Some graphs don't display on chromium on latimes.com

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Some graphs don't display on chromium on latimes.com

Postby Shamak » 2020-07-14 19:28

Hi everybody. I'm on Buster on Wayland with the Gnome desktop. There's a few graphs that don't display on latimes.com with chromium 83.0.4103.116 installed from the repositories. Here's the link.

https://www.latimes.com/projects/califo ... -outbreak/

Scroll down a little to get to the labels Cumulative Cases, New cases by day, Deaths by day, and Cumulative cases by county.

They do not display with my usual profile nor a new profile on my machine. Nor do they display on chromium from the repositories on the Debian live CD.

These do display on firefox esr. They also display with snap chromium installed on my machine. They also display with chrome installed on my machine. They do display on snap chromium on the Ubuntu live CD.

I've tried running Debian on Xorg but they still don't display.

In my settings images are allowed. Javascript is allowed. They don't display with hardware acceleration either on or off. I tried allowing insecure content on latimes.com but they still did not display.

This is the result of running inxi -G

Code: Select all
Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel 82G33/G31 Express Integrated Graphics driver: i915
  v: kernel
  Display: wayland server: X.Org 1.20.4 driver: i915
  resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz
  OpenGL: renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 7.0 128 bits) v: 3.3 Mesa 18.3.6


I generally use firefox esr as my main browser but was recently considering switching to chromium so I don't know how it does on graphs in general. In the past if I've had a problem with firefox not displaying something I could usually view it in chromium. I looked at the Debian chromium bugs but didn't see anything that looked relevant.

I appreciate any help you could give. :)
Shamak
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2018-04-14 00:33

Re: Some graphs don't display on chromium on latimes.com

Postby ruwolf » 2020-07-15 01:19

They are SVGs.
Do you see another SVGs?
E.g. click to Original file link here Commons.WikiMedia.org/wiki/File:SVG_logo_h.svg
User avatar
ruwolf
 
Posts: 427
Joined: 2008-02-18 05:04
Location: Slovakia, Banovce nad Bebravou, Matice slovenskej 1260/4-7

Re: Some graphs don't display on chromium on latimes.com

Postby cuckooflew » 2020-07-15 01:57

Everything displays just fine using firefox, But I have not used chrome or chromium for years, for various reasons, and no way am I going to install it now to check, I am sure you say they don't display , then they don't display. There have been a lot of posts about Chrome, and Chromium, recently, various problems,..You say they do show with firefox
These do display on firefox esr.
There you go, it does not make sense to me that you would want to pursue Chromium, in my opinion it is not worth the trouble and waste of time.
I generally use firefox esr as my main browser but was recently considering switching to chromium so I don't know how it does on graphs in general. In the past if I've had a problem with firefox not displaying something I could usually view it in chromium.

Well, you could just use what works, now you have both installed, if one does not display something then try the other, if both don't display the same site or images, then probably it is poor website design, a very common thing now a days.
Please Read What we expect you have already Done
Google knows a lot, and
"If God had wanted computers to work all the time, He wouldn't have invented RESET buttons"
…one flew east, one flew west,
One flew over the cuckoo’s nest.
cuckooflew
 
Posts: 550
Joined: 2018-05-10 19:34
Location: Some where out west

Re: Some graphs don't display on chromium on latimes.com

Postby Shamak » 2020-07-15 02:07

ruwolf wrote:They are SVGs.
Do you see another SVGs?
E.g. click to Original file link here Commons.WikiMedia.org/wiki/File:SVG_logo_h.svg

When I click "original file" on the page the big SVG logo fills up the screen. So yes, I can see it.
Shamak
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2018-04-14 00:33

Re: Some graphs don't display on chromium on latimes.com

Postby Shamak » 2020-07-15 02:16

cuckooflew wrote:Everything displays just fine using firefox, But I have not used chrome or chromium for years, for various reasons, and no way am I going to install it now to check, I am sure you say they don't display , then they don't display. There have been a lot of posts about Chrome, and Chromium, recently, various problems,..You say they do show with firefox
These do display on firefox esr.
There you go, it does not make sense to me that you would want to pursue Chromium, in my opinion it is not worth the trouble and waste of time.
I generally use firefox esr as my main browser but was recently considering switching to chromium so I don't know how it does on graphs in general. In the past if I've had a problem with firefox not displaying something I could usually view it in chromium.

