Bad Video Drivers/ what should i do

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Bad Video Drivers/ what should i do

Postby sonicn » 2006-05-16 02:17

I have a dell Latitude Cpx H craptop and i have just installed debian on it. As usual, dell is stupid and never tells me what X server driver it uses, so i naturally have to reinstall debian more than 6 times. This time, after i chose all my extra packages, my X server doesn't work again, and i can't get the crap top to get to the point where i can show you guys the bad output. I remember from looking at it that the output said that there were no devices, so i just got more confused.

Please Help Me.

PS i just want to go wardriving with the thing, i bought a Buffalo wireless card and i don't know what software to use with debian. Thanks again.
sonicn
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2006-05-16 02:12

Postby domecq » 2006-05-16 02:30

You need to provide more information.

We'll have to rely on some command line to get the necessary information, so let's do the following:
1. Insert a floppy.
2. Mount the floppy with this command:
mount -t vfat /dev/fd0 /floppy
3. Copy your XF86Config-4 file into the floppy with this command:
cp /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 /floppy/
4. Create a file with the contents of dmesg to the floppy with this command:
dmesg > /floppy/dmesg.txt
5. Copy any log file under /var/log/ that you consider related to xfree, into the floppy with this command:
cp /var/log/<file name> /floppy
6. Unmount the floppy with this command:
umount /dev/fd0 /floppy

Then, from another computer, paste the contents here.
An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind (Gandhi)
User avatar
domecq
Moderator Team Member
 
Posts: 560
Joined: 2005-10-18 00:53
Location: Montréal, Canada

Postby sonicn » 2006-05-16 02:55

domecq wrote:Y
1. Insert a floppy.
2. Mount the floppy with this command:
mount -t vfat /dev/fd0 /floppy

when i do this, it says

mount: mount point does not exist

now what?
sonicn
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2006-05-16 02:12

Postby utrrrongeeb » 2006-05-16 09:55

It sounds like the directory /floppy/ doesn't exist. You can try replacing /floppy in the mount command with /mnt/fd0. If that doesn't work, run mkdir /mnt/fd0.
User avatar
utrrrongeeb
 
Posts: 255
Joined: 2006-05-14 09:48
Location: Eastern Canada

Postby sonicn » 2006-05-16 23:04

now it says special device does not exist
sonicn
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2006-05-16 02:12

Postby sonicn » 2006-05-16 23:23

nevermind all, i just gave up and now i'm gonna install xp.

thanks anyway
sonicn
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2006-05-16 02:12


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests

fashionable