Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

how to install virtualbox perfectly

If none of the specific sub-forums seem right for your thread, ask here.
Message
Author
dzz
Posts: 257
Joined: 2007-02-05 20:39
Location: Devon, England

Re: how to install virtualbox perfectly

#16 Post by dzz »

I'm mostly using wheezy now and today need virtualbox installed. Used official repos.

Code: Select all

# dpkg -l|grep virtualbox|awk '{print $1 " " $2 " " $3}'
ii virtualbox 4.1.18-dfsg-2
ii virtualbox-dkms 4.1.18-dfsg-2
ii virtualbox-fuse 4.1.18-dfsg-2
ii virtualbox-guest-additions-iso 4.1.18-1
ii virtualbox-source 4.1.18-dfsg-2
Kernel headers are installed. No errors noticed during installation. Module is apparently built.

Code: Select all

# lsmod|grep -i  vbox
vboxpci                18742  0 
vboxnetadp             25431  0 
vboxnetflt             23260  0 
vboxdrv               165027  3 vboxnetflt,vboxnetadp,vboxpci
User is in group "vboxusers". The machine has been rebooted.

Is it in the menu (xfce)? No. Sysv-rc-conf shows 2 virtualbox services active.

Code: Select all

:~$ virtualbox
bash: virtualbox: command not found

:~$ VirtualBox
bash: VirtualBox: command not found
AARGH! No wonder h2's scripts are popular.

User avatar
nadir
Posts: 5961
Joined: 2009-10-05 22:06
Location: away

Re: how to install virtualbox perfectly

#17 Post by nadir »

probably:

Code: Select all

apt-get install virtualbox-qt
Such problems don't get solved by scripts via magic. In my humble experience. That is: I got a problem and describe it. Someone says: Ah, oh, uff... cool script; does everything. I use the script and it fails too (but when i failed, i usually -well: sometimes- remember what i did. I think i prefer that). That was a pointless rant, of curse. Give the *qt a try, it may succeed, it may fail. I am not sure.
"I am not fine with it, so there is nothing for me to do but stand aside." M.D.

dzz
Posts: 257
Joined: 2007-02-05 20:39
Location: Devon, England

Re: how to install virtualbox perfectly

#18 Post by dzz »

Thanks nadir.. done that, it's in the menu now. But it's sure not my day today..

Code: Select all

:~$ VirtualBox
Floating point exception

User avatar
nadir
Posts: 5961
Joined: 2009-10-05 22:06
Location: away

Re: how to install virtualbox perfectly

#19 Post by nadir »

dzz wrote:Thanks nadir.. done that, it's in the menu now. But it's sure not my day today..

Code: Select all

:~$ VirtualBox
Floating point exception
that is close to being funny. Wtf?
Sorry, i got no idea.
"I am not fine with it, so there is nothing for me to do but stand aside." M.D.

User avatar
nadir
Posts: 5961
Joined: 2009-10-05 22:06
Location: away

Re: how to install virtualbox perfectly

#20 Post by nadir »

the best i can offer:

Code: Select all

$ dpkg -l | grep virtualbox
ii  virtualbox                           4.1.18-dfsg-2                      i386         x86 virtualization solution - base binaries
ii  virtualbox-dkms                      4.1.18-dfsg-2                      all          x86 virtualization solution - kernel module sources for dkms
ii  virtualbox-qt                        4.1.18-dfsg-2                      i386         x86 virtualization solution - Qt based user interface
molloy@umbrella:~/Build/diaspora/build_subexec/ruby-subexec/ruby-subexec
which means i got much less installed than you, same version like you (as far i see). Perhaps remove some of the others?
Oh, and i am not part of vboxusers.

-
lol: what is going on with my PS1 ? oh my ... i will go sleeping ...
"I am not fine with it, so there is nothing for me to do but stand aside." M.D.

dzz
Posts: 257
Joined: 2007-02-05 20:39
Location: Devon, England

Re: how to install virtualbox perfectly

#21 Post by dzz »

I got Trinity Desktop installed as well as xfce.. now I find it works in a Trinity session but not xfce.. WTF?

Xfce otherwise works fine.. Like I said, it's not my day today..

User avatar
nadir
Posts: 5961
Joined: 2009-10-05 22:06
Location: away

Re: how to install virtualbox perfectly

#22 Post by nadir »

You know it, i think, but anyway: I use xfce too.

To me virtualbox is of the applications which can have have very weird problems (things no one else seem to have, for unknown reasons, with strange workarounds, with a lot of wtf's, in plain words). That might be me, cause it is a very complex application too (and i am not of the ones who read much docus). I wouldn't worry much about it, but use a workaround which, you might have guessed what comes, works.
Check every other day, and suddenly it is solved without any (obvious) reason.
"I am not fine with it, so there is nothing for me to do but stand aside." M.D.

uguradiyaman
Posts: 1
Joined: 2013-05-21 17:37

Re: how to install virtualbox perfectly

#23 Post by uguradiyaman »

either (as root user)
edit /etc/modules and add these to end of file

vboxdrv
vboxnetflt
vboxnetadp

and reboot or open a terminal as root and run "#modprobe vbox...." for all options

OR

edit /etc/rc.local and add these to end of file

modprobe vboxdrv
modprobe vboxnetflt
modprobe vboxnetadp

and run "#/etc/rc.local" and no need to reboot

nemoinis
Posts: 2
Joined: 2013-09-26 23:40

Re: how to install virtualbox perfectly

#24 Post by nemoinis »

thanks, uguradiyaman, that works fine.
To recap (for new readers):
-if you are using wheezy, jessie or later Debian distros, AND
-you are using a virtualbox package downloaded from Oracle instead of the one from the debian repo, AND
-you have installed "dkms" but not "virtualbox-dkms" (since that would pull the wrong virtualbox package), AND
-you get the "you need to run /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup" error when trying to start a VM after a computer reboot, THEN

use uguradiyaman's solution above.
:)

Post Reply