Setting default vpn connection in open vpn

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Setting default vpn connection in open vpn

Postby bryanmc » 2018-11-23 14:29

When I restart my system (or bring it back up from suspend) my vpn automatically connects to my vpn provider's node in Texas. In order to connect to a closer node I have to disconnect from the Texas node and reconnect to one we'll call West for sake of discussion. I've done some searching and can't figure out how to change the default connection or if it's even possible. I'm using gnome network manager with network-manager-openvpn-gnome installed on debian stretch.

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by bryanmc on 2018-11-27 23:53, edited 1 time in total.
bryanmc
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 2016-11-18 12:21

Re: Setting default vpn connection in open vpn

Postby bryanmc » 2018-11-27 15:30

A little more info:
Thinking I would try the easy, obvious route first, I simply deleted the "Texas" vpn configuration. The result was that eth0 failed to connect (it would connect and a second later disconnect). Thankfully I had a fresh clonezilla backup and was able to return things to the original config. Still hoping for some insight as to how network manager and this one particular vpn config could be linked.
bryanmc
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 2016-11-18 12:21

Re: Setting default vpn connection in open vpn

Postby themagicm » 2018-11-28 02:47

what do you mean by "your vpn"?

You running PIA? Or did you manually create entries?
themagicm
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 2011-11-23 06:08

Re: Setting default vpn connection in open vpn

Postby bryanmc » 2018-11-28 04:03

Re-reading it I guess I was a little confusing. PIA is my VPN provider and I'm using their configurations and nodes, but I'm not using their vpn manager.
bryanmc
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 2016-11-18 12:21

Re: Setting default vpn connection in open vpn

Postby bryanmc » 2018-12-04 17:34

I don't have any issues with PIA and get almost 100% of my supplied bandwith. I'm just trying to figure out why network manager always defaults to one particular vpn configuration (as opposed to say the last one it was connected to) and fails to connect at all if the "Texas" configuration s deleted. I'm sure it must be simple, but I just can't find the connection.
bryanmc
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 2016-11-18 12:21


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

fashionable