Aptitude upgrade.

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Aptitude upgrade.

Postby Noone_ » 2020-09-28 16:50

Hello,
After upgrading, the version is still 10, but not 10.5. Below is my sources.list file:
loc@debian:~$ cd /etc/apt
loc@debian:/etc/apt$ cat sources.list
#

# deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 10.4.0 _Buster_ - Official amd64 DVD Binary-1 20200509-10:26]/ buster contrib main

# deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 10.4.0 _Buster_ - Official amd64 DVD Binary-1 20200509-10:26]/ buster contrib main

deb http://deb.debian.org/debian/ buster main
deb-src http://deb.debian.org/debian/ buster main

deb http://security.debian.org/debian-security buster/updates main contrib
deb-src http://security.debian.org/debian-security buster/updates main contrib

# buster-updates, previously known as 'volatile'
deb http://deb.debian.org/debian/ buster-updates main contrib
deb-src http://deb.debian.org/debian/ buster-updates main contrib
#
deb https://repos.codelite.org/debian/ buster devel


loc@debian:/etc/apt$
loc@debian:~$ lsb_release -a
No LSB modules are available.
Distributor ID: Debian
Description: Debian GNU/Linux 10 (buster)
Release: 10
Codename: buster
loc@debian:~$
Please let me know why the version was not changed. Thank you very much for your helps.
Best regards,
Noone_
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2020-07-10 23:29

Re: Aptitude upgrade.

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-09-28 16:57

Check /etc/debian_version

And we're up to 10.6 now: https://www.debian.org/News/2020/20200926
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 12795
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Aptitude upgrade.

Postby fred44nl » 2020-09-28 17:04

try the following command:

Code: Select all
uname -a


and you should get something like this:

Code: Select all
Linux Debian 4.19.0-11-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.19.146-1 (2020-09-17) x86_64 GNU/Linux
Debian 10 - Buster on Compulab Fitlet2
User avatar
fred44nl
 
Posts: 203
Joined: 2018-07-14 08:54

Re: Aptitude upgrade.

Postby Noone_ » 2020-09-28 20:33

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Check /etc/debian_version

And we're up to 10.6 now: https://www.debian.org/News/2020/20200926

Thank you very much for your responses, and you are correct. Please see below:
loc@debian:~$ uname -a
Linux debian 4.19.0-11-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.19.146-1 (2020-09-17) x86_64 GNU/Linux
loc@debian:~$ cat /etc/debian_version
10.6
loc@debian:~$
Noone_
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2020-07-10 23:29

Re: Aptitude upgrade.

Postby Noone_ » 2020-09-28 20:37

fred44nl wrote:try the following command:

Code: Select all
uname -a


and you should get something like this:

Code: Select all
Linux Debian 4.19.0-11-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.19.146-1 (2020-09-17) x86_64 GNU/Linux

Thank you very much, just as you said.
Noone_
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2020-07-10 23:29

Re: Aptitude upgrade.

Postby Noone_ » 2020-10-16 23:34

Hello,
I think you all might have known that the Debian version is also shown in Information of System Settings/Hardware/System Info. Since I was unable to use attachment due to quota limitation, please click the link below to see the details:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/i4ufvp7221q8w ... f.png?dl=0
It's just an other option to view.
Noone_
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2020-07-10 23:29

Re: Aptitude upgrade.

Postby stevepusser » 2020-10-17 00:29

Noone_ wrote:Hello,
I think you all might have known that the Debian version is also shown in Information of System Settings/Hardware/System Info. Since I was unable to use attachment due to quota limitation, please click the link below to see the details:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/i4ufvp7221q8w ... f.png?dl=0
It's just an other option to view.


Sorry, but not every user will be using whatever desktop provides whatever GUI app you said "all might know". No, all will not know. That is why we default to the terminal commands, which should work for all users, especially when we have no idea what apps they have installed. It's not because of geeky elitism.
MX Linux packager and developer
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 12136
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: Aptitude upgrade.

Postby metreo » 2020-10-17 12:40

KDE's about doesn't give specific point release information. I would just check /etc/debian_version as has already been suggested. Not that I've ever had an issue with upstream updates not being applied.
User avatar
metreo
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2020-10-08 19:15

Re: Aptitude upgrade.

Postby Noone_ » 2020-10-19 16:11

stevepusser wrote:
Sorry, but not every user will be using whatever desktop provides whatever GUI app you said "all might know". No, all will not know. That is why we default to the terminal commands, which should work for all users, especially when we have no idea what apps they have installed. It's not because of geeky elitism.

Thank you for clearing the air. It was unintentional mistake. I should have mentioned the Cinnamon Desktop Environment in my quote.
Noone_
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2020-07-10 23:29


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests

fashionable