acpi

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

acpi

Postby Rob-H » 2020-10-18 16:56

Trying to boot Debian Testing with the acpi-off flag by pressing e at the grub menu. It does seem to boot with acpi off. however at the login screen I can't put in my password. It's like the keyboard isn't working.
If I reboot normally tI;m able to type in my password. Anyone have any ideas?
Rob-H
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2020-10-18 16:49

Re: acpi

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2020-10-18 17:32

Rob-H wrote:Trying to boot Debian Testing with the acpi-off flag

I presume you mean acpi=off? Why do you want to disable ACPI?

Rob-H wrote:It's like the keyboard isn't working

Yes, disabling ACPI can do that sometimes: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=212153
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 12795
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: acpi

Postby rrenzo » 2020-10-20 23:23

I've set acpi=off sometimes but some hardware sensors would dissapear i assume. not sure if it's the correct way of setting ACPI walktree in off state to fix an extra driver being loaded in the wrong order..
rrenzo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2013-08-03 18:35


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MagicPoulp and 15 guests

fashionable