High CPU with Chrome or/and Firefox

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

High CPU with Chrome or/and Firefox

Postby Fred34 » 2018-05-05 17:54

Hi everyone

I'm discovering Debian, but I've one problem, with chromium and/or firefoxthe processor goes so high when it load the pages, sometimes without any reasons ….i don’t understand.

I’ve got two computers with Debian, just one does that, i changed and install a SSD hard disk but it’s the same result, ok it’s not a recent machine but it’s not even a dinosaur :
model name : AMD Athlon(tm) Processor L110 1,2 GHz
2Gb of memory and i’m using LXDE…

Do you have any idea what it could be ??
Last edited by Fred34 on 2018-05-11 15:22, edited 1 time in total.
Fred34
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2018-05-01 10:28

Re: Highe CPU with Chrome or/and Firefox

Postby bw123 » 2018-05-05 18:41

That is a pretty slow cpu. I have an older sempron 1.8 and it does okay with both browsers, but I do disable javascript and flash/video through them. In fact I pretty much disable everything I can when surfing.

Are you sure the cpu is running at the 1.2 speed? I use cpufreq-info when I am setting mine up, it shows some stats about cpu performance? The pkg name is cpufrequtils.

Just clicking a link to any random page nowadays can trigger hundreds of actions that waste resources and bandwidth. It is the thing I dislike most about what the web has become, they are trying to make it like interactive TV. It used to be a pretty reliable and efficient way to transfer text and render it in various readable ways.

There aren't a lot of lightweight alternatives, but there are a few. Maybe some others will comment, or you can use search box on the forum here to find the threads about alternative lightweight browsers.
User avatar
bw123
 
Posts: 3278
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Location: TN_USA

Re: Highe CPU with Chrome or/and Firefox

Postby stevepusser » 2018-05-06 00:17

There is also the possibility of some sites loading cryptocoin coin mining scripts onto your machine without permission.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: GIMP 2.10.6, Pale Moon 28.1.0, wine-staging 3.16, qBittorrent 4.1.3, Linux kernel 4.18.8, virtualbox 5.2.18
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 9915
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Highe CPU with Chrome or/and Firefox

Postby sunrat » 2018-05-06 04:13

You say it goes high when you load pages. That would be expected. I just check on my Core2Duo E8500 system and it hit 80% briefly on both cores while loading a page. It's about a 9 year old processor.
If it sustains high CPU usage after loading, that would be a different matter.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2429
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Highe CPU with Chrome or/and Firefox

Postby Fred34 » 2018-05-09 15:41

When I watch some website with heavy staff ... otherwise simple website like this one or like google result it's really fast and the proc is really low. I can't ask a lot, I forgot Windows for Linux and I find back a computer really really fast !! So I'm not gonna complain :D
If i knew it before ...
Fred34
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2018-05-01 10:28

Re: Highe CPU with Chrome or/and Firefox

Postby stevepusser » 2018-05-09 20:35

Yes, rendering all the kruft on those heavy pages like the Huffpo or Boing Boing will take a lot of CPU cycles; that's just the way things work. Be careful you don't use all of that 2GB RAM and start using the swap file, too. There's also some browsers like Qupzilla or its successor, Falkon, that might be faster, but the latest version for Qupzilla is only going to work on Stretch as an AppImage, and that's 64-bit only. Falkon just put up an Appimage yesterday, but it crashes on my machine...they seem to be working on a fix for that, looking at the github repo.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: GIMP 2.10.6, Pale Moon 28.1.0, wine-staging 3.16, qBittorrent 4.1.3, Linux kernel 4.18.8, virtualbox 5.2.18
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 9915
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Highe CPU with Chrome or/and Firefox

Postby Fred34 » 2018-05-11 06:58

I check with GParted and I've a swat file but when the processor is at 100% the memory is not full ... so it shouldn't use the swat file normally....
I discover yesterday the extension of Firefox to block the advertisement etc... It's amazing !!! YouTube without adv as well. At least the loading will be reduce a bit more
Fred34
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2018-05-01 10:28

Re: Highe CPU with Chrome or/and Firefox

Postby None1975 » 2018-05-11 14:14

Fred34 wrote:I discover yesterday the extension of Firefox to block the advertisement

Also, you can check this extension, that is called xul-ext-noscript.
OS: Debian 9.4 / WM: Xmonad
Debian Wiki | DontBreakDebian, My config files in github
Linux User #607425
User avatar
None1975
 
Posts: 627
Joined: 2015-11-29 18:23
Location: Lithuania, Vilnius

Re: Highe CPU with Chrome or/and Firefox

Postby Fred34 » 2018-05-11 15:21

I gave up with Firefox... Chromium is way faster than the fox...
Fred34
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2018-05-01 10:28

Re: Highe CPU with Chrome or/and Firefox

Postby Bulkley » 2018-05-11 15:32

Fred34 wrote:I gave up with Firefox... Chromium is way faster than the fox...


Not anymore. The new Firefox Quantum is much faster than the older versions, maybe faster than Chromium. I'm typing this from Quantum 60.0 (64-bit) running in my user space and it is considerably faster than the Firefox-esr installed from the Stretch repository.

BTW, if you like Chromium, try Slimjet.
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5617
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Re: Highe CPU with Chrome or/and Firefox

Postby debiman » 2018-05-11 16:34

stevepusser wrote:There's also some browsers like Qupzilla or its successor, Falkon, that might be faster, but the latest version for Qupzilla is only going to work on Stretch as an AppImage, and that's 64-bit only. Falkon just put up an Appimage yesterday, but it crashes on my machine...they seem to be working on a fix for that, looking at the github repo.
just out of curiosity, doesn't an appimage create extra overhead, and would somewhat reduce the effect of using a lightweight browser?

PS:
still no noscript for qupzilla/falkon?
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 2818
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: High CPU with Chrome or/and Firefox

Postby Fred34 » 2018-05-11 17:00

Done, way better
Thanks again
Fred34
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2018-05-01 10:28

Re: High CPU with Chrome or/and Firefox

Postby Fred34 » 2018-05-21 11:43

Firefox quantum is really faster than chrome but I've an android phone and i would like to use it on it but impossible like for one page to open it takes 3-4 seconds with chrome and 13-14 with firefox 60..... Why so much difference!?
Fred34
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2018-05-01 10:28

Re: High CPU with Chrome or/and Firefox

Postby Wheelerof4te » 2018-05-21 11:53

Fred34 wrote:android phone and i would like to use it on it

If you are asking about Firefox on Android, then maybe Firefox or Android forums are more appropriate place. This one is for Debian users.
User avatar
Wheelerof4te
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: 2015-08-30 20:14

Re: High CPU with Chrome or/and Firefox

Postby Fred34 » 2018-05-21 12:25

Wheelerof4te wrote:
Fred34 wrote:android phone and i would like to use it on it

If you are asking about Firefox on Android, then maybe Firefox or Android forums are more appropriate place. This one is for Debian users.


Yes i know, I'm not asking but it seems like the version is like that on android. It's just to say it because it's the same version, it's a shame
Fred34
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2018-05-01 10:28

Next

Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: franky44, Jimmyfd and 7 guests

fashionable