Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

I'm never able to add anything without errors...

If none of the specific sub-forums seem right for your thread, ask here.

I'm never able to add anything without errors...

#1 Post by Guest »

I'm a novice to Linux, but very interested in learning. I currently have a machine setup with i686-pc-linux-gnu. A friend did the initial installation for me so I could run MRTG to monitor some of my routers. He is out of the picture, so I'm not really sure what all he did or did not do during the installation.

Since, I've wanted to load some other things to trial such as MySql and Free Radius. Each time, I've downloaded the tar files and followed the various "How To" docs to do the installation. Everytime, I get errors in during the "./configuration ... make" process which results in only frustration because I'm stumped by Linux vs. the application I'm trying to learn in the first place. Typically, the error is resulting from some library file not installed on the system.

To my questions:

1. I do have some knowledge of UNIX from about 5 yrs. ago which gets me through moving around the file structure, but is the Debian distribution intended for more advanced Linux users?

2. Perhaps my friend just rushed the installation and that is why I'm running into problems. Is there a way I can easily recover to a load that is stable, complete, and a bit more user friendly for someone trying to learn? How would I go about doing that without loosing the few things that I have running that are working: MRTG and BB?