(Solved) Strrange Line accross screen

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

(Solved) Strrange Line accross screen

Postby bookie » 2021-01-08 13:18

High guys!
I have several computers running debian 10 and they all seem to have the same problem....I have a line going accross the screen quite near the bottom. I just don't understand what is causing it...
When I login the screen goes black for a split second and that covers the screen down to the line and then my wallpaper takes over but this line is always visible even if I am on the internet.
I have removed the backround image to make it more clear what I mean....
I am trying to fix the attachment.
I keep getting Sorry, the board attachment quota has been reached? How can I attach something that is relevant to my problem?

bookie
Last edited by bookie on 2021-01-11 14:52, edited 1 time in total.
bookie
 
Posts: 327
Joined: 2007-12-07 11:49

Re: Strrange Line accross screen

Postby arochester » 2021-01-08 14:15

What Desktop Environment or Windows Manager are you using?

Is it some kind of Panel?

A link to a screenshot might help.
arochester
 
Posts: 1826
Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55

Re: Strrange Line accross screen

Postby sgage » 2021-01-08 20:10

arochester wrote:What Desktop Environment or Windows Manager are you using?

Is it some kind of Panel?

A link to a screenshot might help.


I have had this, or at least a very similar, problem caused by using the Compton compositor in MATE. Switching to Marco (Adaptive Compositor) solved it.
sgage
 
Posts: 79
Joined: 2013-03-10 21:00

Re: Strrange Line accross screen

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2021-01-08 20:30

bookie wrote:How can I attach something that is relevant to my problem?

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=123831
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 13062
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Strrange Line accross screen

Postby bookie » 2021-01-09 16:18

Hi guys :D
Thank you Head_on_a_Stick.
Ok the pic below is what my desktop looks like with out a background pic...
One can clearly see a line over the screen...

https://flic.kr/ps/3VqxD5

Does that make sense...?

bookie
P.S Well, I created a flickr account and added the link but it still isn't showing?
Last edited by bookie on 2021-01-11 11:52, edited 2 times in total.
bookie
 
Posts: 327
Joined: 2007-12-07 11:49

Re: Strrange Line accross screen

Postby bookie » 2021-01-09 17:07

Hi again!
I have now added three pics that show the line at the bottom..one from Internet...one without background and one with background. Just right click image and open in another tab...

bookie
bookie
 
Posts: 327
Joined: 2007-12-07 11:49

Re: Strrange Line accross screen

Postby bookie » 2021-01-11 10:42

Hi again!
I have now added four more pics which include comp2-1a, comp2-2a, comp3-1a, and comp3-2a.
These are from two more computers with xfce Debian 10.7 installed on and exactly the same problem.
This problem doesn't exist until I login...?

https://flic.kr/ps/3VqxD5

Has anyone any suggestions?
Three different computers with exactly the same problem?

bookie
Last edited by bookie on 2021-01-11 11:52, edited 1 time in total.
bookie
 
Posts: 327
Joined: 2007-12-07 11:49

Re: Strrange Line accross screen

Postby arochester » 2021-01-11 11:46

Unfortunately you have not been able to post ANY photographs which we can see.

Perhaps you should try something like https://imgur.com/ and then post a link to the photos.
arochester
 
Posts: 1826
Joined: 2010-12-07 19:55

Re: Strrange Line accross screen

Postby bookie » 2021-01-11 11:54

Hi again!
I posted the link how it was described...but now have just posted url...

bookie
bookie
 
Posts: 327
Joined: 2007-12-07 11:49

Re: Strrange Line accross screen

Postby sgage » 2021-01-11 12:08

bookie wrote:Hi again!
I have now added four more pics which include comp2-1a, comp2-2a, comp3-1a, and comp3-2a.
These are from two more computers with xfce Debian 10.7 installed on and exactly the same problem.
This problem doesn't exist until I login...?

https://flic.kr/ps/3VqxD5

Has anyone any suggestions?
Three different computers with exactly the same problem?

bookie


If you happen to be running MATE... That looks exactly like the issue I had with MATE. It was resolved by switching from the Compton compositor to Marco's Adaptive Software Compositor. You can set this in MATE Tweak.

If you are not running MATE, maybe it is something analogous.
sgage
 
Posts: 79
Joined: 2013-03-10 21:00

Re: Strrange Line accross screen

Postby bookie » 2021-01-11 12:13

Hi sgage :D
Thanks for your input but as stated Xfce...


bookie
bookie
 
Posts: 327
Joined: 2007-12-07 11:49

Re: Strrange Line accross screen

Postby bookie » 2021-01-11 14:47

Hi guys :D
This problem has been bugging me for a long time but some nice person didn't give up and it is now solved...
Take a look at this thread....https://nochkawtf.wordpress.com/2015/05 ... n-on-xfce/
I have just tested this on one computer and it worked straight away!! :D
Window Manager Tweaks....Compositor >"Show shadows under dock windows"
sgage you were on the right track...got me thinking! Thank you!

bookie
bookie
 
Posts: 327
Joined: 2007-12-07 11:49


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests

fashionable