Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

internet connection error in debian9

If none of the specific sub-forums seem right for your thread, ask here.
Post Reply
Message
Author
lilyana
Posts: 19
Joined: 2017-11-07 15:28

internet connection error in debian9

#1 Post by lilyana »

I have debian9 on my laptop, when open firefox I have this message "server not found" laptop connect to the internet and having signal but fierfox can not open any page,I try to use ping and router ip the msg destination host unreachable ?!! and network unreachable ! but the router name is found and connected to it ,when show setting of router in debian the signal is strong.

User avatar
acewiza
Posts: 357
Joined: 2013-05-28 12:38
Location: Out West

Re: internet connection error in debian9

#2 Post by acewiza »

Sounds like an erroneous proxy config.
Nobody would ever ask questions If everyone possessed encyclopedic knowledge of the man pages.

lilyana
Posts: 19
Joined: 2017-11-07 15:28

Re: internet connection error in debian9

#3 Post by lilyana »

how can solve this problem ? @acewiza can u help :(

User avatar
acewiza
Posts: 357
Joined: 2013-05-28 12:38
Location: Out West

Re: internet connection error in debian9

#4 Post by acewiza »

Post the outpout the ifconfig command:

Code: Select all

sudo ifconfig -a
Nobody would ever ask questions If everyone possessed encyclopedic knowledge of the man pages.

lilyana
Posts: 19
Joined: 2017-11-07 15:28

Re: internet connection error in debian9

#5 Post by lilyana »

sudo command not found !!

User avatar
GarryRicketson
Posts: 5644
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: internet connection error in debian9

#6 Post by GarryRicketson »

Use "su" , enter the root password, then run the command without
"sudo".

Code: Select all

ifconfig -a 
I would say install sudo, but you need to get a internet connection first,
Debian is not like Ubuntu, it does not come with sudo by default.

Oh, and be sure to type 'exit', after your done, it is not good to keep
working as root, but in this case you do need to be root to run the command.

lilyana
Posts: 19
Joined: 2017-11-07 15:28

Re: internet connection error in debian9

#7 Post by lilyana »

@GarryRicketson , after su when use

Code: Select all

ifconfig -a
the command not found again :(

User avatar
acewiza
Posts: 357
Joined: 2013-05-28 12:38
Location: Out West

Re: internet connection error in debian9

#8 Post by acewiza »

You need to run the command as root, somehow. If you cannot do that, you may not be qualified to even troubleshoot the problem.
Alternatively, you can try:

Code: Select all

ip address
Nobody would ever ask questions If everyone possessed encyclopedic knowledge of the man pages.

User avatar
GarryRicketson
Posts: 5644
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: internet connection error in debian9

#9 Post by GarryRicketson »

Can you show us exactly how you are typeing, including the prompt:
Here is a example:

Code: Select all

$ su
Password:
# whoami
root
# 
 

Code: Select all

# exit
$ whoami
garry
$ 
The $ represents you are working as a normal user, the # means it is root.
As a normal user:

Code: Select all

$ man ifconfig
Will , or should give you the manual for ifconfig,... Do not include the $ in the command you type, nor the # .
Show us what you get when you use the 'man ifconfig' :

Code: Select all

 $ man ifconfig
IFCONFIG(8)                 System Manager's Manual                IFCONFIG(8)

NAME
     ifconfig - configure network interface parameters 
Don't include the entire manual, then :

Code: Select all

$ ifconfig -a
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 32768
        index 3 priority 0 llprio 3
        groups: lo
        inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
        inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x3
        inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
em0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
        lladdr f0:4d:a2:27:86:49
        index 1 priority 0 llprio 3
        media: Ethernet autoselect (none)
        status: no carrier
enc0: flags=0<>
        index 2 priority 0 llprio 3
        groups: enc
        status: active
urndis0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
        lladdr d2:f2:f6:a1:e4:0e
        index 4 priority 0 llprio 3
        groups: egress
        inet XXXXXXXX netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast XXXXXXXX
pflog0: flags=141<UP,RUNNING,PROMISC> mtu 33136
        index 5 priority 0 llprio 3
        groups: pflog
$ 
 
As you can see, I can run the command and do not even need 'sudo' or to be root. My point is, to show us what the real output is, instead of just saying:
lilyana wrote:@GarryRicketson , after su when use

Code: Select all

ifconfig -a
the command not found again :(
Like you do here, we need to see how you actually ran the command, and what it really says.
It is all ways a good idea to look at the manual, when some one tells you
use this or that command.
For example, here, when acewiza told you use :

Code: Select all

sudo ifconfig -a  
If you had sudo installed, it would have run a command as root, and you did
not even know for sure what the command does. We all mean well, and I know
"acewiza" would not intentionally tell you to type a command that would harm
your system, neither would I, how ever some times the person trying to help
may misunderstand, and tell you to use a option, that does something different
the what you really wanted to do. You should all ways look up the command, using the 'man' command. Look at the various options, and make sure the command ,option , is going to do what you really want:

Code: Select all

$man ifconfig
----snip----
 -a      Causes ifconfig to print information on all interfaces.  The
             protocol family may be specified as well.  This is the default,
             if no parameters are given to ifconfig.
In this case, the -a option is harmless, and does what is expected.
Looking up the command in the manual also is essential in order to fully
understand what it does, and will help you understand the solutions people
give when trouble shooting your system.
by acewiza » If you cannot do that, you may not be qualified to even troubleshoot the problem.
Do you know how to capture, or put the output into a text file, when you are using the console, or a terminal ? We may need to explain that as well, before
we can start helping you. Let us know, if we need to do that first.

