USB760 on Debian Squeeze with no GUI?

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

USB760 on Debian Squeeze with no GUI?

Postby Sxyh » 2011-08-02 18:08

Okay, so I have a Verizon Novatel USB760 and a Eeepc 2G web surf running Debian 6.0.2 (Squeeze) and a kernel version of 2.6.32. Now I've read a lot of other post on a lot of other forums on how to get the USB760 to work but I'm just using a command line Debian with no GUI and everything I've read so far ends up needing some graphical interface software to use, and everything else hasn't ended up working. So is there any simple way that can easily be added to some script to connect to the USB760 when I plug it in? I'll provide any further details that may be needed my goal in the long run is to get it running on a Guruplug running an updated kernel but for now I just want some practice with it on the eeepc so any help would be appreciated thank you.

P.S. I'm relatively new to Linux i have some experience but not an over-whelming amount so if you could explain each step i would appreciate it. =]]
Sxyh
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2011-08-02 17:40

Re: USB760 on Debian Squeeze with no GUI?

Postby unicyclist » 2011-08-02 18:25

Read the man page on "pon". That's what I use :)
Or you can install wvdial. That would probably be easier for you.
unicyclist
 
Posts: 43
Joined: 2006-10-16 14:46
Location: Alaska

Re: USB760 on Debian Squeeze with no GUI?

Postby Sxyh » 2011-08-02 20:11

Thank you, I will look into them and post about any problems I run into if any. Hopefully it ll works out.
Sxyh
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2011-08-02 17:40

Re: USB760 on Debian Squeeze with no GUI?

Postby Sxyh » 2011-08-04 16:16

It took some time to get the configuration file together and correct but i got it working using wvdial but i was wondering if there was anyway to get wvdial to run in the background instead of having to open a new terminal session? it's fine if there's not but it'd be easier to do on the guruplug if there is. and for anyone wanting the config file for this i'll post it below =]]

[Dialer Defaults]
Init1 = ATZ
Init2 = ATQ V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
Init3 = ATQ V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
Modem Type = Analog Modem
Phone = #777
ISDN = 0
Username = xxxxxxxxxx@vzw3g.com
Dial Command ATX1DT
Password = (just put whatever you want it doesn't matter)
Modem = /dev/ttyUSB0
Carrier Check = yes
Baud = 9600

[Dialer isp1apn]
Init5 = AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP",""

[Dialer isp2]
Auto Reconnect = yes
Username = xxxxxxxxxx@vzw3g.com
Password = (just put whatever you want it doesn't matter)
Phone = #777

[Dialer isp1]
Auto Reconnect = yes
Username = xxxxxxxxxx@vzw3g.com
Password = (just put whatever you want it doesn't matter)
Phone = #777

[Dialer isp2apn]
Init5 = AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP",""

[Dialer pin]
Init1 = AT+CPIN
Sxyh
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2011-08-02 17:40


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

fashionable