whether synaptic add mutiarch or not

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

whether synaptic add mutiarch or not

Postby FateRover » 2018-09-28 06:51

Recently,i noticed that while i installing wine by synaptic,it will not add
Code: Select all
dpkg --add-archietecture i386
,but debian wiki manully install will do it by command line ,so whether synaptic add mutiarch automatic or not
FateRover
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2018-06-29 02:46

Re: whether synaptic add mutiarch or not

Postby stevepusser » 2018-09-28 17:47

As far as I know, adding an architecture can only be done on the command line with dpkg, as in the wiki.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Flightgear 2018.2.2, tlp-ui, wine-staging 3.21, Pale Moon 28.2.2, Mesa 18.2.6, Midori 7.0
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 10272
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: whether synaptic add mutiarch or not

Postby FateRover » 2018-10-01 07:39

So,that mean synaptic may missing some depens while installing some pack which are need i386 ,for example, wine installed by synaptic actually isnt completely?
FateRover
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2018-06-29 02:46

Re: whether synaptic add mutiarch or not

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-10-01 07:44

The `--add-architecture` flag only needs to be passed once (and the repository database updated) for the extra architecture to be added to the system, you don't need to use it each time you add new packages.
dbruce wrote:Ubuntu forums try to be like a coffee shop in Seattle. Debian forums strive for the charm and ambience of a skinhead bar in Bacau. We intend to keep it that way.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 8321
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: whether synaptic add mutiarch or not

Postby FateRover » 2018-10-03 07:00

the question is which package is the first one need to add-architecture i386.if you never do it by cl, wine or bumblebee or something else needing i386 will not install completely .i think synaptic shoud check the dependencies and make alert to add architecture by comandline if i386 is needed,for better user experience
FateRover
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2018-06-29 02:46

Re: whether synaptic add mutiarch or not

Postby arzgi » 2018-10-03 13:06

You should use reportbug, and make whislist request, devs are not here.
arzgi
 
Posts: 389
Joined: 2008-02-21 17:03
Location: Finland


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

fashionable