Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

All browsers use only 1 core (super slow browsing)

If none of the specific sub-forums seem right for your thread, ask here.
RebelCoder

All browsers use only 1 core (super slow browsing)

#1 Post by RebelCoder »

Hello.

I have been using Debian (Stable and Testing) for 3+ years now. Recently (about a month ago) I started having this odd behavior where all browsers use just one core (thread), and for some reason specifically number 7, and even resizing browser windows is super slow. Browsing/Scrolling is super slow. I have tried Firefox (70-71), latest Chromium, Brave, Opera. All act exactly the same. Just use thread/Core 7 and are super slow. Watching a video on YT or any animated content just kills PC performance. This was not the case at all until about a month ago.

Today I have reinstalled Debian Stable and I still have the same behavior.

FIREFOX:

BRAVE:

Here is some extra output:

inxi -G:

Code: Select all

Graphics:  Device-1: Intel 4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics driver: i915 v: kernel 
           Device-2: NVIDIA GK106M [GeForce GTX 765M] driver: N/A 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.4 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa resolution: 2560x1440_60.00~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Haswell Mobile v: 4.5 Mesa 18.3.6
Any advise would be a great help.

stevepusser

Re: All browsers use only 1 core (super slow browsing)

#2 Post by stevepusser »

Does the same thing happen with a kernel that uses a different scheduler, such as the current 5.3 Liquorix kernel?

A little off-topic, but is your machine an Optimus laptop, and do you have GPU switching working on it?
MX Linux packager and developer

RebelCoder