no microcode early update?

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

no microcode early update?

Postby andyjackson » 2018-03-16 07:40

my laptop is hp zbook g1, cpu i5-4300m. according to wiki 'Users of CPUs belonging to the Intel Haswell and Broadwell processor families in particular must install these microcode updates to ensure system stability'.

so i intall intel-microcode package and reboot, run dmesg | grep microcode only output:
[ 2.970879] microcode: sig=0x306c3, pf=0x10, revision=0x24
[ 2.971024] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.01 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba
that means no microcode update.

if some microcode updated while boot, dmesg should output like:
[ 0.000000] CPU0 microcode updated early to revision 0x1b, date = 2014-05-29
[ 0.507267] microcode: CPU0 sig=0x306a9, pf=0x2, revision=0x1b
[ 0.507272] microcode: CPU1 sig=0x306a9, pf=0x2, revision=0x1b
[ 0.507335] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.00 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba

i was installed intel-microcode package for my other laptops before, dmesg always output like 'microcode: sig=0x306c3, pf=0x10, revision=0x24' means no micodecode updated.

so do i need to do more config or just let it go?

debian9 stable, kernel 4.14 backports.
andyjackson
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2016-03-21 13:52

Re: no microcode early update?

Postby stevepusser » 2018-03-16 19:02

What do you get with
Code: Select all
apt policy intel-microcode


I just installed the version from Sid, and now spectre-meltdown-checker has this for the hardware section:
Code: Select all
Hardware check
* Hardware support (CPU microcode) for mitigation techniques
  * Indirect Branch Restricted Speculation (IBRS)
    * SPEC_CTRL MSR is available:  YES
    * CPU indicates IBRS capability:  YES  (SPEC_CTRL feature bit)
  * Indirect Branch Prediction Barrier (IBPB)
    * PRED_CMD MSR is available:  YES
    * CPU indicates IBPB capability:  YES  (SPEC_CTRL feature bit)
  * Single Thread Indirect Branch Predictors (STIBP)
    * SPEC_CTRL MSR is available:  YES
    * CPU indicates STIBP capability:  YES
  * Enhanced IBRS (IBRS_ALL)
    * CPU indicates ARCH_CAPABILITIES MSR availability:  NO
    * ARCH_CAPABILITIES MSR advertises IBRS_ALL capability:  NO
  * CPU explicitly indicates not being vulnerable to Meltdown (RDCL_NO):  NO
  * CPU microcode is known to cause stability problems:  NO  (model 78 stepping 3 ucode 0xc2)
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: GIMP 2.10.6, Pale Moon 28.1.0, wine-staging 3.16, qBittorrent 4.1.3, Linux kernel 4.18.8, virtualbox 5.2.18
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 9915
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: no microcode early update?

Postby andyjackson » 2018-03-17 08:06

my install stable version, apt policy intel-microcode output not contain message like yours.
andyjackson
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2016-03-21 13:52

Re: no microcode early update?

Postby andyjackson » 2018-03-17 08:08

kernel modoule microcode balcklist by default, but nothing changed even if i un-blacklist it.
andyjackson
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2016-03-21 13:52

Re: no microcode early update?

Postby debiman » 2018-03-17 08:46

stevepusser wrote:What do you get with
Code: Select all
apt policy intel-microcode

please post the output of this command.
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 2816
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: no microcode early update?

Postby andyjackson » 2018-03-17 11:33

apt policy intel-microcode

intel-microcode:
Installed: 3.20171117.1~bpo9+1
Candidate: 3.20171117.1~bpo9+1
Version table:
*** 3.20171117.1~bpo9+1 100
100 http://mirrors.163.com/debian stretch-backports/non-free amd64 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
3.20170707.1~deb9u1 500
500 http://mirrors.163.com/debian stretch/non-free amd64 Packages
andyjackson
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2016-03-21 13:52

Re: no microcode early update?

Postby stevepusser » 2018-03-17 22:24

Like I wrote above, you have to install the Sid deb package to get a newer version. It's compatible with Stretch.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: GIMP 2.10.6, Pale Moon 28.1.0, wine-staging 3.16, qBittorrent 4.1.3, Linux kernel 4.18.8, virtualbox 5.2.18
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 9915
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: no microcode early update?

