HOWTO: Install X Window System and a Desktop Environment

Share your own howto's etc. Not for support questions!

to leafs or not two leafs

Postby llivv » 2007-03-12 17:03

Scotti
I think your tutorial is an "excellent one", period.(s)...

Note: sarge "XFree86" has been twicked extensively for use in debian (I think that is a Quote from the Debian reference manual) although I'm not positive I read it there.

meaning: if you download XFree86 source from
The XFree86 Project site, and install it on your debian system, it will not add "all" (the same defaults to the files) that you would have if you use the deb packages one gets by using apt.

And my opinion concerning a GUI (Windowing system) for XFree86:
for a new debian user Gnome or KDE are probably the easiest to install + the most tested + the easiest for the more experienced in this forum to give help to others having problems with there systems (for whatever reasons).
Of course, Etch is using Xorg and I will assume the same is true for Xorg, until I read different in the debian Etch documentation.
User avatar
llivv
 
Posts: 5614
Joined: 2007-02-14 18:10
Location: cold storage

Postby abstar » 2007-03-14 02:49

if i installed gdm. do i have to install x-window-system-core?

thanks
abstar
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2007-03-14 02:46

Postby Scotti » 2007-03-14 02:54

abstar wrote:if i installed gdm. do i have to install x-window-system-core?

thanks

Yes. If you want any sort of GUI environment you have to install x-window-system-core. It is the base package for all GUI software.
Scotti
Moderator Team Member
 
Posts: 312
Joined: 2005-11-08 01:13

Postby abstar » 2007-03-14 17:07

if i installed x-window-system-core, do i have to instal x.org

what is different between xserver-xorg and x-window-system-core xserver-xfree86?

thanks
abstar
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2007-03-14 02:46

Postby Scotti » 2007-03-14 17:15

abstar wrote:if i installed x-window-system-core, do i have to instal x.org

what is different between xserver-xorg and x-window-system-core xserver-xfree86?

thanks

When you type the command: apt-get install x-window-system-core, it installs everything you need to get the x server up and running, including xorg. It is a "virtual package", so that you don't have to type (or know) which packages are exactly needed. It does the hard work for you. :)

Xfree86 is older. Xorg is newer. That's the main difference. ;)
Scotti
Moderator Team Member
 
Posts: 312
Joined: 2005-11-08 01:13

Postby anti23 » 2007-03-22 03:12

frenchninja wrote:Thanks Scotti for writing this. Lately it seems that every second or third post on this forum is 'I got a black screen and no GUI'. Hopefully with a search, folk can get onto this guide first and save themselves some time.


im sorry but i didnt see a solution for that.

i actualy searched. found tons of threads but none ended iwth a solution.

i had that problem with gentoo and with debian now.
i get the gdm start message and so on and hten its blank
i can use str+alt+f1 to get to a console but what is the problems solution now ???
anti23
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2007-03-22 03:09

Postby Pobega » 2007-03-22 10:25

anti23 wrote:
frenchninja wrote:Thanks Scotti for writing this. Lately it seems that every second or third post on this forum is 'I got a black screen and no GUI'. Hopefully with a search, folk can get onto this guide first and save themselves some time.


im sorry but i didnt see a solution for that.

i actualy searched. found tons of threads but none ended iwth a solution.

i had that problem with gentoo and with debian now.
i get the gdm start message and so on and hten its blank
i can use str+alt+f1 to get to a console but what is the problems solution now ???

Try another DM; XDM and WDM come to mind.
User avatar
Pobega
 
Posts: 870
Joined: 2007-01-04 04:30
Location: New York

Postby anti23 » 2007-03-22 21:32

since i wanted kde over gnome anyway and i read i can do "tasks=standard, kde-desktop" i decided t install debian newly.

so i did all thestuff with that and went out for the day, when i came back everything was done. install grub and reboot. same problem.

just this time its not gdm but kdm.

my suse here has kdm and it works all fine. i also had the same problem with the gentoo install where it was IN the install when X was started.

should i still try Xdm or something ? im desperate. i thought about trying kbubuntu but what i didnt like about suse was that its so massive.. so id rather get debian and only install what i want :(
anti23
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2007-03-22 03:09

Postby anti23 » 2007-03-24 10:44

noone else an idea? obviously its independent from the DMs... im desperate, since i cant get any X running under debian which makes it useless for me :((((

frenchninja talks like there was an obvious solution to the problem but i still cant find it, am i stupid ? :P
anti23
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2007-03-22 03:09

Postby AgenT » 2007-03-24 12:59

When you say blank screen, what do you mean? Does it kick you into the virtual terminal with a login prompt? If you literally get a blank screen with nothing on the screen, what does pressing ctrl+alt+del do?

Sounds like a problem with your video card or monitor. Xorg may be trying to use the wrong driver for it which may happen is the hardware has issues with identification, or it may not be supported. Post your video card specifications. Be specific. If you can, give the output of lspci. Attach a copy (or copy/paste it - just use the forum code tags around it) your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file.

And 5 or so people having your issue is not even close to "a ton" or "a lot" of people.
User avatar
AgenT
 
Posts: 500
Joined: 2007-01-21 01:25

Postby anti23 » 2007-03-25 00:38

more liek 20, 1-2 each page at least.
im mega busy right now and have to fly home for easter but ill see what i can do.
and blank screen as in blank screen. nothing. screens off :)
its a laptop. i can still switch to other consoles though which takes 1-2 seconds though to activate screen again.

reconfiguring xorg didnt help but i might try installing a proper ati driver first and then see what happens. kinda annoying though since it seems to be a rather common problem as that ninja already posted. ill give feedback/ask more once i have time to try. thx
anti23
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2007-03-22 03:09

Postby GMouse » 2007-04-10 18:54

Shouldn't x-window-system-core be pulled in as a dependency of any window manager or DE?
User avatar
GMouse
 
Posts: 280
Joined: 2007-03-02 22:28
Location: Ohio, USA

Postby chealer » 2007-04-10 21:07

No.
chealer
 
Posts: 671
Joined: 2005-09-24 16:11
Location: Kebekia, Kanada

Postby GMouse » 2007-04-11 00:00

chealer wrote:No.


Ok...can you tell me why? I'm confused.
User avatar
GMouse
 
Posts: 280
Joined: 2007-03-02 22:28
Location: Ohio, USA

Postby chealer » 2007-04-11 00:46

Yes. Desktop environments are X clients. x-window-system-core provides a X server. There is no requirement that the X server be on the same machine as the X clients.
chealer
 
Posts: 671
Joined: 2005-09-24 16:11
Location: Kebekia, Kanada

PreviousNext

Return to Docs, Howtos, Tips & Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

fashionable