[SOLVED] Why can't set compress. level when mounting btrfs?

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

[SOLVED] Why can't set compress. level when mounting btrfs?

Postby s3a » 2018-06-26 20:42

I got a drive that's using btrfs as the filesystem to be successfully mounted with compression with a command like mount /dev/sda /mnt -o compress=zlib, but a command like mount /dev/sda /mnt -o compress=zlib:9 doesn't work. (If I remember correctly, it gives me an error along the lines of "wrong filesystem type, bad superblock" or something like that.) I tried this on Debian stable/stretch.

Does anyone have any insight into this?

Any input would be greatly appreciated!
Last edited by s3a on 2018-06-27 15:08, edited 1 time in total.
Use Mnemosyne to Study for School!
User avatar
s3a
 
Posts: 803
Joined: 2008-07-17 22:13

Re: Why can't I set the compression level when mounting btrf

Postby bw123 » 2018-06-27 10:04

maybe this?

https://btrfs.wiki.kernel.org/index.php/Compression
...
Can I set the compression level? The level support of ZLIB has been added in v4.14...


Code: Select all
$ apt policy btrfs-progs
btrfs-progs:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 4.7.3-1
  Version table:
     4.7.3-1 500
        500 http://deb.debian.org/debian stretch/main amd64 Packages

User avatar
bw123
 
Posts: 3577
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02
Location: TN_USA

Re: Why can't I set the compression level when mounting btrf

Postby s3a » 2018-06-27 15:06

Oh!

I think that because, on Wikipedia, it's written as "Yes (zlib, LZO[5] and (since 4.14) ZSTD[6])", and, because the 4.14 is near the ZSTD there, my brain kept ignoring the part you mentioned from the website you linked, due to it thinking that the zlib near the 4.14 text applied to ZSTD.

Anyways, thanks!
Use Mnemosyne to Study for School!
User avatar
s3a
 
Posts: 803
Joined: 2008-07-17 22:13


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

fashionable