No root privilege needed" as one of the features.

http://tiptop.gforge.inria.fr/
bariumbitmap
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2014-03-17 21:59

Re: 'tiptop' requires root to run

Postby debiman » 2017-05-13 10:33

i tried it yesterday, it did not require root privileges (albeit on archlinux, not debian).
but i must say this: i didn't see anything that the normal 'top' utility (or maybe even 'htop') couldn't offer.
or maybe a cli conky.
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 1017
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: 'tiptop' requires root to run

Postby bariumbitmap » 2017-05-15 15:12

Problem solved. Workaround for posterity:

Code: Select all
echo 2 | sudo tee /proc/sys/kernel/perf_event_paranoid


Full explanation here:

https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=862461

https://lkml.org/lkml/2016/1/11/587
bariumbitmap
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2014-03-17 21:59


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

fashionable