Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Using the search function

Code of conduct, suggestions, and information on forums.debian.net.
james100

Using the search function

#1 Post by james100 »

Hi

I am just introducing myself as the newest member of this forum.

I have been using Linux for several months (since early February). I tried out various Linux distributions and for various reasons I concluded that Debian is most likely to meet my needs. I do not have access to the interent on my own PC, so I recently purchased the 5 volume DVD set of Debian Lenny. I understand that this gives me access to most (?all) of the Debian repositories, although I expect that there have been updates issued to many of the packages on the DVD set that I am unaware of. Using the DVD set has been much easier than downloading packages from the repository onto my USB (on another PC), and then trying to install them from that USB to my PC at home.

So, at present I am very happy with Debian, not that I feel that it requires my imprimatur, and look forward to learning more about it. I will probably have many questions in the future, as I try to break free from the way of doing things for many years on Windows, so I will ask for your indulgence now for any future questions that may appear to you to be unduly naive or not fully thought through.