Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Total Noob, have some stupid questions

If none of the specific sub-forums seem right for your thread, ask here.
RWIndiana

Total Noob, have some stupid questions

#1 Post by RWIndiana »

Hello everyone, I'm completely new to Linux. For someone who considers himself pretty savvy when it comes to Windows and even DOS, Linux just plain makes me feel stupid! I guess I can't expect too much of myself yet, being that it has not been 24 hours since I first experienced Linux and have already resolved several problems myself (though googling for help is so very confusing) involving the network and sharing my Windows internet connection.

Okay, first question I guess: I have Netzero as an ISP, and now that it supports Linux (or Lindows/Linspire anyway), I thought I would try to use it on my new little Debian laptop (actually an old Windows laptop). I installed the netzero.deb file using dpkg -i, but I can't find the stinkin thing anywhere! Where do I find and access/run the netzero software? I also installed a dhcp client of some kind and can't find that either. But I changed to a static IP anyway so I don't really need it. Is there a way to uninstall it (if I can find it)?

Second question: I just remembered that I have a Compact Flash card in a CF adapter in my laptop and I tried to see if I could find that just now and I don't see it. I looked on "computer" and then in "file system" but can't see anything that looks like it. Do I have to install a CF driver of some kind?

Okay third and stupidest question: The time on my desktop is an hour off, and all I can find out how to change is the date. Grr.

I have a lot more where these came from but I forgot them all.

dawgie