Update KDE Plasma

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Update KDE Plasma

Postby Deeh » 2017-11-04 21:25

Hello,

I installed Debian with KDE Plasma as the default Desktop, but it seems that it installed KDE 5.8.6 and I needed version 5.9 or 5.10.
How can I update the desktop environment? I'm new to Linux and I tried apt-get install kde-full but I don't know if that's correct.

Thanks.
Deeh
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-11-04 21:21

Re: Update KDE Plasma

Postby pawRoot » 2017-11-04 21:57

Are you on Debian stretch? if yes you need "newer" version, probably Buster or Sid.
PC: i5-9600k @ 4.9GHz / RTX 2080 Ti / 32 GB DDR4 3200 MHz / MSI Z390-E
User avatar
pawRoot
 
Posts: 584
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland

Re: Update KDE Plasma

Postby stevepusser » 2017-11-04 22:33

It might be an XY problem. Why exactly do you need 5.9+? I've been able to backport certain newer KDE applications for the version in Stretch, such as Digikam 5.7.0, Marble 17.08.2, and Krita 3.3.1 so far.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Kodi 18.5, Mesa 19.3.3, 5.5 kernels, KeepassXC 2.5.3, Nvidia-driver 440.59, LibreOffice 6.4.1~rc1
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11437
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Update KDE Plasma

Postby Deeh » 2017-11-04 23:32

pawRoot wrote:Are you on Debian stretch? if yes you need "newer" version, probably Buster or Sid.


Yes I'm on Stretch. Isn't there a way to use newer KDE within Stretch?

stevepusser wrote:It might be an XY problem. Why exactly do you need 5.9+? I've been able to backport certain newer KDE applications for the version in Stretch, such as Digikam 5.7.0, Marble 17.08.2, and Krita 3.3.1 so far.


Customization. When I try to add a Panel there should be an option like "Application Menu Bar". I read somewhere that it is only available on 5.9+.
Deeh
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-11-04 21:21

Re: Update KDE Plasma

Postby pawRoot » 2017-11-05 10:33

Probably not without breaking your system, at least that was the case with Gnome.
PC: i5-9600k @ 4.9GHz / RTX 2080 Ti / 32 GB DDR4 3200 MHz / MSI Z390-E
User avatar
pawRoot
 
Posts: 584
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland

Re: Update KDE Plasma

Postby Deeh » 2017-11-05 14:23

pawRoot wrote:Probably not without breaking your system, at least that was the case with Gnome.


Oh :/
Thanks
Deeh
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-11-04 21:21

Re: Update KDE Plasma

Postby pylkko » 2017-11-05 19:20

There are many Linux distributions. Debian is the most conservative in the sense that it changes slowly. The next time any package will be updated in Debian will be in the summer of 2019. I don't know how you missed this bit of information before installing... However, it appears that you want another distribution. Many other ones update once a year, others twice and there are even distributions that change from week to week, day to day. You will find more information about this on the internet.
User avatar
pylkko
 
Posts: 1621
Joined: 2014-11-06 19:02

Re: Update KDE Plasma

Postby L_V » 2017-11-05 21:30

Is Neptune OS what you are looking for ?
https://neptuneos.com/ [ Plasma 5.10 on Debian 9.0 Stretch ]
L_V
 
Posts: 1270
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04

Re: Update KDE Plasma

Postby Deeh » 2017-11-06 09:37

pylkko wrote:There are many Linux distributions. Debian is the most conservative in the sense that it changes slowly. The next time any package will be updated in Debian will be in the summer of 2019. I don't know how you missed this bit of information before installing... However, it appears that you want another distribution. Many other ones update once a year, others twice and there are even distributions that change from week to week, day to day. You will find more information about this on the internet.


I didn't know, I got into Debian because a friend suggested it to me.

L_V wrote:Is Neptune OS what you are looking for ?
https://neptuneos.com/ [ Plasma 5.10 on Debian 9.0 Stretch ]


Cool, I'll take a look.
Deeh
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-11-04 21:21

Re: Update KDE Plasma

Postby peer » 2017-11-06 10:27

when you want the newest kde plasma you should give Neon a try.
I switched over a year ago from Mint kde to Neon. No regrets, never missed Mint!!
peer
 
Posts: 91
Joined: 2017-03-26 10:14

Re: Update KDE Plasma

Postby L_V » 2017-11-06 10:31

Neon is Ubuntu, not Debian.
viewtopic.php?t=133011
L_V
 
Posts: 1270
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04

Re: Update KDE Plasma

Postby None1975 » 2017-11-06 14:59

Hello. Check Netrunner 17.06.
User avatar
None1975
 
Posts: 981
Joined: 2015-11-29 18:23
Location: Lithuania, Vilnius

Re: Update KDE Plasma

Postby peer » 2017-11-07 07:59

L_V wrote:Neon is Ubuntu, not Debian.
viewtopic.php?t=133011


yes, unfortunately it is based on ubuntu :(
peer
 
Posts: 91
Joined: 2017-03-26 10:14

Re: Update KDE Plasma

Postby L_V » 2017-11-07 09:21

... and Netrunner on .... Debian.
L_V
 
Posts: 1270
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04

Re: Update KDE Plasma

Postby Data007 » 2020-01-29 17:55

Hi dragging out an old thread but its still googles top result to, upgrading kde in debian.

hostnamectl reports
Static hostname: debian10
Icon name: computer-desktop
Chassis: desktop
Machine ID: a7b7bce15db54c418aa48c2711307e69
Boot ID: e043ff6d90b64f41bfc5cf10a86693e9
Operating System: Debian GNU/Linux bullseye/sid
Kernel: Linux 5.4.0-3-amd64
Architecture: x86-64

So according that Iam on Sid now after tinkering with sources and "apt full-upgrade"

I am left running kde plasrma 5.14.5 when I google I get "KDE Plasma 5, versioned 5.17.90" is the latest..........

So the question I raise is if Iam on sid the latest how do I upgrade to a newier KDE 5.17.90 even ? or a more uptodate KDE!!

I thought sid was uptodate.
Data007
 
Posts: 60
Joined: 2017-12-01 19:59

Next

Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests

fashionable