Debian (Etch) for my AMD64?

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Debian (Etch) for my AMD64?

Postby Carlosinfl » 2005-08-31 13:50

I am getting ready to buy a new server system for my home and was wondering if I would have any problems running "Etch" on a AMD64 CPU and if there was a 64 bit version or just the 32 bit?

Thanks for any info.
Carlosinfl
 
Posts: 889
Joined: 2005-02-05 06:11
Location: Orlando, FL

Postby Carlosinfl » 2005-09-04 02:36

...anyone?
Carlosinfl
 
Posts: 889
Joined: 2005-02-05 06:11
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Debian (Etch) for my AMD64?

Postby czadman » 2005-09-04 06:29

Carloswill wrote:I am getting ready to buy a new server system for my home and was wondering if I would have any problems running "Etch" on a AMD64 CPU and if there was a 64 bit version or just the 32 bit?

Thanks for any info.

There is amd64 version of "etch" and should be no problems with install it on amd64 machine. But remember you'll notice liitle problems with things like flash plugin, java plugin and win32 codecs and some linux games. But all of those thigns are usable on this architecture.
czadman
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2005-07-19 09:51

Postby Carlosinfl » 2005-09-04 07:04

I can still use regular 32 bit "Etch" if I want to avoid those issues, right?
Carlosinfl
 
Posts: 889
Joined: 2005-02-05 06:11
Location: Orlando, FL

Postby czadman » 2005-09-04 07:47

Carloswill wrote:I can still use regular 32 bit "Etch" if I want to avoid those issues, right?

Exactly, but you may use 64 bit "Etch" with some 32 bit packages like firefox or mozilla and maybe mplayer or even install second 32 bit system in chroot environment especially for running 32 bit application if you need.
In my opinion it is worthy to take adventage of 64 bit architecture.
czadman
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2005-07-19 09:51

Postby Carlosinfl » 2005-09-04 14:10

So you're saying that I should go with Debian 64 bit OS inspite of the problems with Flash and others?
Carlosinfl
 
Posts: 889
Joined: 2005-02-05 06:11
Location: Orlando, FL

Postby czadman » 2005-09-04 16:56

You should to familiarize with this howto and decide whether you want to do some work necessary to run applications/plugins which have not 64-bit support. It's up to you.
czadman
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2005-07-19 09:51


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests

fashionable