System Monitor shows less 'Total RAM' then actual. [Solved]

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

System Monitor shows less 'Total RAM' then actual. [Solved]

Postby toxicspiritssssss » 2020-06-24 14:29

I recently installed Debian 10 on my laptop. I used a Live Bootable USB for installation purpose. The installation got finished without any hiccups. Everything else seems fine except for one thing. When I open my system monitor, the total RAM size shown there is a lot smaller then my actual RAM size installed. It shows only 2.5 GB of total RAM available whereas I have 12 GB RAM in my laptop. Below I'm providing some further details which might help in troubleshooting:

Total RAM: 12 GB (4GB + 8 GB configuration)
Number of RAM slots: 2
Processor: i3-6006u
Installation media: Live Bootable USB stick
Desktop Environment: KDE Plasma

I'm dual booting Debian alongside Fedora on my external HDD. I've even tried installing gnome-system-monitor, but that too shows the same thing.

I've tried searching the Internet for solution but no success. Any help is highly appreciated. :D

Edit: Re-downloading the 64bit large installation image (no live) solved the problem. Apparently, I somehow ended up with a 32 Bit (non-PAE) image. I checked my downloaded live image and it says AMD64, but I still somehow ended up 32 bit installation. Not sure how that happened but for now everything works flawlessly with my fresh installation.
Last edited by toxicspiritssssss on 2020-06-25 06:43, edited 1 time in total.
toxicspiritssssss
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2020-06-24 14:06

Re: System Monitor shows less 'Total RAM' then actual.

Postby LE_746F6D617A7A69 » 2020-06-24 15:22

Is this Debian i386 or amd64?
Post the output of the following 2 commands:
Code: Select all
uname -a
and
Code: Select all
free -m
Bill Gates: "(...) In my case, I went to the garbage cans at the Computer Science Center and I fished out listings of their operating system."
The_full_story and Nothing_have_changed
LE_746F6D617A7A69
 
Posts: 387
Joined: 2020-05-03 14:16

Re: System Monitor shows less 'Total RAM' then actual.

Postby toxicspiritssssss » 2020-06-24 16:38

Hey @LE_746F6D617A7A69 thanks for your reply. Here are the required output:

Code: Select all
$ uname -a

Linux localsys 4.19.0-9-686 #1 SMP Debian 4.19.118-2+deb10u1 (2020-06-07) i686 GNU/Linux


Code: Select all
$ free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:           2565         389        1640          65         535        1857
Swap:         12064           0       12064


As you can see the total memory is only 2.5GB.

Also, it's Debian i386
toxicspiritssssss
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2020-06-24 14:06

Re: System Monitor shows less 'Total RAM' then actual.

Postby p.H » 2020-06-24 16:42

This is a 32-bit kernel without PAE. It cannot use memory above the 4-GiB boundary.
Install the 686-pae kernel, or better, reinstall a 64-bit (amd64) system.
p.H
 
Posts: 1458
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12

Re: System Monitor shows less 'Total RAM' then actual.

Postby toxicspiritssssss » 2020-06-24 17:19

Hey @p.H as far as i remember, I downloaded the Live Image that goes by this name debian-live-10.4.0-amd64-kde.iso.torrent. I used the transmission app to download the image from torrent file. That's an 64 bit image if I'm not wrong. I can re-download the netinstall version or the complete DVD installation image but my internet pack has very limited data. That's why before re-downloading, I want to explore all other options.
toxicspiritssssss
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2020-06-24 14:06

Re: System Monitor shows less 'Total RAM' then actual.

Postby stevepusser » 2020-06-24 17:59

I'd double check the download next time--you definitely should reinstall with the amd64 version. No question. But how you ended up with the 32-bit version for really old non-PAE machines also needs investigation. The game is afoot!
MX Linux packager and developer
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 12061
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: System Monitor shows less 'Total RAM' then actual.

Postby toxicspiritssssss » 2020-06-24 18:11

Hey @stevepusser yes, I just started re-downloading the 64 bit installation image. Not going with live this time. I checked my downloaded image file and it says amd64. However when I open and see the contents of my Bootable USB, it has all the 32 Bit system files. I really don't understand how that can be happening.
toxicspiritssssss
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2020-06-24 14:06

Re: System Monitor shows less 'Total RAM' then actual.

Postby toxicspiritssssss » 2020-06-25 06:36

Hey guys. I re-downloaded the 64Bit installation image (no live), and it worked. Now I am able to utilize my full RAM capabilities. Thank you all for your help.
toxicspiritssssss
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2020-06-24 14:06


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests

fashionable