Noobish help

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Noobish help

Postby Reedo11 » 2005-08-21 02:03

Hey, I recently installed Debian linux on another computer, and after installing and signing in, it stays on this black screen like dos. I'm pretty sure there's a command to go to the actual operating system so I can set it up, but I don't know it, so I'm stuck on this dos screen. Could you post that command and possibly other useful commands? That would really help, thanks!
PS: apparently, I have no "x' :?
Reedo11
 

Re: Noobish help

Postby drdebian » 2005-08-21 03:41

Hi there!

Reedo11 wrote:Hey, I recently installed Debian linux on another computer, and after installing and signing in, it stays on this black screen like dos. I'm pretty sure there's a command to go to the actual operating system so I can set it up, but I don't know it, so I'm stuck on this dos screen. Could you post that command and possibly other useful commands? That would really help, thanks!
PS: apparently, I have no "x' :?


Just to clear up some confusion on your part first, the black DOS screen you're referring to already is the actual operating system! Once you log in you can do everything you want, if you know where to look.

Now, it sounds like you want to have a graphical interface to the already running operating system. Simply log in as root and issue these commands:
Code: Select all
apt-get update
apt-get x-window-system kde kdm


This should install the X-Window-System as well as the KDE desktop environment.
drdebian
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 2004-10-09 16:17
Location: austria

Re: Noobish help

Postby Guest » 2005-08-22 21:51

drdebian wrote:Hi there!

Reedo11 wrote:Hey, I recently installed Debian linux on another computer, and after installing and signing in, it stays on this black screen like dos. I'm pretty sure there's a command to go to the actual operating system so I can set it up, but I don't know it, so I'm stuck on this dos screen. Could you post that command and possibly other useful commands? That would really help, thanks!
PS: apparently, I have no "x' :?


Just to clear up some confusion on your part first, the black DOS screen you're referring to already is the actual operating system! Once you log in you can do everything you want, if you know where to look.

Now, it sounds like you want to have a graphical interface to the already running operating system. Simply log in as root and issue these commands:
Code: Select all
apt-get update
apt-get x-window-system kde kdm


This should install the X-Window-System as well as the KDE desktop environment.

Thanks a lot dude! I'm guessing I'll need internet access for that?
Guest
 

Postby Harold » 2005-08-22 22:23

Maybe not. Did you install Debian from the net-install CD or from the larger CD No. 1? If you used CD No. 1 and you still have access to it, it should contain the files you want to install. Follow these directions, then use the commands drdebian supplied.
Harold
 
Posts: 1502
Joined: 2005-01-07 00:15

Postby Reedo11 » 2005-08-27 00:07

Okay, I think I'm connected, and apt-get update works, but not the other code, maybe I'm not connected? Is there a way to check my connection? Also, is there another code I could use to get the xwindows interface? And if not, is there anything similar to it?
Reedo11
 

Postby drdebian » 2005-08-27 04:07

Reedo11 wrote:Okay, I think I'm connected, and apt-get update works, but not the other code, maybe I'm not connected? Is there a way to check my connection? Also, is there another code I could use to get the xwindows interface? And if not, is there anything similar to it?


There's actually a typo in the 2nd command... Sorry for that. Instead of
apt-get x-window-system kde kdm

it should be
apt-get install x-window-system kde kdm
.
drdebian
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 2004-10-09 16:17
Location: austria

Postby Reedo11 » 2005-08-27 04:14

Ok, cool, is there a way to know if I'm connected to the internet, or a way to tell it to connect?
Reedo11
 

Postby Tassu » 2005-08-27 22:19

Reedo11 wrote:Ok, cool, is there a way to know if I'm connected to the internet, or a way to tell it to connect?


the ping command is always good for checkin internet and other network connections, simply type

ping -c 5 www.fi


you can change the "www.fi" part to any domain name or ip-address you want.
Tassu
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2005-08-25 15:30
Location: Kustavi, Finland


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

fashionable