Can't manipulate volume in i3 anymore

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Can't manipulate volume in i3 anymore

Postby pawRoot » 2018-11-04 01:43

I'm using i3 wm, to manipulate volume i use this:

Code: Select all
bindcode $mod+Shift+86 exec amixer set Master 5%+
bindcode $mod+Shift+82 exec amixer set Master 5%-


It was always working fine, but now in Debian SID it doesn't.

Code: Select all
$ amixer set Master 5%+                                             
ALSA lib conf.c:3639:(config_file_open) cannot access file /etc/alsa/conf.d/10-rate-lav.conf
ALSA lib conf.c:3559:(snd_config_hooks_call) function snd_config_hook_load returned error: No such file or directory
ALSA lib conf.c:4013:(snd_config_update_r) hooks failed, removing configuration
amixer: Mixer attach default error: No such file or directory


Any ideas ?
User avatar
pawRoot
 
Posts: 564
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland

Re: Can't manipulate volume in i3 anymore

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-11-04 06:08

Great, we now have three threads about the same ****ing problem... :roll:

viewtopic.php?f=10&t=138978

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=138976

See also viewtopic.php?f=30&t=47078
I suffer from depression and may lash out occasionally, try not to take it personally.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 8169
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Can't manipulate volume in i3 anymore

Postby pawRoot » 2018-11-05 00:27

Still didn't find a solution, i tried

Code: Select all
sudo mv /etc/alsa/conf.d{,_bak}


but it didn't help
User avatar
pawRoot
 
Posts: 564
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland

Re: Can't manipulate volume in i3 anymore

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-11-05 17:40

In which case please accept my apologies for being such a grumpy twat :D

At the risk of seeming even more of a tosser, I have to ask: did you check if the command worked?
Code: Select all
ls /etc/alsa

Are the error messages any different once the offending directory has been moved?
I suffer from depression and may lash out occasionally, try not to take it personally.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 8169
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Can't manipulate volume in i3 anymore

Postby pawRoot » 2018-11-05 18:24

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:In which case please accept my apologies for being such a grumpy twat :D


No problem :mrgreen:

Code: Select all
amixer set Master 5%+                                                                                 
amixer: Unable to find simple control 'Master',0


Code: Select all
ls /etc/alsa                                                                                           
conf.d_bak
User avatar
pawRoot
 
Posts: 564
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland

Re: Can't manipulate volume in i3 anymore

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-11-05 18:38

pawRoot wrote:
Code: Select all
amixer set Master 5%+                                                                                 
amixer: Unable to find simple control 'Master',0

Can we please see the output of plain
Code: Select all
amixer

Thanks!
I suffer from depression and may lash out occasionally, try not to take it personally.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 8169
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Can't manipulate volume in i3 anymore

Postby pawRoot » 2018-11-05 18:40

Code: Select all
$ amixer                                                                                                 
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',0
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [on]
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',1
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [on]
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',2
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [on]
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',3
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [on]
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',4
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [on]
User avatar
pawRoot
 
Posts: 564
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland

Re: Can't manipulate volume in i3 anymore

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-11-05 18:53

Well, I didn't expect that :o

How about
Code: Select all
amixer scontrols
I suffer from depression and may lash out occasionally, try not to take it personally.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 8169
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Can't manipulate volume in i3 anymore

Postby pawRoot » 2018-11-05 18:57

Code: Select all
$ amixer scontrols
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',0
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',1
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',2
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',3
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',4
User avatar
pawRoot
 
Posts: 564
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland

Re: Can't manipulate volume in i3 anymore

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-11-05 19:08

Curiouser and curiouser...

One more try:
Code: Select all
aplay -l
cat /proc/asound/cards
I suffer from depression and may lash out occasionally, try not to take it personally.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 8169
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Can't manipulate volume in i3 anymore

Postby pawRoot » 2018-11-05 19:10

Code: Select all
$ aplay -l                                                                         
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 10: HDMI 4 [HDMI 4]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC1150 Analog [ALC1150 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: ALC1150 Digital [ALC1150 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


Code: Select all
$ cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [HDMI           ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel HDMI
                      HDA Intel HDMI at 0xefd14000 irq 29
 1 [PCH            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
                      HDA Intel PCH at 0xefd10000 irq 27
User avatar
pawRoot
 
Posts: 564
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland

Re: Can't manipulate volume in i3 anymore

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-11-05 19:11

Your HDMI output is set as the default, is that what you want?
I suffer from depression and may lash out occasionally, try not to take it personally.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 8169
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Can't manipulate volume in i3 anymore

Postby pawRoot » 2018-11-05 19:17

Ok i forgot that i disconnected my speakers :oops:

I have sound now but i am still not able to control it

Code: Select all
$ amixer get Master | awk -F'[' '/Left:/{gsub("]","");print $2}'                                         
amixer: Unable to find simple control 'Master',0
User avatar
pawRoot
 
Posts: 564
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland

Re: Can't manipulate volume in i3 anymore

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-11-05 19:18

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Can we please see the output of plain
Code: Select all
amixer

Thanks!

:mrgreen:
I suffer from depression and may lash out occasionally, try not to take it personally.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 8169
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Can't manipulate volume in i3 anymore

Postby pawRoot » 2018-11-05 19:21

:oops:

Code: Select all
$ amixer                                                                                                 
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',0
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [on]
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',1
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [on]
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',2
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [on]
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',3
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [on]
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',4
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [on]
User avatar
pawRoot
 
Posts: 564
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland

Next

Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

fashionable