Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

"top" and HyperThreading

If none of the specific sub-forums seem right for your thread, ask here.
Post Reply
Message
Author
HyperDevil
Posts: 8
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:29

"top" and HyperThreading

#1 Post by HyperDevil »

Hello,

I have a Pentium 4 HT 3 ghz.
When i use the "top" command to view the processes i only see 1 CPU.
I know that HT does not mean you have 2 physical CPU's, but still i want to see which process works on which "core".
Anybody know how i can see that?

User avatar
cataract
Posts: 28
Joined: 2006-03-31 12:24

#2 Post by cataract »

if you have downloaded the compiled kernel of debian, i think that HT is not enabled.
to check it, you can go to /usr/src/your_kernel/ and make as su

Code: Select all

make menuconfig
and then go to processor type and features.

i have compiled my kernel, in able to use HT.
maybe there are some other ways to enable it, i don't know.
google it, if there is any way to enable it, without compile the kernel.

i think smp kernel is a solution, but i am not sure.
:)
Debian--Etch
Image

HyperDevil
Posts: 8
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:29

#3 Post by HyperDevil »

My server did not boot with the SMP kernel, it just hangs.
I use the: Linux version 2.6.8-3-686 (root@lart) (gcc version 3.3.5 (Debian 1:3.3.5-13)) #1
HT is i think enabled.

User avatar
cataract
Posts: 28
Joined: 2006-03-31 12:24

#4 Post by cataract »

go to /usr/src/your_kernel/ and make as su

Code: Select all

make menuconfig 
and then go to processor type and features.

Also as su, you can see the output from /proc/cpuinfo and check if you have Hyper-Threading support.

If HT is enabled, you will see the processor 0 and processor 1
Debian--Etch
Image

HyperDevil
Posts: 8
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:29

#5 Post by HyperDevil »

cataract wrote:go to /usr/src/ and make as su

Code: Select all

make menuconfig 
and then go to processor type and features.

Also as su, you can see the output from /proc/cpuinfo and check if you have Hyper-Threading support.

If HT is enabled, you will see the processor 0 and processor 1
my /usr/src/your_kernel/ is empty. :?

CPUINFO:

processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 3
model name : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
stepping : 4
cpu MHz : 2994.312
cache size : 1024 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe pni monitor ds_cpl cid
bogomips : 5931.00
Last edited by HyperDevil on 2006-06-13 11:52, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
cataract
Posts: 28
Joined: 2006-03-31 12:24

#6 Post by cataract »

it is not empty :D in your_kernel i mean Linux-2.6.8-3-686 :D

HT is not enabled.

first of all, you must enable HT from the bios of your motherboard, then google it if there is any way to enable HT from the kernel without compile it. I think this can be done in suse and red hat.
Debian--Etch
Image

HyperDevil
Posts: 8
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:29

#7 Post by HyperDevil »

cataract wrote:it is not empty :D

HT is not enabled.

first of all, you must enable HT from the bios of your motherboard, then google it if there is any way to enable HT from the kernel without compile it. I think this can be done in suse and red hat.
Ok then i know it is not enabled.
I know 100% sure that it is enabled in the BIOS i double checked it.
I just googled a bit, but i cant find anything on how i can enable it without recompiling.
The strange thing is that my server wont boot with the SMP kernel.
:? and i have a Intel 875P serverboard with 2 GB DDR memory.

/usr/src/ is empty on my server :oops:

User avatar
cataract
Posts: 28
Joined: 2006-03-31 12:24

#8 Post by cataract »

so, recompile the kernel and make sure, that you will enable HT.
check those post to compile the new kernel :D http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?t=4468

about /usr/src/ i don't know why is empty. :?
try to see the folder as root. maybe the user you are trying to see it, don't have the rights to read those folders.
Debian--Etch
Image

HyperDevil
Posts: 8
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:29

#9 Post by HyperDevil »

cataract wrote:so, recompile the kernel and make sure, that you will enable HT.
check those post to compile the new kernel :D http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?t=4468

about /usr/src/ i don't know why is empty. :?
try to see the folder as root. maybe the user you are trying to see it, don't have the rights to read those folders.
hehe beautiful... i tryed to compile my kernel before but it has no use.
I boot from a softwareraid set.. and it is almost impossible to try to get it to work.
Last time i tryed to recompile it, i had to ask a friend of mine to do it.
He has recompiled hundreds of kernels and he did not get the kernel starting from a software raid. (he worked on it almost 40 hours).
Thanks for the help anyway guys i appriciate it :)

User avatar
cataract
Posts: 28
Joined: 2006-03-31 12:24

#10 Post by cataract »

ok. just build a new kernel :D
Debian--Etch
Image

HyperDevil
Posts: 8
Joined: 2005-09-24 12:29

#11 Post by HyperDevil »

cataract wrote:ok. just build a new kernel :D
I wish! :)

Post Reply