Setting up the printer in CUPS.

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Setting up the printer in CUPS.

Postby jplaydebian » 2019-07-23 18:06

Good afternoon members.
I installed Debian KDE, but a question arose.
Why couldn't I access the printer setup in CUPS as a regular user? I had to reinstall CUPS before I could access the printer. I'm noob on Linux.

Thankful. :D
User avatar
jplaydebian
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-07-23 17:31

Re: Setting up the printer in CUPS.

Postby ruwolf » 2019-07-23 20:32

Because it is system settings...
User avatar
ruwolf
 
Posts: 392
Joined: 2008-02-18 05:04
Location: Slovakia, Banovce nad Bebravou, Matice slovenskej 1260/4-7

Re: Setting up the printer in CUPS.

Postby jplaydebian » 2019-07-23 21:20

,g$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$P. --------------
,g$$P" """Y$$.". OS: Debian GNU/Linux 10 (buster) x86_64
,$$P' `$$$. Kernel: 4.19.0-5-amd64
',$$P ,ggs. `$$b: Uptime: 23 mins
`d$$' ,$P"' . $$$ Packages: 3113 (dpkg)
$$P d$' , $$P Shell: bash 5.0.3
$$: $$. - ,d$$' Resolution: 1920x1080
$$; Y$b._ _,d$P' DE: KDE
Y$$. `.`"Y$$$$P"' WM: KWin
`$$b "-.__ Theme: Breeze [KDE], Breeze [GTK3]
`Y$$ Icons: breeze [KDE], breeze [GTK3]
`Y$$. Terminal: konsole
`$$b. CPU: Intel i7-2600 (8) @ 3.800GHz
`Y$$b. Memory: 1384MiB / 16011MiB
`"Y$b._
`"""
User avatar
jplaydebian
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-07-23 17:31


Re: Setting up the printer in CUPS.

Postby jplaydebian » 2019-07-23 22:58

I could not access the printer configuration, it was locked, even entering the password to unlock, after I reinstalled CUPS, then appeared a lock to unlock and have access, must have been a bug in CUPS. :)
User avatar
jplaydebian
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-07-23 17:31

Re: Setting up the printer in CUPS.

Postby arzgi » 2019-07-24 18:39

jplaydebian wrote:I could not access the printer configuration, it was locked, even entering the password to unlock, after I reinstalled CUPS, then appeared a lock to unlock and have access, must have been a bug in CUPS. :)


Not so sure about that. Do you belong to lpadmin group?

To check in konsole or like
Code: Select all
groups

if lpadmin is not one of listed
as root
Code: Select all
adduser $USER lpadmin
$USER being your user name. Logout and log back in. Try again.
arzgi
 
Posts: 475
Joined: 2008-02-21 17:03
Location: Finland

Re: Setting up the printer in CUPS.

Postby Cyborg » 2019-07-24 19:37

I also found that I needed to add my user to the lpadmin group before I could access localhost:631/ (CUPS).
Cyborg
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2016-12-01 19:07


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: None1975 and 14 guests

fashionable