Volumeicon in i3

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Volumeicon in i3

Postby pawRoot » 2018-02-01 17:32

Hi

Was anyone able to make volumeicon work with i3 ?

I have this in my i3 config:
Code: Select all
exec --no-startup-id volumeicon


But it's not showing in tint2, unless i type volumeicon in terminal.
User avatar
pawRoot
 
Posts: 507
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland

Re: Volumeicon in i3

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-02-03 11:43

Does it work if you use ~/.xsession instead?

Do other commands in your "i3 config" work?

Please also post the complete configuration file along with it's full name and location.
"Il semble que la perfection soit atteinte non quand il n'y a plus rien à ajouter, mais quand il n'y a plus rien à retrancher."
— Antoine de Saint Exupéry, Terre des Hommes (1939).
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7572
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Volumeicon in i3

Postby pawRoot » 2018-02-03 11:56

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Does it work if you use ~/.xsession instead?

Do other commands in your "i3 config" work?

Please also post the complete configuration file along with it's full name and location.


I tried .xinitrc (probably dumb idea?) and i3 config only, but i saw someone saying that volumeicon won't execute if there isn't any sound produced at startx, which seems weird, i tried adding
start-pulseaudio-x11
to .xinitrc but didnt help also.

I am not using .Xsession file at all, should i create empty one and add
exec volumeicon
to it ? i don't want to create links and other mess in my OS.
User avatar
pawRoot
 
Posts: 507
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

fashionable