High CPU Usage and hanging install

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

High CPU Usage and hanging install

Postby milomak » 2018-11-13 21:00

This is on iMac Debian install. I get some pretty high CPU usage which at times causes the install to freeze

For instance see below before any freeze happens.
Image

I've seen a couple of apps showing as 200% usgage when it freezes. This requires a force shutdown by powering down through the long press of the power button.

Is it possible to find out when I reboot what it was that was utilising the system resources?
Desktop: iMac Late-2015 27" 5K Retina (17,1 - 3.3GHz) - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Debian Sid (External SSD)
Laptop: Lenovo ideapad Y700 [nVidia Optimus] (64-bit) - Debian Sid, Win10,
Kodi Box: AMD Athlon 5150 APU w/Radeon HD 8400 - Debian Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 1855
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: High CPU Usage and hanging install

Postby cronoik » 2018-11-13 21:13

/var/log/syslog is a good starting point.
Have a nice day!
cronoik
 
Posts: 288
Joined: 2015-05-20 21:17

Re: High CPU Usage and hanging install

Postby debiman » 2018-11-14 00:51

well your screenshot shows it pretty clearly.
i suspect some graphical issue.
in addition to what the previous poster said:
Code: Select all
lspci -k | grep -iEA5 'vga|3d|display'

this a new install?
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 3064
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: High CPU Usage and hanging install

Postby milomak » 2018-11-14 16:53

yeah it's definitely a gpu related thing

$ lspci -k | grep -iEA5 'vga|3d|display'
Code: Select all
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device 6920 (rev 01)
   Subsystem: Apple Inc. Device 014c
   Kernel driver in use: amdgpu
   Kernel modules: amdgpu
01:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Tonga HDMI Audio [Radeon R9 285/380]
   Subsystem: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Tonga HDMI Audio [Radeon R9 285/380]


$ lsmod | grep amd
Code: Select all
amdkfd                159744  1
amd_iommu_v2           20480  1 amdkfd
amdgpu               3031040  23
mfd_core               16384  1 amdgpu
chash                  16384  1 amdgpu
gpu_sched              20480  1 amdgpu
i2c_algo_bit           16384  2 amdgpu,radeon
ttm                   106496  2 amdgpu,radeon
drm_kms_helper        167936  2 amdgpu,radeon
drm                   413696  9 gpu_sched,drm_kms_helper,amdgpu,radeon,ttm
i2c_core               49152  7 videodev,drm_kms_helper,i2c_algo_bit,amdgpu,radeon,i2c_i801,drm


$ dpkg -l | grep amdgpu
Code: Select all
ii  libdrm-amdgpu1:amd64                                             2.4.95-1                             amd64        Userspace interface to amdgpu-specific kernel DRM services -- runtime
ii  libdrm-amdgpu1:i386                                              2.4.95-1                             i386         Userspace interface to amdgpu-specific kernel DRM services -- runtime
ii  xserver-xorg-video-amdgpu                                        18.1.0-1                             amd64        X.Org X server -- AMDGPU display driver
Desktop: iMac Late-2015 27" 5K Retina (17,1 - 3.3GHz) - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Debian Sid (External SSD)
Laptop: Lenovo ideapad Y700 [nVidia Optimus] (64-bit) - Debian Sid, Win10,
Kodi Box: AMD Athlon 5150 APU w/Radeon HD 8400 - Debian Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 1855
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: High CPU Usage and hanging install

Postby debiman » 2018-11-15 18:13

this a new install?
how is the imac specced otherwise? your output only shows percentages.
which DE? with compositor?
something in the logs?
can you switch ttys when it freezes?
or maybe even search for clues before it freezes? like grepping dmesg and various logs for amd or graphics-related stuff?
User avatar
debiman
 
Posts: 3064
Joined: 2013-03-12 07:18

Re: High CPU Usage and hanging install

Postby milomak » 2018-11-15 18:34

debiman wrote:this a new install?

it's quite an old install

how is the imac specced otherwise? your output only shows percentages.

Code: Select all
CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i5-6600 bits: 64 type: MCP L2 cache: 6144 KiB
           Speed: 900 MHz min/max: 800/3900 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 900 2: 900 3: 900 4: 900
Graphics:  Device-1: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] driver: amdgpu v: kernel
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.3 driver: amdgpu,ati unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 2560x1440~60Hz
           OpenGL: renderer: AMD RADEON R9 M390X (TONGA DRM 3.27.0 4.19.0-towo.5-siduction-amd64 LLVM 6.0.1)
           v: 4.5 Mesa 18.1.9


which DE? with compositor?

plasma with in built compositor

something in the logs?

i've since moved to cinnamon and haven't had an issue

can you switch ttys when it freezes?

sometimes. but even it was anging and eventually was unresponsive

or maybe even search for clues before it freezes? like grepping dmesg and various logs for amd or graphics-related stuff?

yeah this is what i wanted to know. what i could search after forcing power down and restarting again
Desktop: iMac Late-2015 27" 5K Retina (17,1 - 3.3GHz) - MacOS and Windows 10 (Bootcamp)/ Debian Sid (External SSD)
Laptop: Lenovo ideapad Y700 [nVidia Optimus] (64-bit) - Debian Sid, Win10,
Kodi Box: AMD Athlon 5150 APU w/Radeon HD 8400 - Debian Sid
milomak
 
Posts: 1855
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: High CPU Usage and hanging install

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2018-11-16 06:12

milomak wrote:what i could search after forcing power down and restarting again

You will have to set the systemd journal to persistent storage for it to keep records from the previous boot:
Code: Select all
# mkdir -p /var/log/journal

Remove the new directory to return to non-persistent logging.
dbruce wrote:Ubuntu forums try to be like a coffee shop in Seattle. Debian forums strive for the charm and ambience of a skinhead bar in Bacau. We intend to keep it that way.
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 8324
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

fashionable