Help with dual boot

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Help with dual boot

Postby mcflurry4321 » 2006-06-07 00:30

Sorry if this is somewhere else in the forums, but I couldn't find it.

I just installed Debian for AMD64. I used the DVD ISO's. Debian works fine, but the problem is that my Windows won't boot when I choose to instead of Debian. It goes through the windows splash and then shortly displays something like autodisk is missing and one other thing that I can't remember and the just restarts. Any ideas?
mcflurry4321
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2006-06-03 08:00

Postby dawgie » 2006-06-07 01:31

Please post your /boot/grub/menu.lst or /etc/lilo.conf
and tell us what is your drive layout.
User avatar
dawgie
 
Posts: 431
Joined: 2004-06-16 21:30
Location: New Hampshire USA

Postby mcflurry4321 » 2006-06-07 03:16

Well I can bring that up, but it's on my other computer. How would I get it over to this computer without typing it all in here?

And my drive layout is as follows:

|-----------Windows partition-----------|--Linux--|-swap-|

Is that what you were asking?
mcflurry4321
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2006-06-03 08:00

Postby mcflurry4321 » 2006-06-07 13:04

If anyone can help me I would really appreciate it. I hardly know how to use Linux, so without Windows working on my computer I have a worthless computer sitting there.
mcflurry4321
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2006-06-03 08:00

Postby nayoo » 2006-06-07 13:24

Can you log into that Linux computer now?

Is the computer connected to internet?
nayoo
 
Posts: 320
Joined: 2006-03-28 01:51

Postby mcflurry4321 » 2006-06-07 17:48

Well I'm at work right now, but once I am home I can use the Linux portion of my computer and it is connected to the internet. Although whenever I try to run apt-get update it returns all kinds of errors and doesn't do anything.
mcflurry4321
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2006-06-03 08:00

Postby nayoo » 2006-06-08 00:42

mcflurry4321 wrote:Well I'm at work right now, but once I am home I can use the Linux portion of my computer and it is connected to the internet. Although whenever I try to run apt-get update it returns all kinds of errors and doesn't do anything.


Dont worry about apt-get update first. Please make sure you CAN connect to internet from Debian so-called that problematic PC.

After you can connect to internet from that PC using Linux, you may want to troubleshoot and post the questions here at the same time with screen outputs.

It might be easier for us to look into it.

Just my suggestion.
nayoo
 
Posts: 320
Joined: 2006-03-28 01:51


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

fashionable