HOWTO: Speeding up Debian

Share your own howto's etc. Not for support questions!

Postby hellfire[bg] » 2007-05-14 11:44

I don`t think there was a noticeable increase in speed. I did it becuase at that time i had decided to remove everything i didn`t need and i obviously didn`t need these packages. For example i dodn`t have a via video card so i don`t need xserver-xorg-video-via - X.Org X server . The same goes for all the xorg packages - just see their description and decide for for yourslef. I removed most of the xserver-xorg-video-* packages (i kept only xserver-xorg-video-intel,vesa,v4l and vga). Also i removed most of the xserver-xorg-input packages (i kept packages like evdev, kbd, mouse, synaptics and wacom). The point is you can safely remove such packages, even if there is no speed increase you don`t need them.
...to boldly go where no one has gone before...
User avatar
hellfire[bg]
 
Posts: 499
Joined: 2006-06-21 19:15
Location: Sliven, Bulgaria

Postby onemyndseye » 2007-05-15 05:28


it looks to me that the kernel is loading, or has pre-loaded, modules and then hardware detection is trying to do it all over again. Or am I mis-interpreting?



It looks like those modules are loaded by modutils because they are already listed in /etc/modules.... then later on discover tries to load all needed modules... etc


2 ways to approach this depending on your taste.

Either keep discover: edit /etc/modules and remove all the modules that its complaining about since they will be loaded by discover.

Or ditch it in favor of a faster bootup. though you may have to edit /etc/modules from time to time if your hardware changes.


-Justin
One Mynds Eye
onemyndseye
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2007-02-09 11:24

Postby Bulkley » 2007-05-15 15:45

onemyndseye wrote:2 ways to approach this depending on your taste.

Either keep discover: edit /etc/modules and remove all the modules that its complaining about since they will be loaded by discover.

Or ditch it in favor of a faster bootup. though you may have to edit /etc/modules from time to time if your hardware changes.


I was able to remove all but one of the items in /etc/modules.

Can Debian boot without Discover1?
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5882
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Postby chrismortimore » 2007-05-15 21:12

Bulkley wrote:Can Debian boot without Discover1?
Mine does.
Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 5x320GB WD 7200rpm Caviar RE2 (RAID5), Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M 1.5GHz, 512MB PC2700, 60GB 5400rpm IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB
User avatar
chrismortimore
 
Posts: 862
Joined: 2007-04-24 06:34
Location: Edinburgh, UK

Postby Bulkley » 2007-05-15 22:17

chrismortimore wrote:
Bulkley wrote:Can Debian boot without Discover1?
Mine does.


So does mine, now. Thanks. I find this interesting. Does the 2.6 kernels do the hardware detection? Discover1 seems to have become redundant.
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5882
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Postby chrismortimore » 2007-05-16 05:35

Bulkley wrote:So does mine, now. Thanks. I find this interesting. Does the 2.6 kernels do the hardware detection? Discover1 seems to have become redundant.
I believe udev does the hotplugging duties now, but don't quote me on that.
Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 5x320GB WD 7200rpm Caviar RE2 (RAID5), Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M 1.5GHz, 512MB PC2700, 60GB 5400rpm IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB
User avatar
chrismortimore
 
Posts: 862
Joined: 2007-04-24 06:34
Location: Edinburgh, UK

Postby onemyndseye » 2007-05-16 06:07

".....I believe udev does the hotplugging duties now, but don't quote me on that...."


That is correct sir :) Although the kernels have came along way to help this process

discover1 (or discover2) is really just needed to discover non-hotplug stuff at boot-time and load the needed modules.... discover is really just simple program that parses the data in /proc/ and compares it to a XML database found in /lib/discover/

If your hardware doesnt change alot or you are comfortable editing /etc/modules then its not needed.

In other words: If the module for your hardware is already in /etc/modules.... its already been detected :) no reason to discover1 :)

BTW chris:
Our conversation the other day on parameter passing finially intrigued me into whipping up a test version.. Alot of rewritting but I think I'll have a working version soon.

