Problem with ssh...

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Re: Problem with ssh...

Postby n_hologram » 2018-03-30 12:30

@OP: reinob offered some good advice. I will also request some information, one final time...

Since you've had nothing but failures through your ssh clients, it is incredibly plausible that the issue lies with the server. Please run top and mc on the physical device (hooked up to a monitor), not through ssh[/i], and report back letting us know either:
a) if top/mc works or fails on the physical device directly, or
b) if you don't have access to the device. Even if you don't have access, it is still a very important thing to know for people who are trying to help you.

Other conjectures based on superficial search results:
Is your server a raspberry pi?
Have you tried adding the -t option to your ssh command?
bester69 wrote:There is nothing to install in linux, from time to time i go to google searching for something fresh to install in linux, but, there is nothing

the crunkbong project: scripts, operating system, the list goes on...
n_hologram
 
Posts: 433
Joined: 2013-06-16 00:10

Re: Problem with ssh...

Postby phoenix_art » 2018-03-30 15:15

On Debian-clients:

$ cat /etc/debian_version
9.4

$ apt-cache policy openssh-client openssh-server
openssh-client:
Telepítve: 1:7.4p1-10+deb9u3
Jelölt: 1:7.4p1-10+deb9u3
Verziótáblázat:
*** 1:7.4p1-10+deb9u3 500
500 http://ftp.hu.debian.org/debian stretch/main amd64 Packages
500 http://deb.debian.org/debian stretch/main amd64 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
openssh-server:
Telepítve: (nincs)
Jelölt: 1:7.4p1-10+deb9u3
Verziótáblázat:
1:7.4p1-10+deb9u3 500
500 http://ftp.hu.debian.org/debian stretch/main amd64 Packages
500 http://deb.debian.org/debian stretch/main amd64 Packages

On Debian-servers:

$ cat /etc/debian_version
9.1

$ apt-cache policy openssh-client openssh-server
openssh-client:
Telepítve: 1:6.7p1-5+deb8u4
Jelölt: 1:6.7p1-5+deb8u4
Verziótáblázat:
*** 1:6.7p1-5+deb8u4 0
500 http://ftp.hu.debian.org/debian/ jessie/main amd64 Packages
500 http://http.debian.net/debian/ jessie/main amd64 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
1:6.7p1-5+deb8u3 0
500 http://security.debian.org/ jessie/updates/main amd64 Packages
500 http://security.debian.org/debian-security/ jessie/updates/main amd64 Packages
openssh-server:
Telepítve: 1:6.7p1-5+deb8u4
Jelölt: 1:6.7p1-5+deb8u4
Verziótáblázat:
*** 1:6.7p1-5+deb8u4 0
500 http://ftp.hu.debian.org/debian/ jessie/main amd64 Packages
500 http://http.debian.net/debian/ jessie/main amd64 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
1:6.7p1-5+deb8u3 0
500 http://security.debian.org/ jessie/updates/main amd64 Packages
500 http://security.debian.org/debian-security/ jessie/updates/main amd64 Packages

I don't know why, but today I don't get the same hang/freeze with top or mc. I didn't make any changes on the server.
phoenix_art
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 2013-12-08 17:47

Re: Problem with ssh...

Postby phoenix_art » 2018-03-30 15:20

"you still aren't providing any useful information." -> "On irc I got a possible answer from someone today, maybe the firewall of server is blocking icmp responses. But I can't repair it yet - I don't know how." -> I still didn't get one possible help for it here yet... Why?


debiman wrote:
phoenix_art wrote:"you know you're supposed to replace "user@server" with your actual user and server, yes?" -> Oh, my God... Of course, YES! :)

so, are you being facetious right now?
you still aren't providing any useful information.
maybe we should send a delegation to your place to
a) assess your sense of humour
b) do some actual troubleshooting
???

edit:
ok, now it's me being facetious.
i hope my sarcasm is apparent enough.
couldn't quite tell from your last post...
phoenix_art
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 2013-12-08 17:47

Re: Problem with ssh...

Postby reinob » 2018-04-03 12:55

phoenix_art wrote:"you still aren't providing any useful information." -> "On irc I got a possible answer from someone today, maybe the firewall of server is blocking icmp responses. But I can't repair it yet - I don't know how." -> I still didn't get one possible help for it here yet... Why?


In principle (and AFAIK anyway) ssh does not use or need ICMP. From what you posted above your client (stretch) and server (jessie) should be OK.

I'd tend to assume that the problem is with your internet connection (whether client, server, or both.. I can't know), which would be beyond the scope of what any of us can help with.

My last suggestion would be to check/confirm whether you have any kind of network "tweaks" (like changing the MTU or any such low-level networking parameters which nobody besides the kernel should be touching..)

Can you confirm that you didn't mess (up) with your network? does each client and each server have a single IP address and a single interface (I think I asked you to post the output of "ip a", "ip r" and "arp -n" on both client and server).
reinob
 
Posts: 541
Joined: 2014-06-30 11:42

Re: Problem with ssh...

Postby phoenix_art » 2018-04-03 17:44

Thanks again for your help. I see now ssh working without problems I mentioned since last few days from any client I tried. I don't know why and what was the problem but as I wrote my network and server didn't get any changes.
phoenix_art
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 2013-12-08 17:47

Previous

Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

fashionable