Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Entire Screen flashes black whenever i interact with videos

If none of the specific sub-forums seem right for your thread, ask here.
thatoneguy

Entire Screen flashes black whenever i interact with videos

#1 Post by thatoneguy »

This started happening recently and its incredibly annoying . Figured its an issue with amdgpu , but reinstalling the drivers didnt help . Over the last few days i tried everything from upgrading my kernel to getting a completely fresh install of debian but nothing seems to work . I only recently started getting into linux so im not that good at this stuff , can anyone help me out here ?
*Currently using an rx580 gpu .

Head_on_a_Stick

Re: Entire Screen flashes black whenever i interact with vid

#2 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Anything in the logs?

That seems to be quite a new card, which version of Debian are you using?
deadbang

thatoneguy

#3 Post by thatoneguy »

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Anything in the logs?

That seems to be quite a new card, which version of Debian are you using?
Currently im on debian 9.7
I get this in the log files ( used youtube videos ) :
debian firefox-esr[1597]: unable to create file '/run/user/1000/dconf/user': Permission denied. dconf will not work properly.
Pretty much the same thing when i use the default video player that came with gnome , unable to create file '/run/user/1000/dconf/user': Permission denied .

Head_on_a_Stick

#4 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

thatoneguy wrote:im on debian 9.7
The package versions for that release were frozen way back in 2017 so if your hardware was introduced after that date then support will likely be poor.