How to use snaps? (Spotify)

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

How to use snaps? (Spotify)

Postby pawRoot » 2018-01-10 07:41

I've installed snapd, then ran command snap install spotify, it installed correctly, but how the hell do i run the snap now?

dmenu can't find spotify, and if i type spotify in terminal = command not found.

Any ideas?
OS: Debian Stretch
WM: i3
CPU: Intel Core i5-4690K CPU @ 3.9GHz
MOBO: MSI Z97 Gaming 3
User avatar
pawRoot
 
Posts: 280
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland

Re: How to use snaps? (Spotify)

Postby pawRoot » 2018-01-10 11:45

Ok was able to run it using "snap run spotify".

Now wondering if i can bind it somehow in i3.
OS: Debian Stretch
WM: i3
CPU: Intel Core i5-4690K CPU @ 3.9GHz
MOBO: MSI Z97 Gaming 3
User avatar
pawRoot
 
Posts: 280
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland

Re: How to use snaps? (Spotify)

Postby kopper » 2018-01-11 03:50

Now wondering if i can bind it somehow in i3.

In $HOME/.config/i3/config, try a line (replace key with your bind):
bindsym $mod+<key> exec snap run spotify

To make i3 load new config, default is $mod +Shift + r.
Debian 9.3 Stable with i3
Secure your stuff: Securing Debian Manual
Don't break your stuff: Source List Management DontBreakDebian
kopper
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 2016-09-30 14:30

Re: How to use snaps? (Spotify)

Postby pawRoot » 2018-01-11 10:55

kopper wrote:
Now wondering if i can bind it somehow in i3.

In $HOME/.config/i3/config, try a line (replace key with your bind):
bindsym $mod+<key> exec snap run spotify

To make i3 load new config, default is $mod +Shift + r.


Well thats weird, it didn't work for me previously but i tried it again on new install of i3 and it works lol. I guess you can't bind some keys in i3.
Thanks anyway :)
OS: Debian Stretch
WM: i3
CPU: Intel Core i5-4690K CPU @ 3.9GHz
MOBO: MSI Z97 Gaming 3
User avatar
pawRoot
 
Posts: 280
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland

Re: How to use snaps? (Spotify)

Postby kopper » 2018-01-12 10:16

pawRoot wrote: I guess you can't bind some keys in i3.
Thanks anyway :)

I don't think there's limit to what you can bind. You can even use custom vendor keys.

You might want to check whether some keys are already bound for something else in the same config file. i3 is very well documented, you can find basically everything here.
Debian 9.3 Stable with i3
Secure your stuff: Securing Debian Manual
Don't break your stuff: Source List Management DontBreakDebian
kopper
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 2016-09-30 14:30


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

fashionable