Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

A few newbie questions

If none of the specific sub-forums seem right for your thread, ask here.
agentsmith23

A few newbie questions

#1 Post by agentsmith23 »

I am new to linux and i have been trying out different distros. I used fedora4 mostly the others never stayed on my system long i just didn't like them. debian seems pretty nice so far but I have a few questions about the way it works:

1.Is there a way to log in as root through the main login screen? I am the only one who uses the comp and i prefer to be under root.

2.aptitude seems to be alot like the yum command in fedora but with aptitude i am almost always asked to put in one of the two DVDs when i install software. Is there a way around that?

3.Why am i stuck at 800x600? When i installed debian i configured it for my monitor, 17"LCD with a native res of 1280x1024.

4.Is there a way to switch between Gnome and KDE from the command prompt? In fedora "switchdesk" would allow me switch from the command prompt. Is there a similar command in debian?

I am sure i will have more questions later. Thanks for any help anyone can provide.

lestoil

debian newbie questions

#2 Post by lestoil »

1)debian by default allows user to login to desktop but you can edit gdm setup or kdm setup to allow root to login. Read man gdm aand man kdm.
2)You have /etc/apt/sources.list file that has dvds as sources then the web would be used if apt can't find pkg on dvds. you can always comment out the dvd entries and only use the web sources. This assumes you have other debian sites in this file.