Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Will foreign packages break my system?

If none of the specific sub-forums seem right for your thread, ask here.
djevil

#1 Post by djevil »

Hello,
I'm new to Debian (I currently switched from Ubuntu to Debian Buster, cause it's rolling)
and now I have a lot of questions.

I'm missing some packages (e.g. qt5ct, lmms), so I want to know if it will break the system(some day)
if I use foreign packages or self compiled packages,
and is it possible/recommended to install Ubuntu packages/ppa on Buster?

Regards djevil

Thorny

Re: Will foreign packages break my system?

#2 Post by Thorny »

djevil wrote:Hello,
I'm new to Debian (I currently switched from Ubuntu to Debian Buster, cause it's rolling)
Debian Buster is not a "rolling" release. Actually it is not really a release at all, it is the testing version of what will become the next release. It is meant to be used and tested by knowledgeable and experienced users who report bugs so that the developers can correct them. It really isn't suitable for the inexperienced. In addition, posters here often become annoyed by the "lot of questions" when inexperienced users find their "testing" system broken and don't understand how or why or what to do.

You can read about the stable, testing, and unstable versions here:
https://www.debian.org/releases/
djevil wrote: I'm missing some packages (e.g. qt5ct, lmms), so I want to know if it will break the system(some day)
and is it possible/recommended to install Ubuntu packages/ppa on Buster?l
This will probably answer those questions.
https://wiki.debian.org/DontBreakDebian