We also need some more info, is this a fresh install of Debian 9 ? or
was it working fine, and some thing changed, and now you no longer can connect. I have some chores to do , so have to go now.
Apology on saying you needed to be root to run the command, I thought
you did, but when I tried it as a normal user, I saw that root (su) is not needed,
That is another thing, you should all ways see if a command will work as a normal user, first, and only use 'su' if needed.

User avatar
acewiza
Posts: 357
Joined: 2013-05-28 12:38
Location: Out West

Re: internet connection error in debian9

#10 Post by acewiza »

Gary, you have the patience of a saint!
Nobody would ever ask questions If everyone possessed encyclopedic knowledge of the man pages.

User avatar
GarryRicketson
Posts: 5644
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: internet connection error in debian9

#11 Post by GarryRicketson »

Thanks, some times I do lose it though.
acewiza wrote:Sounds like an erroneous proxy config.
Actually, if it is this, it may be in the OP's browser configuration,
I don't remember exactly how on FireFox, but that would be the first thing
to check, :
Keywords for search:

Code: Select all

How to check the proxy settings on FireFox 
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1008298
Chosen solution

You can check the connection settings.

Tools > Options > Advanced > Network Connection > Settings
https://support.mozilla.org/kb/Options+ ... nced+panel

lilyana
Posts: 19
Joined: 2017-11-07 15:28

Re: internet connection error in debian9

#12 Post by lilyana »

I'm new in linux distributions
the result of

Code: Select all

ip address
---

Code: Select all

~$ ip address
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default
qlen 1
link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
inet6 ::1/128 scope host
valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: enp2s0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state DOWN
group default qlen 1000
link/ether 40:b0:34:98:b6:b7 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: wlo1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state UP group default
qlen 1000
link/ether 3c:a0:67:ee:fe:05 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
inet 192.168.2.109/24 brd 192.168.2.255 scope global dynamic wlo1
valid_lft 6800sec preferred_lft 6800sec
inet6 fe80::400e:2ae3:ed1f:b423/64 scope link
valid_lft forever 

User avatar
debiman
Posts: 3063
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: internet connection error in debian9

#13 Post by debiman »

acewiza wrote:Gary, you have the patience of a saint!
...and the tongue of a preacher!
:D

lilyana
Posts: 19
Joined: 2017-11-07 15:28

Re: internet connection error in debian9

#14 Post by lilyana »

GarryRicketson wrote:Thanks, some times I do lose it though.
acewiza wrote:Sounds like an erroneous proxy config.
Actually, if it is this, it may be in the OP's browser configuration,
I don't remember exactly how on FireFox, but that would be the first thing
to check, :
Keywords for search:

Code: Select all

How to check the proxy settings on FireFox 
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1008298
Chosen solution

You can check the connection settings.

Tools > Options > Advanced > Network Connection > Settings
https://support.mozilla.org/kb/Options+ ... nced+panel

@GarryRicketson thank you so much for all this , I'm now discover that I have problem in Wi-fi, when became very near from router I get very good internet connection, but when became far from it there is no internet connection , Why how can get rid of this problem

User avatar
acewiza
Posts: 357
Joined: 2013-05-28 12:38
Location: Out West

Re: internet connection error in debian9

#15 Post by acewiza »

I use a DoDoCool for that purpose: http://a.co/bm8Psm6
Nobody would ever ask questions If everyone possessed encyclopedic knowledge of the man pages.

lilyana
Posts: 19
Joined: 2017-11-07 15:28

Re: internet connection error in debian9

#16 Post by lilyana »

acewiza wrote:I use a DoDoCool for that purpose: http://a.co/bm8Psm6
But the other OS (win 10) have very good internet connection and from the same far place
I think the problem in wifi driver but how can solve it

lilyana
Posts: 19
Joined: 2017-11-07 15:28

Re: internet connection error in debian9

#17 Post by lilyana »

I'm solve the problem thanks for all

User avatar
GarryRicketson
Posts: 5644
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: internet connection error in debian9

#18 Post by GarryRicketson »

Would be nice if you shared , How you solved it ? there might be others with
a similar problem.

lilyana
Posts: 19
Joined: 2017-11-07 15:28

Re: internet connection error in debian9

#19 Post by lilyana »

GarryRicketson wrote:Would be nice if you shared , How you solved it ? there might be others with
a similar problem.

Code: Select all

echo "options rtl8723be ant_sel=1" | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/rtl8723be.conf

Post Reply