Well, you could just use what works, now you have both installed, if one does not display something then try the other, if both don't display the same site or images, then probably it is poor website design, a very common thing now a days.

I have seen that current chromium thread where the update to chromium 83 was slow and crashed a lot. I observed that myself. But I did see a few posts saying much the same thing. That they had left chromium for firefox because of the trouble.
Shamak
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2018-04-14 00:33

Re: Some graphs don't display on chromium on latimes.com

Postby stevepusser » 2020-07-15 03:11

Hmmm...the graphs show up in the Sid version of Chromium I backported for MX Linux today, but I'm on xorg. AFAIK, the updated Buster version is nearly the same, except for disabled va-api, and I built against a backported icu 67 instead of Buster's 63. It should be available in my OBS repo in a few hours: https://build.opensuse.org/package/show ... m/chromium
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: LibreOffice 7.0.0, QMPlay2 20.07.04, Pale Moon 28.12.0, KeepassXC 2.6.0, Arqiver 0.6.0+git, Foliate 2.4.2
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11891
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Some graphs don't display on chromium on latimes.com

Postby Shamak » 2020-07-15 13:50

stevepusser wrote:Hmmm...the graphs show up in the Sid version of Chromium I backported for MX Linux today, but I'm on xorg. AFAIK, the updated Buster version is nearly the same, except for disabled va-api, and I built against a backported icu 67 instead of Buster's 63. It should be available in my OBS repo in a few hours: https://build.opensuse.org/package/show ... m/chromium

Ok, I installed it from your repo. The graphs still do not display. I also tried it in xorg but they still don't display. I confirmed I'm using 83.0.4103.116-3~obs using dpkg -s chromium.

Just to reiterate the graphs do display in snap chromium.
Shamak
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2018-04-14 00:33

Re: Some graphs don't display on chromium on latimes.com

Postby stevepusser » 2020-07-16 04:38

They also work for me on the stock Buster Chromium, even with Ublock Origin running.

Do you have any extensions that may have an effect on the graph display?
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: LibreOffice 7.0.0, QMPlay2 20.07.04, Pale Moon 28.12.0, KeepassXC 2.6.0, Arqiver 0.6.0+git, Foliate 2.4.2
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11891
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Some graphs don't display on chromium on latimes.com

Postby Shamak » 2020-07-16 13:57

stevepusser wrote:They also work for me on the stock Buster Chromium, even with Ublock Origin running.

Do you have any extensions that may have an effect on the graph display?

LastPass and Gnome Shell integration are the only extensions I have. I forgot to mention it but I've tried disabling them both (and have tried again). It doesn't help.
Shamak
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2018-04-14 00:33

Re: Some graphs don't display on chromium on latimes.com

Postby Shamak » 2020-07-19 14:17

This is odd. The website has pages for the individual counties of California with similar graphs. But these graphs show up in chromium (which I've set back to stock chromium). Here's the site for LA County. Maybe some weird fluke.

https://www.latimes.com/projects/califo ... es-county/
Shamak
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2018-04-14 00:33

Re: Some graphs don't display on chromium on latimes.com

Postby MagicPoulp » 2020-07-20 11:14

Do you see any error in the browser console? Or a failed HTTP requests in the netwok tab? THat is important to look at.

It is hard to understand if you installed Chrome from google's website, or if you installed chromium from debian. Now I read again, and I understand chromium.
I would stick to chromium if you can. It is more open source and linux friendly.

debian buster has 3 versions available. Try them with the --purge when uninstalling.
sudo apt-cache show chromium | grep Version
Version: 83.0.4103.116-3+b1
Version: 83.0.4103.116-1~deb10u3
Version: 80.0.3987.162-1~deb10u1

I would suggest uninstalling chrome/chormium and the extensions, and reinstalling the package.

Svg is a very established technology, and it is very strange that svg elements do not show up. Moreover, SVG elements are not hardware accelerated.

It is probable that your browser is using xwayland.

On debian, you can install different desktops. And at login you can choose between several ones.

It would be interesting to see if your chrome can display graphs on XFCE (sudo apt-get install xfce4).

If it shows up on XFCE and not in Gnome, then you have found a bug on Gnome.

Gnome is quite heavy and I am not using it. I use enlightenment also called e17 (buildable for wayland). THey claim that EFL is faster than GTK (the Gnome engine).