Take Care,
-Justin
One Mynds Eye
onemyndseye
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2007-02-09 11:24

Postby chrismortimore » 2007-05-16 06:49

onemyndseye wrote:That is correct sir :) Although the kernels have came along way to help this process
Huzzah :D Chalk one up for Chris

onemyndseye wrote:Our conversation the other day on parameter passing finially intrigued me into whipping up a test version.. Alot of rewritting but I think I'll have a working version soon.
Yeah, it's a real pest tweaking stuff to "clean up" code. Just now I'm writing a 3D engine (that I'm hoping to turn into a racing game eventually), and I'm tweaking it all to work with classes. Probably going to start again and import code as I need it, might be easier :P
Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 5x320GB WD 7200rpm Caviar RE2 (RAID5), Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M 1.5GHz, 512MB PC2700, 60GB 5400rpm IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB
User avatar
chrismortimore
 
Posts: 862
Joined: 2007-04-24 06:34
Location: Edinburgh, UK

tips galore

Postby nopposan » 2007-05-27 05:57

Thanks for the tips, everyone. I tried out a few, and so far so good.

Cheers.
Don't Panic!
User avatar
nopposan
 
Posts: 351
Joined: 2007-01-14 22:48

Re: HOWTO: Speeding up Debian

Postby rippin » 2007-05-27 15:50

Lou wrote:<snip>
ENTERING THE X SYSTEM

$ nano .xinitrc

and i added the following lines:

unclutter &
<snip>


Brah!, I'm right there with you, and I hate that pesky mouse in my way. Didn't know of 'unclutter'. Kudos for mentioning it!
User avatar
rippin
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 2007-05-25 00:11
Location: Wyoming, USA

Postby Lou » 2007-05-27 17:15

Hehe!

He who reads, finds out! - chinese storekeeper by my house
Devuan Jessie - IceWM - vimperator - no DM
KISS - Keep It Simple, Stupid
Lou
 
Posts: 1775
Joined: 2006-05-08 02:15

Postby rippin » 2007-05-27 21:54

Lou wrote:Hehe!

He who reads, finds out! - chinese storekeeper by my house


I did find a small problem using 'unclutter'; console games. I loaded Q3A and kept getting turned around, literally, in the game while mousing and keyboarding. Turned off unclutter and the game play was normal. So I wrote a little script to handle it. It goes like this (any corrections accepted if I goofed anywhere):

#!/bin/bash
killall unclutter &&
/usr/local/games/ioquake3/ioquake3.i386
unclutter&

I found I needed to leave off the '&' at the end of line three as the console hung awaiting the next command. Maybe ioquake3.i386 closes and releases without need of the '&' or '&&'.
User avatar
rippin
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 2007-05-25 00:11
Location: Wyoming, USA

Postby Bulkley » 2007-05-28 18:59

This has been a most informative thread. I was wondering, if anyone can add tips on speeding up Debian response over the Internet. Are there firewall settings that can be adjusted? (I use Firestarter) Any tuning that might help video cards respond faster? (generic adjustments; not specific to make or model) Tuning network cards? Anything else?
Bulkley
 
Posts: 5882
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Postby rippin » 2007-05-28 19:19

Bulkley wrote:This has been a most informative thread. I was wondering, if anyone can add tips on speeding up Debian response over the Internet. Are there firewall settings that can be adjusted? (I use Firestarter) Any tuning that might help video cards respond faster? (generic adjustments; not specific to make or model) Tuning network cards? Anything else?


Speed up ? I dunno, but this should help on the matter in general:
http://www.aboutdebian.com/network.htm
http://tinyurl.com/6rk4a

Try turning off the firewall and see if there's improvements - the kernel does nearly all firewalling by default any way - except for, I think, indent and port 113 which are "closed".
User avatar
rippin
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 2007-05-25 00:11
Location: Wyoming, USA

Postby jombeewoof » 2007-05-28 22:09

Hevoos wrote:What does these things do:
openbsd-inetd
rc.local ?

How do I install and use localpurge? Apt-get clean is also a great thing to do. ;)


in laymans terms

inetd is basically a superserver. some net services(read ftp, ssh, et al) can be set to rely on this to run. not necessarily necessary on any system.

rc.local is basically a startup script. The only thing I have in rc.local is esd for my sound.
jombeewoof
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 2005-06-24 18:54

PreviousNext

Return to Docs, Howtos, Tips & Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

fashionable