Switching between window managers

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Switching between window managers

Postby pawRoot » 2018-02-02 02:37


Is there an easy way to switch between i3 and openbox ?
I am not using display manager, just starting sessions from tty.

Would be nice to be able to switch to i3 from for example openbox right click menu.
User avatar
Posts: 484
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland

Re: Switching between window managers

Postby steve_v » 2018-02-02 10:48

Many WMs (inc. openbox) support the --replace switch, which does what one would expect. AFAIK i3 doesn't, so you'd probably have to run a DM if that one is on the wishlist.
Posts: 660
Joined: 2012-10-06 05:31
Location: New Zealand

Re: Switching between window managers

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-02-03 11:48

Code: Select all
# update-alternatives --config x-session-manager

Requires a log out though.
"Only the mediocre are always at their best." — Jean Giraudoux
User avatar
Posts: 7322
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests