HOWTO: Speeding up Debian

Share your own howto's etc. Not for support questions!

Postby Hevoos » 2007-05-02 19:39

When I ran sysvconfig I noticed that I have three daemons running that seems to do the same thing, these are:
cron
atd
and anacron

Do I really need all three of them, or can I just remove atd and anacron?
User avatar
Hevoos
 
Posts: 69
Joined: 2007-03-30 18:04

Postby Lou » 2007-05-02 21:33

This is up to you, do

$ apt-cache show

for cron, anacron and at

and draw your own conclusions, i opted for letting them run.
Devuan Jessie - IceWM - vimperator - no DM
KISS - Keep It Simple, Stupid
Lou
 
Posts: 1775
Joined: 2006-05-08 02:15

Postby Bulkley » 2007-05-05 16:19

Question: do I need ppp and pppconfig? I haven't used a dial-up modem since I switched to adsl which used pppoe. Or, are they mixed somehow?
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5846
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Postby Lou » 2007-05-05 16:47

I don't really know, i didn't touch them just to play it safe. Maybe somebody else will enlighten us :lol:
Devuan Jessie - IceWM - vimperator - no DM
KISS - Keep It Simple, Stupid
Lou
 
Posts: 1775
Joined: 2006-05-08 02:15

Postby mzilikazi » 2007-05-05 18:39

Bulkley wrote:Question: do I need ppp and pppconfig? I haven't used a dial-up modem since I switched to adsl which used pppoe. Or, are they mixed somehow?

They are optional packages.
Debian Sid Laptops:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55 / 1.5G
Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz / 3G
User avatar
mzilikazi
Forum Ninja
 
Posts: 3321
Joined: 2004-09-16 02:14
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Postby Bulkley » 2007-05-05 22:46

mzilikazi wrote:
They are optional packages.[/quote]

Unfortunately, when I went to remove ppp, it wanted to remove pppoe.
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5846
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Postby mzilikazi » 2007-05-06 03:53

Doh! Somehow I completely missed that you were now using adsl.
Here's what I probably should have told you:
Code: Select all
apt-cache depends pppoe
pppoe
  Depends: libc6
  Depends: ppp
Debian Sid Laptops:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor TK-55 / 1.5G
Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz / 3G
User avatar
mzilikazi
Forum Ninja
 
Posts: 3321
Joined: 2004-09-16 02:14
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Postby Pobega » 2007-05-06 11:27

I have a question: I heard somewhere that if you apt-get -b source xorg <yourwm> that it will be faster and more responsive. Is this true, or is it bologna?
Jabber: pobega@gmail.com
Pronunciation: Poh - Bay - Guh
User avatar
Pobega
 
Posts: 870
Joined: 2007-01-04 04:30
Location: New York

Postby Lou » 2007-05-06 12:39

Never heard of it, let us know :D
Devuan Jessie - IceWM - vimperator - no DM
KISS - Keep It Simple, Stupid
Lou
 
Posts: 1775
Joined: 2006-05-08 02:15

Postby Pobega » 2007-05-06 13:55

I guess I'll give it a shot when I get my laptop back, I sent it into System76 for repairs. Hopefully I'll have it back by the end of the week.
Jabber: pobega@gmail.com
Pronunciation: Poh - Bay - Guh
User avatar
Pobega
 
Posts: 870
Joined: 2007-01-04 04:30
Location: New York

Postby lucho115 » 2007-05-08 19:39

i use sysvconfig , rcconf and sysv-rc-conf but i cant remove from the init the avahi and hal daemons, where i have to look to disable to load at boot time, anybod knows?
thks
luchox
lucho115
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2005-11-28 14:35

Postby CooSee » 2007-05-08 19:48

lucho115 wrote:i use sysvconfig , rcconf and sysv-rc-conf but i cant remove from the init the avahi and hal daemons, where i have to look to disable to load at boot time, anybod knows?
thks


hallo,

/etc/default/avahi-daemon


CooSee ' Ya
CooSee
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2004-09-15 15:50

Postby chrismortimore » 2007-05-08 20:15

Hevoos wrote:When I ran sysvconfig I noticed that I have three daemons running that seems to do the same thing, these are:
cron
atd
and anacron

Do I really need all three of them, or can I just remove atd and anacron?
They do different things:
  • cron - a usual cron simply executes a command at regular intervals, and does little thinking about it.
  • at - lets you execute a command at a particular time, or add it to a queue of commands and stuff.
  • anacron - makes sure that the things in cron actually get ran. cron assumes that the computer is on 24/7, so if something is set to run at 03:00 every morning and your computer isn't on, it'll never run. Each time anacron is ran, it checks when the jobs were last ran, and then runs anything that should be done.
Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 5x320GB WD 7200rpm Caviar RE2 (RAID5), Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M 1.5GHz, 512MB PC2700, 60GB 5400rpm IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB
User avatar
chrismortimore
 
Posts: 862
Joined: 2007-04-24 06:34
Location: Edinburgh, UK

Postby chrismortimore » 2007-05-08 20:18

Pobega wrote:I have a question: I heard somewhere that if you apt-get -b source xorg <yourwm> that it will be faster and more responsive. Is this true, or is it bologna?
If you set hardware specific compiling options so it's optimised for your machine, it'll be quicker. But trust me on this, it is almost certainly not worth the time and hassle.
Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 5x320GB WD 7200rpm Caviar RE2 (RAID5), Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M 1.5GHz, 512MB PC2700, 60GB 5400rpm IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB
User avatar
chrismortimore
 
Posts: 862
Joined: 2007-04-24 06:34
Location: Edinburgh, UK

Postby Kateikyoushi » 2007-05-08 21:13

I second that, considering the compilation time especially in this case, it does not worth the small speed boost.
Kateikyoushi
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 2007-05-08 00:35

PreviousNext

Return to Docs, Howtos, Tips & Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

fashionable