sandbox error laucnhing AppImage applications

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

sandbox error laucnhing AppImage applications

Postby PsySc0rpi0n » 2021-02-17 18:28

Hello.

I've been getting some problems regarding these .AppImage files that seems to be coming more and more used nowadays. But usually these image files are executed in a sandboxed environment.
In my case, I'm trying to launch a password manager and I'm getting the following error:

Code: Select all
$ ./Bitwarden-1.24.6-x86_64.AppImage help
[32371:0217/175059.315220:FATAL:setuid_sandbox_host.cc(157)] The SUID sandbox helper binary was found, but is not configured correctly. Rather than run without sandboxing I'm aborting now. You need to make sure that /tmp/.mount_BitwarlogpeP/chrome-sandbox is owned by root and has mode 4755.
Trace/breakpoint trap


It runs if I give it the switch --no-sandbox but I wanted to use the sandbox environment because, well, if there is one, it should be used.

Any idea how to fix this?
User avatar
PsySc0rpi0n
 
Posts: 247
Joined: 2012-10-24 13:54
Location: Portugal

Re: sandbox error laucnhing AppImage applications

Postby sunrat » 2021-02-17 20:22

Did you try the solution suggested in the error message?
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 3424
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: sandbox error laucnhing AppImage applications

Postby PsySc0rpi0n » 2021-02-17 22:13

sunrat wrote:Did you try the solution suggested in the error message?


Yes. Such folder doesn't exist. I think it's a temporary folder that is just deleted when the application is not running, or something like that!
User avatar
PsySc0rpi0n
 
Posts: 247
Joined: 2012-10-24 13:54
Location: Portugal

Re: sandbox error laucnhing AppImage applications

Postby stevepusser » 2021-02-18 19:56

PsySc0rpi0n wrote:Hello.
....

Any idea how to fix this?


Sure, run a Liquorix kernel! :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Or I know you can set a Debian kernel so that it won't show the error, either, but I'll let you search for the answer. I know it's the same solution as for Chromium-type browsers like Vivaldi and Brave, because those AppImages are using an Electron bundle inside that includes Chromium as the web language runner thingy.
MX Linux packager and developer
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 12237
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: sandbox error laucnhing AppImage applications

Postby PsySc0rpi0n » 2021-02-20 17:44

stevepusser wrote:
PsySc0rpi0n wrote:Hello.
....

Any idea how to fix this?


Sure, run a Liquorix kernel! :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:


I don't want a Liquorix kernel. I'm no gamer nor even related to multimedia.

stevepusser wrote:Or I know you can set a Debian kernel so that it won't show the error, either, but I'll let you search for the answer. I know it's the same solution as for Chromium-type browsers like Vivaldi and Brave, because those AppImages are using an Electron bundle inside that includes Chromium as the web language runner thingy.


Hum, I don't want to just hide the error. I would like to genuinely fix it.

I understand very little or nothing about what you just said of Electrum bundle and Chromium web language runner.
For me Electrum is a crypto currency wallet. :p

Anyways, setting a Debian kernel so that it won't show the error, is not fixing the error, is only hiding it. If you know of a solution, I would prefer some guidance on it!

Thanks
Psy
User avatar
PsySc0rpi0n
 
Posts: 247
Joined: 2012-10-24 13:54
Location: Portugal

Re: sandbox error laucnhing AppImage applications

Postby stevepusser » 2021-02-22 19:02

ELECTRON, I wrote.

I don't think I can help you when you can't even get that right.

It's a commonly asked question, so you need to work on your Google-Fu. It's so common we added the "Chromium Sandboxing kernel fix" to the MX Linux Tweak GUI.

I thought Debian users used it because most things are DIY, not handed to them like in MX...
MX Linux packager and developer
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 12237
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: sandbox error laucnhing AppImage applications

Postby stevepusser » 2021-02-22 19:40

Here's a question today on the MX forum's about why it works OOTB on MX and not other Debian distros that may enlighten you: https://forum.mxlinux.org/viewtopic.php ... 63#p624363
MX Linux packager and developer
User avatar
stevepusser
 
Posts: 12237
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53

Re: sandbox error laucnhing AppImage applications

Postby Head_on_a_Stick » 2021-02-23 05:12

See also https://docs.appimage.org/user-guide/tr ... oxing.html

The OP should note that enabling kernel.unprivileged_userns_clone exposes a huge attack surface in the kernel, which is why it is disabled by default in Debian.

A better solution may be to run the AppImage under firejail instead. The best solution is not to use AppImages at all — GUIX, Nix, pkgsrc & RavenPorts are all better alternatives IMO.
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
 
Posts: 13317
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: sandbox error laucnhing AppImage applications

Postby PsySc0rpi0n » 2021-02-24 19:23

Ok, thank you all.

I'm not going to enable any feature and expose my machine to attacks of any sorts, so I will follow @Head_on_a_Stick advice. Won't use AppImages at all.

Thanks
Psy
User avatar
PsySc0rpi0n
 
Posts: 247
Joined: 2012-10-24 13:54
Location: Portugal

Re: sandbox error laucnhing AppImage applications

Postby sunrat » 2021-02-24 20:44

PsySc0rpi0n wrote:Won't use AppImages at all.


Flatpaks and Snaps are worse from a wasted resources point of view, probably insecure as well especially from their download sites. I avoid all containerised packages generally but have 2 Appimages which have very specific usage and have used each one once. I'd never use Snap or Flatpak.
Appimages are the least bad containerised applications IMO.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!
User avatar
sunrat
 
Posts: 3424
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests

fashionable