Maybe stevepusser has backports for e17 with wayland...
MagicPoulp
 
Posts: 377
Joined: 2018-11-05 21:30

Re: Some graphs don't display on chromium on latimes.com

Postby Shamak » 2020-07-20 17:24

MagicPoulp wrote:Do you see any error in the browser console?

I get these errors. The errors do not appear on other pages on that site with similar graphs.

Code: Select all
evented.js:140 Error: Failed to initialize WebGL
    at r._setupPainter (map.js:2071)
    at new r (map.js:414)
    at caCityMap.js:71
zt.fire @ mapbox-gl.js:29
map.js:416 Uncaught Error: Failed to initialize WebGL.
    at new r (map.js:416)
    at caCityMap.js:71


Or a failed HTTP requests in the netwok tab? THat is important to look at.

No failed http requests.

debian buster has 3 versions available. Try them with the --purge when uninstalling.
sudo apt-cache show chromium | grep Version
Version: 83.0.4103.116-3+b1
Version: 83.0.4103.116-1~deb10u3
Version: 80.0.3987.162-1~deb10u1

I only get

Version: 83.0.4103.116-1~deb10u3
Version: 80.0.3987.162-1~deb10u1

To be sure I did this first.

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

But those are the only versions of chromium that come up. In any case I followed your instructions but the graphs do not show up on either one.

I would suggest uninstalling chrome/chormium and the extensions, and reinstalling the package.

Done. Same result.

On debian, you can install different desktops. And at login you can choose between several ones.

It would be interesting to see if your chrome can display graphs on XFCE (sudo apt-get install xfce4).

If it shows up on XFCE and not in Gnome, then you have found a bug on Gnome.

I installed xfce. Same result.

Gnome is quite heavy and I am not using it. I use enlightenment also called e17 (buildable for wayland). THey claim that EFL is faster than GTK (the Gnome engine).

Maybe stevepusser has backports for e17 with wayland...

I'm happy to try if stevepusser has some.
Shamak
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2018-04-14 00:33

Re: Some graphs don't display on chromium on latimes.com

Postby Shamak » 2020-07-20 20:47

So in my previous post the error message indicated that webgl failed. Running chrome://gpu gives that webgl is disabled. And the Problems Detected says "GPU process was unable to boot: GPU access is disabled in chrome://settings."

So it sounds like (correct me if I'm wrong please) WebGL is a gpu process. Which requires Hardware acceleration. I have hardware acceleration disabled because Google Maps is unworkable with it on. I almost can't move the map around. Probably due to the age of my computer (2008 or so). I don't think it has a graphics card.

So to get the graphs to show I have to go to chrome://flags and enable the Override software rendering list. Then enable hardware acceleration. Then chrome://gpu shows that webgl is Hardware Accelerated. But as I say that makes Google Maps impossible and seems to make scrolling sluggish.

Interesting that firefox-esr on wayland seems to enable webgl. At least when I go to about:support it has a bunch of stuff listed under graphics under WebGL 1 and WebGL 2 (various WebGL 1 and WebGL 2 categories). And the graphs display. It's also worth pointing out that firefox-esr webgl fails on xorg according to about:support and the latimes.com graphs do not display either.
Shamak
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2018-04-14 00:33

Re: Some graphs don't display on chromium on latimes.com

Postby stevepusser » 2020-07-20 23:37

So the graphs work if you enable hardware acceleration? So...sort of fixed? Maybe someone makes an extension that lets you switch it on an off on the fly, if it doesn't need a restart.
The MX Linux repositories: Backports galore! If we don't have something, just ask and we'll try--we like challenges. New packages: LibreOffice 7.0.0, QMPlay2 20.07.04, Pale Moon 28.12.0, KeepassXC 2.6.0, Arqiver 0.6.0+git, Foliate 2.4.2
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 11891
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Some graphs don't display on chromium on latimes.com

Postby Shamak » 2020-07-20 23:54

stevepusser wrote:So the graphs work if you enable hardware acceleration? So...sort of fixed? Maybe someone makes an extension that lets you switch it on an off on the fly, if it doesn't need a restart.

And you have to go into chrome://flags and enable the Override software rendering list entry. It requires both.

"Overrides the built-in software rendering list and enables GPU-acceleration on unsupported system configurations. – Mac, Windows, Linux, Chrome OS, Android"

#ignore-gpu-blacklist

I'll check out the extension idea.
Shamak
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2018-04-14 00:33

Next

Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

fashionable