Strange tty problem in debian sid

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

Strange tty problem in debian sid

Postby amc » 2006-07-26 12:26

well, first that's my /etc/inittab:
Code: Select all
amc@debian:~$ cat /etc/inittab
# /etc/inittab: init(8) configuration.
# $Id: inittab,v 1.91 2002/01/25 13:35:21 miquels Exp $

# The default runlevel.
id:5:initdefault:

# Boot-time system configuration/initialization script.
# This is run first except when booting in emergency (-b) mode.
si::sysinit:/etc/init.d/rcS

# What to do in single-user mode.
~~:S:wait:/sbin/sulogin

# /etc/init.d executes the S and K scripts upon change
# of runlevel.
#
# Runlevel 0 is halt.
# Runlevel 1 is single-user.
# Runlevels 2-5 are multi-user.
# Runlevel 6 is reboot.

l0:0:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 0
l1:1:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 1
l2:2:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 2
l3:3:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 3
l4:4:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 4
l5:5:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 5
l6:6:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 6
# Normally not reached, but fallthrough in case of emergency.
z6:6:respawn:/sbin/sulogin

# What to do when CTRL-ALT-DEL is pressed.
ca:12345:ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -t1 -a -r now

# Action on special keypress (ALT-UpArrow).
#kb::kbrequest:/bin/echo "Keyboard Request--edit /etc/inittab to let this work."
# What to do when the power fails/returns.
pf::powerwait:/etc/init.d/powerfail start
pn::powerfailnow:/etc/init.d/powerfail now
po::powerokwait:/etc/init.d/powerfail stop

# /sbin/getty invocations for the runlevels.
#
# The "id" field MUST be the same as the last
# characters of the device (after "tty").
#
# Format:
#  <id>:<runlevels>:<action>:<process>
#
# Note that on most Debian systems tty7 is used by the X Window System,
# so if you want to add more getty's go ahead but skip tty7 if you run X.
#
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty1
2:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
3:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty3
#4:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty4
#5:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty5
#6:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty6

# Example how to put a getty on a serial line (for a terminal)
#
#T0:23:respawn:/sbin/getty -L ttyS0 9600 vt100
#T1:23:respawn:/sbin/getty -L ttyS1 9600 vt100

# Example how to put a getty on a modem line.
#
#T3:23:respawn:/sbin/mgetty -x0 -s 57600 ttyS3



you can see that i have 3 ttys enabled
but i have only one available

why's that?
ouim.org
eilo.org
trance.nu

using debian lenny
User avatar
amc
 
Posts: 66
Joined: 2006-06-08 17:05
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

Re: Strange tty problem in debian sid

Postby brain » 2006-07-26 12:44

amc wrote:
Code: Select all
# The default runlevel.
id:5:initdefault:

# Format:
#  <id>:<runlevels>:<action>:<process>
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty1
2:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
3:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty3


you can see that i have 3 ttys enabled
but i have only one available

why's that?

You have a default runlevel of 5 (id:5:initdefault:), and tty2 & tty3 is only initialized when using runlevel 2 & 3 (2:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2).
User avatar
brain
 
Posts: 253
Joined: 2006-04-25 17:15

Postby amc » 2006-07-26 14:01

thanks :)
it worx
ouim.org
eilo.org
trance.nu

using debian lenny
User avatar
amc
 
Posts: 66
Joined: 2006-06-08 17:05
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

fashionable