Downloading Packages / Updates from Debian Website?

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Downloading Packages / Updates from Debian Website?

Postby John Biles » 2006-03-06 21:53

Hello Everyone,
As i couldn't get my modem working with Debian, my computer remains dual boot with "Windows XP" and "Debian" so at least i can download new or updated Packages through "Windows" and burn them on a CD to transfer to Debian.
My Question is there an expected time on when we will be able to download Packages / Updates from the Debian Website which is being updated and asks that you search Google for updates.

:?:
John Biles
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 2006-01-16 21:48
Location: Australia, Ballan Victoria

Postby domecq » 2006-03-06 22:02

If you go to this webpage, you could notice that the last 2 links are iso images with recent updates that are available in iso format from Debian.

Does it answer your question?
User avatar
domecq
Moderator Team Member
 
Posts: 560
Joined: 2005-10-18 00:53
Location: Montréal, Canada

Postby John Biles » 2006-03-07 02:14

Hello domecq,
The Debian website download area won't allow anyone to download single Packages because their being migrated or something like that.
I am on dialup and don't want to have to download 500-600magabits of data just to get 1 package.
What I am asking is does anyone know when the so called migration will finish and we can start downloading separate packages again from Debian. :?:
John Biles
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 2006-01-16 21:48
Location: Australia, Ballan Victoria

Postby domecq » 2006-03-07 02:28

Hmmm... sorry, I didn't understand exactly what you asked before.

If you're looking for a single package to download, here's what you can do, go to this page: http://www.debian.org/distrib/packages and enter the name of the package you're looking for in the search field under the section "Search package directories" (if you need, you have a few options there to narrow your search or change to another distribution that is not the default - stable). Then, you'll be provided with a name or more that matches your search request. Click on the on the available link under the name (e.g. "stable" if you chose "stable" for distribution, then that's the link you'll get), and finally, click on the link for the architecture (e.g. "i386").

I just tried and it's working.

I hope that helps.

Cheers,

domecq

UPDATE: by the way, I thought you could find this site useful.
User avatar
domecq
Moderator Team Member
 
Posts: 560
Joined: 2005-10-18 00:53
Location: Montréal, Canada

Postby John Biles » 2006-03-07 03:19

Thank you I'll Try it :D
John Biles
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 2006-01-16 21:48
Location: Australia, Ballan Victoria


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

fashionable