Volumeicon in i3

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Volumeicon in i3

Postby pawRoot » 2018-02-01 17:32

Hi

Was anyone able to make volumeicon work with i3 ?

I have this in my i3 config:
Code: Select all
exec --no-startup-id volumeicon


But it's not showing in tint2, unless i type volumeicon in terminal.
User avatar
pawRoot
 
Posts: 509
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland

Re: Volumeicon in i3

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-02-03 11:43

Does it work if you use ~/.xsession instead?

Do other commands in your "i3 config" work?

Please also post the complete configuration file along with it's full name and location.
E Pluribus Unix
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7785
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Volumeicon in i3

Postby pawRoot » 2018-02-03 11:56

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Does it work if you use ~/.xsession instead?

Do other commands in your "i3 config" work?

Please also post the complete configuration file along with it's full name and location.


I tried .xinitrc (probably dumb idea?) and i3 config only, but i saw someone saying that volumeicon won't execute if there isn't any sound produced at startx, which seems weird, i tried adding
start-pulseaudio-x11
to .xinitrc but didnt help also.

I am not using .Xsession file at all, should i create empty one and add
exec volumeicon
to it ? i don't want to create links and other mess in my OS.
User avatar
pawRoot
 
Posts: 509
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

fashionable