Page 2 of 2

Re: Can we have a sticky for Sid?

PostPosted: 2014-04-21 07:03
by llivv
there's plenty of ways to borkup a dual boot system from either install.
stay in this forum long enough and you'll read most of them at least twice,
and only twice if you're one of the lucky ones.

Re: Can we have a sticky for Sid?

PostPosted: 2014-04-21 12:36
by ew-linux
llivv wrote:there's plenty of ways to borkup a dual boot system from either install.
stay in this forum long enough and you'll read most of them at least twice,
and only twice if you're one of the lucky ones.


I'm sure there is, but I have never managed to do that myself. And I'm always multibooting lots of distros. Each distro gets just 30 GB with me, and they share a huge data-partition which also serves as a backup-disk. Sure, you can mess up the boot of your main system, and you could find a way to format the partition where your main system resides.Things like that. But then again, if you think like that, then you can't do anything. Just make sure to have backup-routines that are so good that it never is a big deal if everything is lost. Because it's also possible get a harddisk-failure at some time.

Good backup-routines are always essential for worry-free computing, and obviously even more important when playing with Sid. The best thing for a newbie would obviously be to find an old second laptop which they dedicate to all sorts of experiments. That way they can avoid taking it to their main computers before they are sure they can handle it...

Re: Can we have a sticky for Sid?

PostPosted: 2014-04-22 13:27
by llivv
ew-linux wrote:I'm sure there is
:lol:
I was going to reference the - installed grub to the mbr from two different disks - post
until I noticed a few minutes ago you posted in the thread already too. :lol:

Re: Can we have a sticky for Sid?

PostPosted: 2014-04-23 19:33
by ew-linux
llivv wrote:
ew-linux wrote:I'm sure there is
:lol:
I was going to reference the - installed grub to the mbr from two different disks - post
until I noticed a few minutes ago you posted in the thread already too. :lol:


:lol: Yes, but a messed up grub can be fixed. The installs that are already there, are still there.

Anyway, I always use one distro as a "master-grub". That is the one that is installed to the MBR. The other are installed to partition, or not at all. The OS-prober in my master-grub detects the other distros, so it doesn't matter what you do with the other grubs, as long as YOU DON'T INSTALL them in the MBR :)