Problem with ssh...

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Problem with ssh...

Postby phoenix_art » 2018-03-25 06:50

Dear People!

Could anyone help me with ssh-problem? I have two Debian-servers with ssh-connection, but nowadays when I connect and try command "top" or run "mc" it started loading the screen and stuck with half screen and freeze.

It happened with all ssh-clients - with Linux and Windows machines too.

Thanks for help!
phoenix_art
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 2013-12-08 17:47

Re: Problem with ssh...

Postby debiman » 2018-03-25 09:46

from a graphical terminal (urxvt) i can ssh into my server, and run 'top' with no problem:
Code: Select all
ssh server
Last login: Sun Mar 25 13:32:06 2018 from bla.bla.com
$ top
...

how do you log in exactly?
does top not give any sort of error message?
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 2790
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: Problem with ssh...

Postby phoenix_art » 2018-03-25 18:20

I tried with your ssh-mode - from terminal with ssh - but here is the same problem, when I run top, listed the half of top-display.

Before I usually used Vinagre and Remmina on Linux.

On irc I got a possible answer from someone today, maybe the firewall of server is blocking icmp responses. But I can't repair it yet - I don't know how. A long time I hadn't do any setup with the server, and before I can use ssh everyday without problems. What happened then? Maybe some security update?

Thanks for helping.
phoenix_art
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 2013-12-08 17:47

Re: Problem with ssh...

Postby debiman » 2018-03-27 03:37

phoenix_art wrote:I tried with your ssh-mode - from terminal with ssh - but here is the same problem, when I run top, listed the half of top-display.
so you don't get any sort of error message? can you Ctrl-C out of it?
is only top affected? what other problematic behavior do you experience?
there must be something you can show us.

Before I usually used Vinagre and Remmina on Linux.
ah, a server with a GUI. i see where you're coming from.

On irc I got a possible answer from someone today, maybe the firewall of server is blocking icmp responses. But I can't repair it yet - I don't know how. A long time I hadn't do any setup with the server, and before I can use ssh everyday without problems. What happened then? Maybe some security update?

that sounds overly convoluted for a problem so poorly described.
right now i'd rather expect that your terminal is meesed up, but hard to say anything unless you provide any real info.
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 2790
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: Problem with ssh...

Postby phoenix_art » 2018-03-27 04:45

"so you don't get any sort of error message? can you Ctrl-C out of it?" -> No, I don't get any error message, and can't use Ctrl-C to exit.

"ah, a server with a GUI. i see where you're coming from." -> "It happened with all ssh-clients - with Linux and Windows machines too." -> I use Vinagre and Remmina on Linux Desktop computer not on the server!

"i see where you're coming from." -> So, where?? If you wouldn't help me, please don't do that... :roll:

"On irc I got a possible answer from someone today, maybe the firewall of server is blocking icmp responses. But I can't repair it yet - I don't know how. A long time I hadn't do any setup with the server, and before I can use ssh everyday without problems. What happened then? Maybe some security update?" -> And thanks for reading this and help me... Oh, you maybe just stuck on this: "i see where you're coming from". Thanks for your disparage...
phoenix_art
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 2013-12-08 17:47

Re: Problem with ssh...

Postby reinob » 2018-03-27 07:14

phoenix_art wrote:Could anyone help me with ssh-problem? I have two Debian-servers with ssh-connection, but nowadays when I connect and try command "top" or run "mc" it started loading the screen and stuck with half screen and freeze.


Try, from a linux client (to avoid any further complications) with the "-v" (verbose) option, i.e.
Code: Select all
$ ssh -v user@server


then wait until your problem happens and see if anything is printed from ssh.
If your session hangs, then hit "~." (without the quotes). This should terminate the session.
If it doesn't, then maybe your client is the problem.
reinob
 
Posts: 545
Joined: 2014-06-30 11:42

Re: Problem with ssh...

Postby phoenix_art » 2018-03-27 15:12

Hi reinob,

Thanks for the tip! I tried as you mention, now it was ok without hang, but as I wrote before here there was the hanging-problem with terminal ssh-command too. I don't know why, it sometimes working without hanging with the client-softwares too - without any changes on the server or client. In different times I got hangs with top or opening Midnight Commander.

I will try this tip later for get any error message when hanging and will write here.
phoenix_art
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 2013-12-08 17:47

Re: Problem with ssh...

