Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

feh, dialog box

If none of the specific sub-forums seem right for your thread, ask here.
Message
Author
tomair
Posts: 30
Joined: 2014-01-30 15:25

feh, dialog box

#1 Post by tomair »

how can i get feh to open a dialog box when i open it from open box menu ?
Last edited by tomair on 2017-05-28 10:13, edited 1 time in total.
on air with my debian

User avatar
phenest
Posts: 1702
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: feh

#2 Post by phenest »

What do you mean by a dialog box? Do you mean you want it to open the pictures folder, for example?
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D

tomair
Posts: 30
Joined: 2014-01-30 15:25

Re: feh

#3 Post by tomair »

from the menu, exactly
on air with my debian

Bulkley
Posts: 6383
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: feh

#4 Post by Bulkley »

Isn't feh a command line tool?

User avatar
dilberts_left_nut
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5346
Joined: 2009-10-05 07:54
Location: enzed
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: feh

#5 Post by dilberts_left_nut »

'man feh' tells all.
AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...

Bulkley
Posts: 6383
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: feh

#6 Post by Bulkley »

dilberts_left_nut wrote:'man feh' tells all.
Not for me. I don't have feh. However, the OP could do as you suggest.

tomair
Posts: 30
Joined: 2014-01-30 15:25

Re: feh

#7 Post by tomair »

dilberts_left_nut wrote:'man feh' tells all.
what i scratch from there is

Code: Select all

feh -rt Pictures/
on air with my debian

User avatar
dilberts_left_nut
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5346
Joined: 2009-10-05 07:54
Location: enzed
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: feh

#8 Post by dilberts_left_nut »

tomair wrote:what i scratch from there is

Code: Select all

feh -rt Pictures/
If you want to recursively show thumbnails of your Pictures directory, yes.
AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...

User avatar
dilberts_left_nut
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 5346
Joined: 2009-10-05 07:54
Location: enzed
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 66 times

Re: feh

#9 Post by dilberts_left_nut »

Bulkley wrote:Not for me. I don't have feh.
https://manpages.debian.org/
:)
AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...

User avatar
cpoakes
Posts: 99
Joined: 2015-03-29 04:54

Re: feh

#10 Post by cpoakes »

Since you ask about openbox, I assume you know how to configure commands in the openbox menu. Use the command:

Code: Select all

feh `zenity --file-selection`
This invokes zenity (package zenity must be installed) for a file selection dialog and supplies the selection to feh. You may want to set additional options for the dialog like --title, --width, --height.

If you are using stretch (or the MX or Bunsen jessie repositories), you can use yad in place of zenity with the command:

Code: Select all

feh `yad --file`

tomair
Posts: 30
Joined: 2014-01-30 15:25

Re: feh

#11 Post by tomair »

cpoakes wrote:Since you ask about openbox, I assume you know how to configure commands in the openbox menu. Use the command:

Code: Select all

feh `zenity --file-selection`
This invokes zenity (package zenity must be installed) for a file selection dialog and supplies the selection to feh. You may want to set additional options for the dialog like --title, --width, --height.
that it's graet
on air with my debian

tomair
Posts: 30
Joined: 2014-01-30 15:25

Re: feh, dialog box

#12 Post by tomair »

i try to put the command in the menu but it didn't work i also have an alias for feh geometry , in shell command it works, but in the menu it's just do nothing
on air with my debian

Dai_trying
Posts: 1100
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: feh, dialog box

#13 Post by Dai_trying »

You might have to escape the backticks in the command for it to work as expected, I tried it with an alias like this

Code: Select all

alias myfeh="feh \`zenity --file-selection\`"
and it worked correctly, and should work in an openbox command too.

tomair
Posts: 30
Joined: 2014-01-30 15:25

Re: feh, dialog box

#14 Post by tomair »

no do im trying
<execute>feh -g 1024x840 `zenity --file-selection`</execute>

and more
<execute>"feh -g 1024x840 `zenity --file-selection`"</execute>
and cant get nothing
on air with my debian

Dai_trying
Posts: 1100
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: feh, dialog box

#15 Post by Dai_trying »

<execute>feh -g 1024x768 \`zenity --file-selection\`</execute>
try that

tomair
Posts: 30
Joined: 2014-01-30 15:25

Re: feh, dialog box

#16 Post by tomair »

:roll: no nothing
on air with my debian

Dai_trying
Posts: 1100
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: feh, dialog box

#17 Post by Dai_trying »

I just tested on a openbox Vm and you're right it won't work. I made a very simple script named myfeh with the following as contents

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
feh -g 1024x840 $(zenity --file-selection)
and moved it to /usr/local/bin

Code: Select all

sudo mv myfeh /usr/local/bin/myfeh
and added this section to menu.xml

Code: Select all

<item label="myfeh">
    <action name="Execute">
        <command>
            myfeh
        </command>
    </action>
</item>
it definitely works this time :D
Obviously you can name it what you want I just used something memorable for testing.

tomair
Posts: 30
Joined: 2014-01-30 15:25

Re: feh, dialog box

#18 Post by tomair »

OK i added x's permissions and its working :D
on air with my debian

Dai_trying
Posts: 1100
Joined: 2016-01-07 12:25
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: feh, dialog box

#19 Post by Dai_trying »

tomair wrote:OK i added x's permissions and its working :D
Oops I forgot to mention that one :oops:

tomair
Posts: 30
Joined: 2014-01-30 15:25

Re: feh, dialog box

#20 Post by tomair »

one got to know this if he uses bash
on air with my debian

Post Reply