Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Buster?

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby L_V » 2019-07-26 17:44

The problem is qt4 dependency, for now.
L_V
 
Posts: 1171
Joined: 2007-03-19 09:04

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby stevepusser » 2019-07-26 19:08

OK, these seem to be working now: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1vKhVl ... lJaZJx2_bd

Except opening a root Dolphin results in a window with no icons at all... :( But at least you can use the other root actions to work around the need to have a root Dolphin while we try to figure that out.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Clipgrab 3.8.6, Hedgewars 1.0.0, PulseEffects 4.6.8, Telegram-desktop 1.8.15, Pale Moon 28.7.2, KeepassXC 2.5.1
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11313
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby stevepusser » 2019-07-26 22:14

And apparently rootactions needs a patch for the case when you're running Dolphin outside of KDE (like me most of the time), so here's another update for that one

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1O7-fL ... xcKucoWiku
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Clipgrab 3.8.6, Hedgewars 1.0.0, PulseEffects 4.6.8, Telegram-desktop 1.8.15, Pale Moon 28.7.2, KeepassXC 2.5.1
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11313
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby sunrat » 2019-07-27 00:20

Redacted this post as it's irrelevant after my next post.
Last edited by sunrat on 2019-07-27 07:20, edited 1 time in total.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby sunrat » 2019-07-27 07:19

stevepusser wrote:And apparently rootactions needs a patch for the case when you're running Dolphin outside of KDE (like me most of the time), so here's another update for that one

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1O7-fL ... xcKucoWiku


I just installed this in a fresh Buster netinstall with kde-plasma-desktop added. Seems to work fine and opening Dolphin as root shows icons.
Bravo Stevo! 8)
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby miks » 2019-07-27 08:18

stevepusser wrote:And apparently rootactions needs a patch for the case when you're running Dolphin outside of KDE (like me most of the time), so here's another update for that one

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1O7-fL ... xcKucoWiku

I can confirm this works on the Buster KDE I have been using since January. Just wondering why there isn't an official way to do this in KDE Buster. Is that by design or is it a bug? I have tried reading up about the demise of kdesu and use of polkit, pkexec etc but it just hurts my brain.
User avatar
miks
 
Posts: 60
Joined: 2009-08-21 17:41

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby sunrat » 2019-07-27 12:06

miks wrote: Just wondering why there isn't an official way to do this in KDE Buster. Is that by design or is it a bug? I have tried reading up about the demise of kdesu and use of polkit, pkexec etc but it just hurts my brain.


It's one of the great mysteries of the modern world. We will all become enlightened beings and world peace will ensue once it's solved. :wink:
I think Steve managed to implement it without too much trouble. I presume the KDE devs think it a Very Bad Idea® to run Dolphin as root or they could have done it too.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby stevepusser » 2019-07-27 17:29

Presumably, they want all packages to be installed from the repos instead of local debs, too, so may not hurry to fix gdebi or add an "installdeb" service menu. Actually, dolphin_oracle at MX came up with the deb installer script for the KDE and Thunar service menus, and I packaged the KDE one. Assuming other FMs like Nautilus, Caja, Nemo, etc. use similar xml code for their service menus, it would probably be pretty simple to adapt the Thunar version for them.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Clipgrab 3.8.6, Hedgewars 1.0.0, PulseEffects 4.6.8, Telegram-desktop 1.8.15, Pale Moon 28.7.2, KeepassXC 2.5.1
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11313
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby stevepusser » 2019-07-27 17:30

L_V wrote:The problem is qt4 dependency, for now.


I think that's fixed for the MX 19 ones now.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Clipgrab 3.8.6, Hedgewars 1.0.0, PulseEffects 4.6.8, Telegram-desktop 1.8.15, Pale Moon 28.7.2, KeepassXC 2.5.1
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11313
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby NFT5 » 2019-07-27 23:40

Thanks for your efforts on this Steve. I now have both the ability to run the root actions from Dolphin as well as actually open up a Dolphin window, as root. For this I'm very happy.

The root Dolphin window doesn't follow the theme etc. of my desktop but it does have simplistic icons and the difference will probably serve to remind me that I'm root and to be careful.

I can install debs with QApt and mange my files with Dolphin, so I'm a happy chappy. :D

sunrat wrote:I presume the KDE devs think it a Very Bad Idea® to run Dolphin as root or they could have done it too.

stevepusser wrote:Assuming other FMs like Nautilus, Caja, Nemo, etc. use similar xml code for their service menus, it would probably be pretty simple to adapt the Thunar version for them.


Gnome and MATE have always had the ability to open a root file manager window (Cinnamon too? Not sure) and Caja has a package for custom menu actions. It's kind of curious that the KDE devs are heading in such a different direction when the success of Mint, Ubuntu, MX and others indicates that users want a GUI solution. :?
User avatar
NFT5
 
Posts: 338
Joined: 2014-10-10 11:38
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby stevepusser » 2019-07-28 18:02

Root's got its own KDE configuration, so you need to run systemsettings5 as root and change its appearance there. I suggest something shockingly garish to remind you that you're root.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Clipgrab 3.8.6, Hedgewars 1.0.0, PulseEffects 4.6.8, Telegram-desktop 1.8.15, Pale Moon 28.7.2, KeepassXC 2.5.1
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11313
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby debian121212 » 2019-08-20 04:00

stevepusser wrote:I got deepin-deb-installer to work on MX 19 alpha, so we can use that if we can't figure out the gdebi issue. It only pulls in a couple extra megabytes of packages.


Thanks for pointing this out.
User avatar
debian121212
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2019-01-03 01:34

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby efrpcabo » 2019-08-29 11:20

For me, in Debian 10 Buster 64 bit XFCE, with XFCE 4.14 through MX backports, Gdebi launches but doesn't work.
I had to use dpkg -i from terminal.
User avatar
efrpcabo
 
Posts: 91
Joined: 2013-08-08 06:36

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby stevepusser » 2019-08-29 22:45

It's the same issue with gdebi in Debian that the whole thread has been about from the start! Unless you want to emphasize that it's not fixed...
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: Clipgrab 3.8.6, Hedgewars 1.0.0, PulseEffects 4.6.8, Telegram-desktop 1.8.15, Pale Moon 28.7.2, KeepassXC 2.5.1
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11313
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Does gdebi ( the gdebi-gtk GUI) work for anybody on Bust

Postby CwF » 2019-08-30 12:03

Ya well, as stated earlier, working for me!
CwF
 
Posts: 511
Joined: 2018-06-20 15:16

PreviousNext

Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests

fashionable