Postby phoenix_art » 2018-03-28 05:31

"then wait until your problem happens and see if anything is printed from ssh." -> Hanged after your command line: ssh -v user@server but nothing printed on the screen.
phoenix_art
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 2013-12-08 17:47

Re: Problem with ssh...

Postby debiman » 2018-03-28 17:59

and you did this on a debian terminal?

did you literally enter
Code: Select all
ssh -v user@server
???
you know you're supposed to replace "user@server" with your actual user and server, yes?
anyhow, it must have output something.
you can crank up verbosity iirc, e.g.:
Code: Select all
ssh -vv user@server
ssh -vvv user@server
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 2790
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: Problem with ssh...

Postby phoenix_art » 2018-03-29 18:26

"you know you're supposed to replace "user@server" with your actual user and server, yes?" -> Oh, my God... Of course, YES! :)

Any other idea? :)
phoenix_art
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 2013-12-08 17:47

Re: Problem with ssh...

Postby debiman » 2018-03-29 18:54

phoenix_art wrote:"you know you're supposed to replace "user@server" with your actual user and server, yes?" -> Oh, my God... Of course, YES! :)

so, are you being facetious right now?
you still aren't providing any useful information.
maybe we should send a delegation to your place to
a) assess your sense of humour
b) do some actual troubleshooting
???

edit:
ok, now it's me being facetious.
i hope my sarcasm is apparent enough.
couldn't quite tell from your last post...
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 2790
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: Problem with ssh...

Postby n_hologram » 2018-03-29 19:05

top and midnight commander both use ncurses, yes? Maybe the issue is with their library files or something. You could try reinstalling the ncurses libs just for funsies.

You say you have two servers...is this happening on both of them? (If we're being honest, I'd be really surprised if your answer was "yes".)

Speaking of your servers, if you have physical access to them, plug in a monitor and keyboard and try to run them from physical components, not through ssh. If the problem persists, then it clearly isn't an ssh issue.
bester69 wrote:There is nothing to install in linux, from time to time i go to google searching for something fresh to install in linux, but, there is nothing

the crunkbong project: scripts, operating system, the list goes on...
n_hologram
 
Posts: 433
Joined: 2013-06-16 00:10

Re: Problem with ssh...

Postby jibberjabber » 2018-03-29 19:14

anyhow, it must have output something.


So what is the out put ?
Example only:
Code: Select all
$ ssh -v user@server
OpenSSH_6.0p1 Debian-4+deb7u4, OpenSSL 1.0.1t  3 May 2016
debug1: Reading configuration data /etc/ssh/ssh_config
debug1: /etc/ssh/ssh_config line 19: Applying options for *
ssh: Could not resolve hostname server: Name or service not known
$

There should be some output, and it might give a clue as to why it does not connect.
Do you know how to capture the output ?
written by HelpBot#8453
Alias jibberjabber
I am sorry, my english is not that good, and I sometimes have other problems,so my response might not be perfect.
N5RLX > "Jibber jabber ,all day and all night, jibber jabber jibber jabber"
jibberjabber
 
Posts: 108
Joined: 2016-01-10 16:58

Re: Problem with ssh...

Postby phoenix_art » 2018-03-30 03:55

"There should be some output, and it might give a clue as to why it does not connect." -> Thanks for help but I think you didn't understand my problem. I always can connect to the server over ssh from any modes, but when I give something there - exactly "top" command, or wanted to run Midnight Commander it sometimes trying to load its output screen and leave the output screen with half-loaded with freeze.
phoenix_art
 
Posts: 62
Joined: 2013-12-08 17:47

Re: Problem with ssh...

Postby reinob » 2018-03-30 10:34

@phoenix_art,

I understand it's hard, but you're not really providing any relevant information that may help us diagnose your problem.

Can you post, for both the client and the server:
* Debian version you're using (output of cat /etc/debian_version will do)
* output of apt-cache policy openssh-client openssh-server

To be on the safe side, please post the output of "ip a", "ip r" and "arp -n" on both the client and the server.
I once had a similar issue due to misconfigured routing.

Please also confirm that you're not testing this using any Windows client, Windows server, RDP, VNC or anything other than good old Debian Linux using OpenSSH. Not in a VM, not in WSL, just plain bare-metal Linux and OpenSSH. OK?
reinob
 
Posts: 545
Joined: 2014-06-30 11:42

Next

Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CwF and 9 guests

fashionable