Postby andyjackson » 2018-03-17 23:24

with sid version(kernel 4.15.4) apt policy intel-microcode almost no change:
intel-microcode:
Installed: 3.20180312.1
Candidate: 3.20180312.1
Version table:
*** 3.20180312.1 500
500 http://mirrors.163.com/debian sid/non-free amd64 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

kern.log still show
[ 0.712827] microcode: sig=0x1067a, pf=0x1, revision=0x1
[ 0.712912] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.01 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba

do i have to make some config about initramfs or other some of configure? or lack of some firmware debs?
andyjackson
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2016-03-21 13:52

Re: no microcode early update?

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-03-17 23:58

[s]I have never figured out how Debian handle µcode updates so I download Arch's intel-ucode package, untar it, place their intel-ucode.img in /boot and load it before Debian's initrd.img in the GRUB menuentry.

It is a pre-prepared initramfs image that applies the microcode so it should work with any distribution.[/s]

EDIT: sorry, I'm noisy today, I think I'm bored...
Last edited by Head_on_a_Stick on 2018-03-18 01:06, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7900
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: no microcode early update?

Postby stevepusser » 2018-03-18 00:09

andyjackson wrote:with sid version(kernel 4.15.4) apt policy intel-microcode almost no change:
intel-microcode:
Installed: 3.20180312.1
Candidate: 3.20180312.1
Version table:
*** 3.20180312.1 500
500 http://mirrors.163.com/debian sid/non-free amd64 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

kern.log still show
[ 0.712827] microcode: sig=0x1067a, pf=0x1, revision=0x1
[ 0.712912] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.01 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba

do i have to make some config about initramfs or other some of configure? or lack of some firmware debs?


It changed to the latest version and your machine keeps working. What else are you expecting to happen?
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: GIMP 2.10.6, Pale Moon 28.1.0, wine-staging 3.16, qBittorrent 4.1.3, Linux kernel 4.18.8, virtualbox 5.2.18
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 9915
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: no microcode early update?

Postby sunrat » 2018-03-18 00:53

andyjackson wrote:...
500 http://mirrors.163.com/debian sid/non-free amd64 Packages...

Hopefully you didn't add the sid repo to stretch and leave it enabled.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2429
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: no microcode early update?

Postby andyjackson » 2018-03-18 02:25

-----------It changed to the latest version and your machine keeps working. What else are you expecting to happen?

i got 'microcode: sig=0x306c3, pf=0x10, revision=0x24' not 'CPU0 microcode updated early to revision ...' from dmesg, kernel do not load any microcode, maybe bios already upodated microcodes, BUT how can i know that?

------------[s]I have never figured out how Debian handle µcode updates so I download Arch's intel-ucode package, untar it, place their intel-ucode.img in /boot and load it before Debian's initrd.img in the GRUB menuentry.

is that stable? Arch's intel-ucode.img for debian? i dont think so.
andyjackson
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2016-03-21 13:52

Re: no microcode early update?

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-03-18 10:49

andyjackson wrote:[s]I have never figured out how Debian handle µcode updates so I download Arch's intel-ucode package, untar it, place their intel-ucode.img in /boot and load it before Debian's initrd.img in the GRUB menuentry.[/s]

is that stable? Arch's intel-ucode.img for debian? i dont think so.

It is the µcode from Intel packaged up into an initramfs image that applies the code to the CPU before the operating system is loaded so yes, it is 100% compatible with Debian.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7900
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: no microcode early update?

Postby andyjackson » 2018-03-18 23:01

i put intel-ucode.img to /boot and change grub.cfg with "initrd /boot/intel-ucode.img /boot/initrd.img-414..."and reboot, nothing changed. debian9 stable, kernel 4.14 backports.

what is you cpu type? with your sid + intel-ucode.img, dmesg | grep microcode output is?
andyjackson
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2016-03-21 13:52

Re: no microcode early update?

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-03-19 07:28

^ I'm not in that box atm but this has just been posted and may be relevant:

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1774907

I'll post back later with the requested information.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 7900
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Next

Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jimmyfd and 1 guest

fashionable